We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Rock Shop Bistro

10 Hamilton Road, Cromer NR27 9HL, England
01263 511926
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 57 Restaurants in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Café
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    83
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leics
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 NEW

We were advised to go to the bistro by some local dog owners we met the day before. We phoned ahead to book let them know we were bringing a dog. We were given a large table and comfortable pews to sit in, at the back part of the bistro. The menu is short and quite basic but I feel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northern Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 NEW

As we were just spending one day in Cromer we wanted to make the best of our time and looking at the reviews for the Old Rock Shop Bistro one could be left in no doubt this was the place to go. We passed several other excellent looking restaurants en route to here but right from when we arrived we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SamRockShop, Owner at The Old Rock Shop Bistro, responded to this review

I'm sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your visit to us. You are quite correct that we are a café that serves food in the evening...this is all that we have ever claimed to be as you will see from several previous customer reviews and my responses. We have never, nor ever will claim to be a restaurant. It's... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014 NEW

I would just like to thank Sam and all the staff at the bistro for the excellent job they did for my wedding breakfast meal on Sunday 7/9! The restaurant was closed off just for us and they made the place look amazing! They went above and beyond expectations and did everything that we asked! The food was excellent as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014 NEW

We hired the bistro for our eldest son's wedding. Everyone had a fantastic time. The food was first class and Sam and his staff really did us proud. Simply perfect - couldn't have been better. Thanks again to everyone. Our son and his new wife will be eating there on their anniversary for many years to come and lots of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014 NEW

Lovely scones, we wondered how they managed to cook them properly given how big they were. Also had small bowl of chowder which was very tasty Atmosphere pleasant and enjoyed some older music from jukebox as we ate

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Nice place, friendly staff, big portion nice decoration and really nice food.I will definitely come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

friendly staff, nice place,lovely food with good decoration. One evening I went in but they was just closing, but they didn't put me off.they let me go in and they gave me what I ordered.I really loved that. I will come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

We popped in for a morning tea. My wife had hot chocolate and a slice of cheesecake. You must try the cheesecake. Drinks were average to good food excellent and all home made. I suspect the seafood chowder is in a class of its own because nearly everyone was eating it. We would go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014 via mobile

Our expectations were high given the high rating on TripAdvisor, but upon arrival we quickly decided we had to go elsewhere. There were no pleasant hellos, the menu was dirty and had a bug crawling over it and there was an air of the place being let go. Fact their website admits it's out of date should have warned us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SamRockShop, Owner at The Old Rock Shop Bistro, responded to this review

We are sorry to see that we didn't live up to expectation. The Bistro takes a bit of a battering during the summer holidays...we don't replace the menus until early September for this reason (they are now on order). Likewise it's at this time of year we begin a full deep clean and redecoration of the whole premises. As explained... More

Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We were in Cromer for the day & needed a cuppa so we stopped here. Even though we only had 2 teas, a coke & a coconut macaroon effort was taken in presentation etc which was nice. There are several counters containing homemade cakes & other bits which all looked lovely. The coconut macaroon was lovely & moist & probably... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Old Rock Shop Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Old Rock Shop Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Rock Shop Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing