We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Buttercups Tearooms

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
5 High Street | Cromer,, Cromer, England
Website
Add hours for Buttercups Tearooms and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Small cafe, but specialises in home made cakes and pastries, light lunches...
Small cafe, but specialises in home made cakes and pastries, light lunches etc
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 83 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 37
    Excellent
  • 27
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Cracking Traditional Tearoom & Service

We came across this tea room when roaming the narrow streets of Cromer and decided to call in one afternoon. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating and the menu had a good number of choices. The cafe itself was tastefully decorated, clean and well set out? We decided to have a cream... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 1, 2015
fenderphil
,
Butterwick
via mobile
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Butterwick
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 NEW via mobile

We came across this tea room when roaming the narrow streets of Cromer and decided to call in one afternoon. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating and the menu had a good number of choices. The cafe itself was tastefully decorated, clean and well set out? We decided to have a cream tea, with fresh baked scone, it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

My husband and I were greeted by very welcoming staff. There is a great choice of food from salads (I had the tuna mayo salad which was excellent and plenty of it), baked potatoes, soups or baguettes, sandwiches and of course not forgetting the lovely cakes. We had a Latte and a Cappucino which were very tasty. We were there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Perfect after a walk down the beach. Tasty homemade soups. Good friendly service. Not a bad price. Helped to make a winter visit to Cromer an enjoyable experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eveline H, Owner at Buttercups Tearooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Nothing like a bowl of homemade soup to warm you up, glad you enjoyed. More 

Ruislip
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

A sunny Cromer day in the winter was further brightened by the staff in Buttercups when we popped in for our morning hot chocolate. It was a lovely atmosphere but be warned it is not a cafe for you if you don't like dogs as they were allowed in with their owners.( I'm unsure whether this is just for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eveline H, Owner at Buttercups Tearooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, glad you popped in to warm yourself up with hot chocolates. Yes, we do allow dogs in, as this is a very dog friendly town. We do hope this didnt spoil your enjoyment though. More 

Rickinghall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

We where greeted with big smiles as we entered. The lovely and friendly staff let us rearrange the furniture to accommodate for our push chair. Food was superb and couldn't be faulted! Staff took time to make us feel welcome and wanted and talk to my son! We will definitely be calling in again next time we are that way!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eveline H, Owner at Buttercups Tearooms, responded to this review

So glad you had a lovely time. We will see you all again on your next visit. Thank you. More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

One of the few cafes/tea rooms we had not visited in Cromer (always looks packed!) we went in today and had 2 breakfasts with pot of tea which was excellent value at £13.Like others have said waitress with blond hair was very pleasant.Food 10/10,and all in all a very relaxing place to eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eveline H, Owner at Buttercups Tearooms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014 via mobile

We went in here for a cup of tea and slice of cake to thaw out after a long beach walk today and almost walked out. We sat, ignored for 10 mins, on a table with used plates on it and when I started to clear it so we could sit more comfortably was told very rudely that the waitress... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eveline H, Owner at Buttercups Tearooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Over the festive period we were extremely busy. Unfortunately you were waiting and our service was pushed to its limits on this occasion but this is not our normal way of serving customers. With regards to your feeling cramped at your table, our tables and chairs do start off at the beginning of the day... More 

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

Pleasant looking tea room so we stopped off for a light bite and ordered 2 turkey and cranberry sandwiches at £5.40 each. Surprised when the sandwich appeared to be compressed turkey roll, with a blob of cranberry inside and a smattering of crisps on the side. Could have got this in a supermarket for less than £2.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eveline H, Owner at Buttercups Tearooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your comments have been noted. We will review our choice of turkey for the toasted sandwiches. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a light bite after a walk along the beach, nice bright place, welcoming and friendly service. Coffees were really tasty, as was the egg and sausage bap. However, the turkey and cranberry toasties, advertised as the days 'special', were disappointing - processed sliced turkey from a packet - a tad overpriced at £5.65, even with the crisps... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eveline H, Owner at Buttercups Tearooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your comments have been noted. We will review our choice of turkey for this toastie in the future. More 

Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

I visited this café on a drizzly Saturday afternoon and was pleasantly surprised by the friendly staff, homely atmosphere and excellent food. We were a group of 5 and our ages ranged from 19 weeks to 87 years – everyone left happy. The crab salad with new potatoes was very nice and freshly prepared. The selection of cakes is traditional... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Buttercups Tearooms also viewed

 

Been to Buttercups Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 5 High Street | Cromer,, Cromer, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Cromer

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British

Description

Small cafe, but specialises in home made cakes and pastries, light lunches etc

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Buttercups Tearooms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?