We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Overflow

Triq il-Maskli, Qawra, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 21582519
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #1 of 67 restaurants in Qawra
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: This Restaurant is located just down the road from the Santana Hotel.The Restaurant is fully Air conditioned with an elevated private outdoor terrace .There is a ramp to enable Wheelchairs/push chairs access.The staff are professionally trained and speak French,Belgian,Russian,Ukraine as well as English Language to aid tourists if necessary to translate menus.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    196
    44
    6
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swieqi, Malta
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 NEW

We booked Easter lunch based on the good reviews. We sent an SMS that we were held up in the coastal road traffic and would be a little bit late.. we promptly got a text back that its fine.. on arrival, we were shown to our table and a complimentary canape, bread and different flavored butter were served. Our 7... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scunthorpe, England
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 NEW

Best food ive had in a restaurant couldnt of asked for anything better, and the service was amazing staff are so helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 NEW

This is an interesting British run restaurant which I would say is one of the better restaurants in the Qawra District. Clean and well presented the food here caters for most tastes and the wine list has much to recommend it. Wine lists in Maltese restaurants can be a bit limited - not so here. Booking is advisable as the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 NEW via mobile

Went to this belter of a restaurant last night - they really have got it right - front of house staff wonderfully professional & friendly - food 5-star ! Try the Malta Falcon Chardonnay (as recommended by our server ) - a real steal of a wine at the price !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Göteborg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 NEW

We decided to eat here after hearing thst it was a good restaurant. It is best to book in advance as it is not a large restaurant when you can not sut outside. The 3 course meal is a good option although not that excitng. well worth a visit. Very nice staff with proud caring owners.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
TezZejtun, Owner at The Overflow, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.We hope we lived up to the reputation you have heard about us.We are a very busy restaurant so it is advisable to book as you suggested.We have 11 tables inside and when the weather is suitable another 11 outside.We choose quality over quantity when it comes to our diners.This way we can treat you personally... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 NEW

They know a thing or two about food in Leicestershire which is the rural Heart of the UK. Therefore it should come as no surprise that the couple in charge here who hail from Leicestershire, produce wonderful food at reasonable prices. Unfortunately they don't provide Melton Mowbray Pork Pies or Stilton Cheese, but what they do they do well. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
TezZejtun, Owner at The Overflow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review us.It was a pleasure to read you thought the food was Wonderful,we had an excellent range and you were treated excellently! You are right,the team does work really hard,both the kitchen brigade and the front of house.We do actually have Stilton flown in from Leicestershire,and use it both on the cheese board and... More

Enderby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We have dined here several times since the new owners took over January 2013. They a welcoming friendly down to earth english couple and their staff are well chosen too. We have had excellent meals here and rate it one of the best. It's not the cheapest but you only get what you pay for. Well recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
TezZejtun, Owner at The Overflow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review us.It was lovely to read you have dined with us several times since we have taken over the restaurant,and found the food to be Excellent ,and rate us as one of the best!We are proud of our team.Everyone is carefully chosen for the Qualifications,experience and professional standards.We all strive to put the customer... More

S.E England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

I would defiantly recommend this lovely little friendly restaurant / bar which has a nice relaxed and informal atmosphere . Lovely food all home produced and freshly prepared. Overall very good value The only problem is finding it , as about a mile away from map shown. We had to ask three times and nearly gave up ...glad we persisted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
TezZejtun, Owner at The Overflow, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments.It is always a pleasure to hear when people appreciate having in house produced meals, cooked with fresh products and cooked to order! So many other eating establishments can not say that! We also pride ourselves in not offering typical tourist Fayre or British dishes that you can have at home.Why visit another country to... More

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is the first time we've dined at this restaurant but it certainly won't be the last. We'd heard that the food served was of good quality and the reviews were very good. Well let me confirm those other reports and confirm that under the current stewardship this restaurant served up top quality food with excellent service and at reasonable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
TezZejtun, Owner at The Overflow, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to review us(especially whilst still on Holiday! ) we are delighted you found the food to be top quality,service excellent and our prices reasonable! This is really something we work so hard to provide ,for diners to relax in an informal setting yet with a professional team to look after you!For four of... More

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

After reading all these fantastic reviews I cant wait for my wedding reception which is being held here in June. We visited in October looking for a venue overlooking the sea and were disappointed with the meals we had. We decided to go more inland and tried The Overflow after reading the reviews on here and were so impressed we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
TezZejtun, Owner at The Overflow, responded to this review

Hello Sam(and Alan) Thank you for your review of dining with us in October.Plans for your June wedding are already in place and we hope to surpass your last visit to us.We are proud of the quality and style of cuisine we do.So many places do cheap typical tourist Fayre,as you discovered and the Overflow is not about that! We... More

Travelers who viewed The Overflow also viewed

 
Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Been to The Overflow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Overflow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing