We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wellington

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Garden Street,, Cromer, England
01263-51-15-56
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Wellington and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 283 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 181
    Excellent
  • 73
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Would visit again

Nice outdoor courtyard seating area. Did start raining when we arrived but was kept dry by the wonderful large parasols.

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 24, 2015
brackleyballet
,
Brackley, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015 NEW

Good beer garden the pub caters for dog inside and out never seen so many people with dogs,if want a meal make sure you order it before 2.30 pm they don't go a minute over as we found out

Was this review helpful? Yes
roders70, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

The fact is there are lots and lots of dog lovers that visit our pub. In fact residents can bring dogs into our hotel. As for closing at 2.30. We have a team of 2 chefs, that's all. They often start work at 8.30am and finish at 9.30pm. They need a break! If you can't get yourself into a restaurant... More 

Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015 NEW

Nice outdoor courtyard seating area. Did start raining when we arrived but was kept dry by the wonderful large parasols.

Was this review helpful? Yes
roders70, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your experience. It seems we can't please everyone at the moment, but it is our busy time. Look forward to seeing you soon.Thanks. Phil Rodwell. More 

Hadleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015 NEW

Lovely restaurant at the rear with inside and courtyard seating, had the famous Cromer crab here, excellent, steak was good too. staff very friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
roders70, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your experience. Thanks. Phil Rodwell. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015 NEW

Previously visited at Easter on our previous visit. The food then was unbelievable as was the service. We decided to revisit during carnival week, drinks fine, service as good however disappointed with food quality this time.Chips soggy and burger not completely cooked . Wife was disappointed by her crab salad. Despite this we will go again on our next trip.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
roders70, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that. Thanks. Phil Rodwell. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015 NEW

We pre booked as we were a party of 10 to use the courtyard restaurant. All meals were good quality and was enjoyed by all. Only criticism is that as we were a party of 10 (3 families) we asked for an itemised bill to find there is not one available - the receipt was hand written and simply showed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
roders70, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feed back. Phil Rodwell. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015 NEW

We visited to enjoy the seaside. When we walked in noone looked at us. After 5 minutes of being ignored and snubbed we left. Dont bother as they dont seem to need the customers!

Was this review helpful? Yes
roders70, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Hope this review wasn't reflecting on our restaurant staff? If this was aimed at our bar staff then all I can say that we are the busiest pub in the town by a long way and if you had been patient enough to take another 5 minutes out of your obviously busy holiday time, you may have enjoyed our lovely... More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015 NEW

I'm here on holiday and got to say this is the best pub in Cromer. Very welcome, great atmosphere, food great, real ale superb and most of all the lovely staff. The two sisters who run this place are very pleasant indeed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
roders70, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. Hope to see you soon. More 

pennines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

Stayed next door, glad we tried the Wellington. Nice substantial food( they sourced excellent chorizo for the gumbo) and the service was so friendly, trying to accommodate everyone despite being victims of their own popularity. Lovely courtyard dining

Was this review helpful? Yes
roders70, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. Hope to see you soon. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

My family and I pulled in for a few beers and a bite to eat to rest our weary legs after what seemed like days trying to catch a crab or two to keep the kids amused. We went in to the rear of the building and asked for a table for 5, unfortunately the lovely lady said she was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
roders70, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. Hope to see you soon. More 

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

Ate in the courtyard last week. I was expecting typical pub grub - and this wasn't! It was freshly prepared, and served with a really imaginative side salad. Great value, friendly staff and the beer is well kept too. My daughter also loved her Veggie Burger.

Was this review helpful? Yes
roders70, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. Hope to see you soon. More 

Travelers who viewed The Wellington also viewed

 

Been to The Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Garden Street,, Cromer, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Cromer
  • Phone Number: 01263-51-15-56

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Wellington staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?