We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villa Mare

Pizza & Pasta, Grill
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Bay Square, Bugibba, Island of Malta, Malta
00356 27573824
Website
Today
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 210 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 78
    Excellent
  • 79
    Very good
  • 25
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Great venue

Second visit in 2 years and love the place, full of atmosphere, great attentive service, great value for money and most importantly great food. Rabbit is very good and if you just want a snack the 'taste of Med, Indian, American etc are ideal.

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 5, 2013
Steve C
,
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
via mobile
Good for:
  • Large groups
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

First of all I have come and expected much more although the restaurant was busy... I ordered drinks and the service was very slow. .. I was straving and watched every minute a decade But It was all worth visiting when the pizza arrived The pizza is second to none :-) Villa mare is a nice place but it needs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillaMare1, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Mare, responded to this review

We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our pizza! My apologies for the service being slow, however at busy times this is sometimes expected as our waiters have to deal with lots of tables arriving at the same time. Having said this, we do always strive to ensure that our customers are served within a reasonable amount... More 

Island of Malta, Malta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Dined here for a summer afternoon lunch, We ordered an indian platter to share to start with and had two mixed grills for main course. Indian platter was acceptable, main course was good all freshly cooked and full of flavour, ate inside but the ac was off in July!! Ok if you just want a quick lunch, but nothing special... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elgin, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

When I looked up on the restaurants facade, I thought it would be a great restaurant as it is right at the Bugibba Piazzia and since the sign read children area i thought I would go in and enjoy my eve while my kid has some time in the children area. To my family's surprise when the host asked us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillaMare1, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Mare, responded to this review

Having read your review I was very concerned and have since spoken to all of the staff to ascertain what happened. I am more than baffled as to why you were told that the AC was not working. The AC’s in the restaurant are all in good working order and are turned on as I write this! Occasionally we do... More 

Chorzow, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Junk food! We ate there dinner and it was completely disaster. Food was really tasteless and prepared with ready products e.g. bbq souce from a bottle and pineaplle from can. What's more, it was kind of expensive! For two plates and two glasses of Pepsi ( which was supposed to be original Pepsi but it wasn't) we paid over 20... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillaMare1, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Mare, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at Villa Mare, however I do feel the need to respond vehemently to some of your comments. Villa Mare ONLY serves original Pepsi which is provided to us by the largest supplier of soft drinks on the island of Malta. It is either served from our mixing... More 

Attard
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very friendly staff and delicious food! Really enjoyed my visit.... I will visit again soon and bring more friends as well!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Second visit in 2 years and love the place, full of atmosphere, great attentive service, great value for money and most importantly great food. Rabbit is very good and if you just want a snack the 'taste of Med, Indian, American etc are ideal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had lunch at Villa Mare - they serve a wide selection of food, all of it freshly prepared and delicious! Pizza was great with a local beer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Sometimes foods of a quality you would expect with budget prices. However sometimes it's below. Service is usually good and to be fair most of the time so is the food. Local Wine is moderately priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Really nice place Had meal while watching the football on their big tv Very good service friendly staff Food nice and fresh

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have been coming to Malta for many years now and on each yearly visit I eat at Villa Mare. Their service is always offered with a smile and the food is delicious. Every meal I have had there has been excellent. I have introduced friends to this restaurant and they too were very pleased with the service and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Villa Mare also viewed

Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 

Been to Villa Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Bay Square, Bugibba, Island of Malta, Malta
  • Location: Europe  >  Malta  >  Island of Malta  >  Bugibba
  • Phone Number: 00356 27573824

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Pizza & Pasta, Grill

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Villa Mare staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?