We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Steinerwirt

Dreifaltigkeitsgasse 2, Zell am See, Austria
+43 6542 72502
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #3 of 46 restaurants in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Austrian
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    91
    51
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I have eaten here many times- usually in a family or large group. Love the food, the service and even though a bit pricey it is worth it. They also have a lovely kids room open until 9pm so u can enjoy a glass of wine at the end of the meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Channel Islands, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We popped in here for dinner during a two night stay in Zell. It is very old fashioned which we liked as there is a lot of character. The room we were in had some other diners but would have benefitted from some light music just to ensure conversations were not overheard but this is my only slight criticism. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The food was extremely tasty and the servers were all fantastic, they make sure you have an excellent time. The second dining room felt slightly like an eating hall rather than a restaurant, with little décor and not great amounts of atmosphere, however the service made up for it. We only ate there once out of the week, as the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannes S, Owner at Steinerwirt, responded to this review

Thank you very much for recommending us - we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our restaurant. I'm glad you liked the food and the service - as for the dining room: We have been making plans to adapt that room as well, so when you visit Zell am See next time, we might have... More

Riga
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Didn't really know how to rate this one... One one hand - service, food and prices were not bad at all, very helpful stuff, good selection of local wines (really good ones), large menu featuring Austrian traditional dishes... all seems nice. I took a steak, it was ok (not great, but ok - really made in a local way). I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannes S, Owner at Steinerwirt, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your thoughtful words. Your review really started a very interesting discussion among us: On one hand, Steinerwirt is a very traditional restaurant, which attracts locals and guests alike. On the other hand, we do see ourselves somewhat as ambassadors of Austrian cuisine and wine. This is a very thin line we have to balance, being... More

Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Went there with a bunch of mates on a skis trip. Had the local stuff and this was recommended as the best in town. It did not disappoint. Enjoy the ragout of deer, a glass of wine and change from 25 euros including tip. Get there early or book.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannes S, Owner at Steinerwirt, responded to this review

We were very happy to read your recommending us to the Tripadvisor community. Thank you for pointing out that it is good to book in advance - especially during the peak ski season, the restaurant is often very busy. We hope to see you again and send Kind regards, Johannes Schwaninger More

Leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The food was excellent - I had trout, my husband had deer - delicious. Unfortunately the service wasn't great - slow to take our order and slow to top up our wine glasses. Worth a visit though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannes S, Inhaber at Steinerwirt, responded to this review

Thanks for recommending us to the Tripadvisor community. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Steinerwirt. Sorry for the slow service - sometimes, when the restaurant is really busy, it becomes difficult to maintain our high service levels. Given your rating, I assume that you did have a very positive experience. We will be happy to... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Friendly staff, excellent food. Overall a flawless experience. 7 people ordered and all were very satisfied. Willl definetly return

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannes S, Inhaber at Steinerwirt, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice recommendation to the Tripadvisor community. The fact that you mentioned the number of guests in your party may be very useful to other readers. Let me share my insights on this point, since it might be of interest to the community: As a general rule, for any à la carte restaurant, it is more challenging... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Locals told us about this place and locals were eating there. And we just loved it. If you don't go you will unfortunately miss out on this amazing restaurant. Oh and don't walk in at 8 o clock on a Friday or Saturday night and expect a free table. What a place. Thanks guys.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannes S, Inhaber at Steinerwirt, responded to this review

Thank you for your recommendation. Since we are very busy especially on weekends, reservations are definitely helpful. However, we are equally happy about anyone just stopping by! See you again and kind regards, Johannes Schwaninger More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Very good restaurant, the potato soup is heavenly. We have gone here two nights inadvertently but we didn't feel sorry at all!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannes S, Inhaber at Steinerwirt, responded to this review

Thank you very much for recommending us to the Tripadvisor community. We are very glad you enoyed your stay at our restaurant. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed the potatoe soup, since we slightly changed the recipe compared to last winter. Obviously, for the better :) When you return to Zell, we will be very happy to... More

Semington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Went here tonight on the strength of the TripAdvisor reviews. It was awful. One of the worst meals we have had for a very long time. It wasn't that the food was inedible simply that it was tasteless. And there was no atmosphere. While we haven't been to Meyer's yet (we are going on Friday) the idea that this is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannes S, Inhaber at Steinerwirt, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry to hear that your visit to our restaurant did not meet your expectations. We always strive to provide high quality food and service to our guests, and we apologize that we did not succeed with you. I strongly reject the allegations that the positive reviews are manipulated. Truth is: Nobody... More

Travelers who viewed Steinerwirt also viewed

 
Zell am See, Austrian Alps
Zell am See, Austrian Alps
 

Been to Steinerwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steinerwirt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing