We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Antico Borgo

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Italian, Pasta
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Localita Iano, 5/9 | Localita Iano, 5/9, 50050 Montaione, Italy
+39 0571 698030
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Antico Borgo and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 331 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 181
    Excellent
  • 103
    Very good
  • 27
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Great local food, service hit and miss in terms of speed

This is our local restaurant, so we have visited on numerous occasions in the summer and the spring. As ever the food is very good with an excellent selection. The staff are welcoming and helpful, and the owners very friendly. There were some staff there this year who were working last year, and... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 7, 2015
EG27
,
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

331 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015

Both food and service were average at best. Staff didn't seem to be very interested in their job, perhaps we caught them at the end of a busy day in high season.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Katowice
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

Awful experience. Dishes were not good, not fresh ( or too fresh, when you put a carpaccio a couple of hours in the fridge...) It's camping food, with a foreign population eating pizza with French fries.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marisa M, Proprietario at Antico Borgo, responded to this review

We have already made a report to Tripadvisor about the fact that everytime someone stays in THAT holiday home managed from the other restaurant, they obtain a wonderful recomandation (for holiday home and for the restaurant) and we receive a bad review. In any case, we think to remember you, and we have discussed so long about the fact that,... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015

This is our local restaurant, so we have visited on numerous occasions in the summer and the spring. As ever the food is very good with an excellent selection. The staff are welcoming and helpful, and the owners very friendly. There were some staff there this year who were working last year, and they were very good and efficient. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

Since moving to montaione a few years back I have wanted to try this restaurant and took this opportunity while my family were over visiting. After reading lots of positive reviews I thought we were guaranteed to be in for a treat. SO WRONG! Starters were average at best but luckily they gave us 30-40 minutes after the starters to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marisa M, Proprietario at Antico Borgo, responded to this review

Dear Mr. "Smalldug", we are very sorry that you were disappointed just with my restaurant in the area of Montaione. I suppose you've read what is write in the final part of the menu : "Any waiting time are due to the fact that our course are prepared at the moment. Thank you and enjoy your meal."We had full the... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

The pizzas and pasta are hands down some of the best I've tasted across many a restaurant table. Delicious! Fantastic flavours and ingredients. This is not a fancy place — but a relaxed, family friendly, true Italian showcase of hearty ingredients, robust flavours and great cooking. All delivered at unreal value. Service could be better, but the view from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

This is a positive jewel in Italy's crown (a perfect country in my eyes anyway). We spent two weeks in Iano where this wonderful restaurant can be found. We ate here 6 times, culminating in my surprise 50th where the food was amazing and staff like family. A sunflower bouquet and chocolate birthday cake washed down with prosecco made my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

Very disappointed. Having read the good reviews was looking forward to a great meal with our family. Service was extremely slow, despite the indoor section being quiet. Starters were passable, pizzas were awful and my panna cotta was hard and grainy and inedible, by far the worst I have ever tasted. On a positive note my wife and son had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marisa M, Proprietario at Antico Borgo, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you have been very disappointed. Probably, the service has been slow, because of the fact that the terrace was completely full, and also the indoor section was almost full. We have asked you why the pizza wasn't finished as well as panna cotta and your answer has been that the pizza was too full and... More 

Haarby
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

Antico Borgo is serving very great food! Our group had ham/melon, carpaccio, risotto, tagliatelle, pizza and pane cotta - and everybody was excited by the food experience! The restaurant has a great location, what a view! On the negative side I think the restaurant has been too recommended (if possible), rather crowded with stressed employees, still smiling but busy serving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bochum, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

It was our second visit at Antico Borgo but I must admit it was some kind of disappointment. The terrasse is rebuild and looks nice, the service is good and the view is great. The menu sounds great but the result wasn´t as good as expected and how it was last time. We missed the spirit and the love of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

We were staying in a villa in Iano so came here one evening for dinner. We sat inside as the outside dining area was full, as it was a very hot evening this was actually a good thing to be in the cooler restaurant. The meal was average, we all enjoyed our food but none of us were blown away... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Antico Borgo also viewed

Montaione, Province of Florence
Montaione, Province of Florence
 
Montaione, Province of Florence
Montaione, Province of Florence
 

Been to Antico Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Localita Iano, 5/9 | Localita Iano, 5/9, 50050 Montaione, Italy
  • Location: Europe  >  Italy  >  Tuscany  >  Province of Florence  >  Montaione
  • Phone Number: +39 0571 698030

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 17 - 28
  • Cuisine: Italian, Pasta

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Antico Borgo staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?