We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bolton's Bistro

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Cliftonville Hotel | Seafront, Cromer NR27 9AS, England
01263 512543
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 188 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 100
    Excellent
  • 50
    Very good
  • 27
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Lovely food

We decided to eat at this bistro on 21st December as it was close to our guest house. It was very quiet, but the menu selection was extensive and varied. We ordered for different meals all of which were well prepared and presented. The cost of the meal was also reasonable for the quality and... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed December 22, 2015
Sarah S
,
Derby, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have often enjoyed meals at Bolton's Bistro and last Sunday was no exception. When friends invited my husband and I for a meal at this restaurant to celebrate my 80th birthday, we jumped at the chance. On this occasion, my husband and I chose a main course of poached smoked haddock in a mustard and cheese sauce and our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joan M
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at Bolton's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your 80th Birthday celebrations and glad you and your friends enjoyed the meal with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bolton's Bistro. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

Wonderful menu with a childs menu too. The food was excellent in quality and the service was first rate.A great restaurant and we will return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at Bolton's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed the meal with us and certainly look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015 via mobile

We decided to eat at this bistro on 21st December as it was close to our guest house. It was very quiet, but the menu selection was extensive and varied. We ordered for different meals all of which were well prepared and presented. The cost of the meal was also reasonable for the quality and amount of food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at Bolton's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed the meal at Bolton's Bistro. More 

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Such a let down, after all the hype, booked a table in person, during the day, for the same evening. Discussed the fact we were looking to try their famous Comer crab and lobster. Arrived that evening to find the place very busy, due to a Christmas Party taking place. This was not a problem until we got the menu,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at Bolton's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so sorry you were unable to have our famous Cromer Crab on the day you came to the Bistro. Our daily specials do change every day and run alongside our extensive menu. I am not sure why the menu would have changed during the day. I am sorry... More 

norfolk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

lovely food but was a bit disappointed with the service.We went for lunch and the waitor asked if we required drinks and we said we did ,he asked three of us then went and got them and" forgot " to ask the rest of us.We were asked if we would like tea afterwards but there was no sugar or teaspoons... More 

Helpful?
Thank seamoreNorfolk
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at Bolton's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for your comments More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015

Recently visited Bolton's Bistro which is attached to the Cliftonville Hotel along the seafront at Cromer for dinner. We found the staff to be very friendly and courteous, despite trying to deal with a large Christmas Party gathering next door. Good choice of starter and main courses, reasonably priced. Only draw back the price of the wine, that being said,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tedman01
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at Bolton's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal with us. Your observations regarding the pricing have been noted. More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

From the outside, the hotel the Bistro is in looks just like one of many seafront hotels built in the British seaside resorts' heyday and we expected the restaurant to be as mediocre as it is in many such hotels. However, the person we were meeting had booked a table for lunch, so we went in. Once inside, the hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lord_Tom
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at Bolton's Bistro, responded to this review

Firstly can I say how disappointed I am that you visited Cromer and it was wet!!! I am so glad that we could make your visit worth while. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us and thank you for your lovely comments. May I take this opportunity of wishing you a very merry Christmas and a happy... More 

Kent
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

Excellent food and service. The crab is marvellous. A very pleasant experience all round. Certainly coming back.

Helpful?
Thank ernie09Kent
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at Bolton's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so lucky living here in Cromer where we get such lovely fresh Cromer Crabs . We are delighted you enjoyed it! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Cliftonville. More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

This was the first (and only) time that we will eat in this restaurant. The waitress was helpful but the food was truly awful. The pasta was stodgy with a crust on the top as if it had been standing and not freshly cooked. I couldn't eat it. My partner did not get the meal he ordered and when a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank J0anna808
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at Bolton's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am so sorry you did not enjoy your meal. I am disappointed that you had to return your meals and can only apologise that on this occasion we fell short. We do hope you will join us again when we can endeavour to make amends. More 

Hertford Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015

First visit to Boltons did not disappoint. The bistro is part of the Cliftonville hotel and I found it a charming place! It is a little like going back in time but in a good way! Everyone was friendly and courteous the food was delicious and there was plenty of it I have no hesitation in recommending this. Lots of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank LindaMc108
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at Bolton's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your first visit to Boltons bistro. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal and that you feel you would recommend joining us. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. More 

Travelers who viewed Bolton's Bistro also viewed

 
Cromer, Norfolk
 

Been to Bolton's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Cliftonville Hotel | Seafront, Cromer NR27 9AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Cromer
  • Phone Number: 01263 512543

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Seafood, British

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bolton's Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?