We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wellington

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Garden Street,, Cromer, England
01263-51-15-56
Website
Add hours for The Wellington and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 247 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 163
    Excellent
  • 59
    Very good
  • 12
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
afterwork meal

Supberb meal in a lovely courtyard after work on a hot summer evening in our beloved cromer . Great food great staff in great surroundings

5 of 5 starsReviewed July 1, 2015
judy t
,
norfllk
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
norfllk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015 NEW via mobile

Supberb meal in a lovely courtyard after work on a hot summer evening in our beloved cromer . Great food great staff in great surroundings

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cromer, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015 NEW

Popped down the courtyard restaurant for something to eat for my hubby's birthday, we were greeted at the door by a lovely smiley friendly face, they were quite busy with people eating inside & out but they were very attentive. Food came quickly & the steaks were amazing - melted in your mouth Sarah the waitress was lovely she chatted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cromer
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015 NEW

I went to lunch here yesterday with my daughter. The staff were fabulous, warm and welcoming. I ordered Scampi and my daughter ordered fish. The portions were huge and delicious. We sat in the sunny courtyard which was lively and vibrant. It was full of locals, holiday makers, and dogs were made especially welcome. A perfect family pub in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leiston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

We visited the Wellington in Cromer today on our holiday to Norfolk. The food was lovely, setting in the courtyard was perfect and the staff were very friendly. Would definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
roders70, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Your comments mean a lot to our team. Thanks again. Phil Rodwell. More 

London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

We were in Cromer for the day with our dog and were looking for somewhere to lunch outside as the weather was nice. The Wellington courtyard ticked all the boxes and the food was excellent, we had fish and chips which was substantial but not greasy at all and my other half had a crab sandwich. The bread was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
roders70, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We try our hardest provide great food and service and are really glad you enjoyed your meal at The courtyard. More 

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

With no idea where to eat before a show at the theatre, we wandered into the Wellington's courtyard restaurant and bagged a table for two that the staff conjoured up for us by re-jigging the reservations We had less than an hour before our show, and although star waiter Tom was loathed to promise that we'd have time for two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
roders70, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We really appreciate your comments and hope you will return soon. More 

Leicester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

My husband and I ate here on Saturday night. We had our dogs with us and they were accommodating of that. The food was tasty and plentiful and reasonable priced. Worth a visit when in Cromer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
roders70, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

another top dinner , living in the town it so nice to have a changing menu so many don't ., had the thai duck curry & beef special as before fresh well cooked & great service

Was this review helpful? Yes
roders70, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Thanks again for your wonderful feedback. More 

Krefeld
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

Window shopping and meandering around Cromer in the summer we passed a noisy busy pub, the Wellington. Now a busy pub usually means a good pub and we read through the comprehensive menu posted outside. It impressed us enough that we decided to eat here although that was easy to say and not so easy to achieve. The place was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
roders70, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your patience. I'm glad you enjoyed your experience at The Wellington. Over the years we have found that ordering from the bar is the most effifcient way of looking after our customers as the courtyard area gets so busy. There was also a number of times when unscrupulous people would decide that they did... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

I've just returned from having dinner in the courtyard with my two daughters and had to write a review to 'big up' the delicious food we had. I had the Duck Breast Thai Green Curry. Don't expect your normal meat in sauce with a pile of rice....this is something special. It's served in a deconstructed way which makes the whole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
roders70, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Philip Rodwell More 

Travelers who viewed The Wellington also viewed

 

Been to The Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington

Address: Garden Street,, Cromer, England
Phone Number: 01263-51-15-56
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Cromer
Cuisine: British, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Garden Street,, Cromer, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Cromer
  • Phone Number: 01263-51-15-56

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Wellington staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?