We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 35 Custer Restaurants

Bavarian Restaurant - CLOSED

907 N.5th St., Custer, SD 57730
+1 605-673-4412
Improve this listing
CLOSED
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: American, German, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Description: Full Service Restaurant featuring German\American CuisineFeaturing 3 Dining Rooms with a Full Service Bar , Outdoor Dining Deck and Banquet room for 200 guests.

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    29
    16
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Laramie, Wyoming
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

I had an absolutely wonderful dinner in a very pleasant atmosphere LAST YEAR and went back two weekends ago with my brother-in-law - what a change! The restaurant is currently in transition between owners, and something must have gone quite wrong. The food was the same in appearance, but not quite the level of "cuisine" in terms of taste, came... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gillette, Wyoming
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Service was great but the food was wonderful and the desert was 1st class. I would highly recommend but they closed last weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sauer, Owner at Bavarian Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you . Yes after being at Bavarian Restaurant for 15 years . We closed . New owner of Motel will be taking over the building . Have no idea what there plans are . But I am sure it will be fantastic .This will be my last reply on tripadvisor. Look for us downtown Custer . In April 2015... More

Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

This place is touted for its German food, but is run by people who don't exactly seem to be German and it shows. The biggest problem for us is that our dinners were supposed to come with "red cabbage" as a side, but instead they delivered them with sauerkraut -- decidedly not the same thing. We found out later that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sauer, Owner at Bavarian Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you . Rosestrudel More

New Hampshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This whole review is in regards to only the German food The staff here is pretty chill the food is awesome taste homemade they're very accommodating the only complaint I have is it is overpriced and I mean they do have a lack of selection for sides but besides that they are pretty good it never really seems busy or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sauer, Owner at Bavarian Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you . Rosestrudel More

Denver
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stroganoff was just warm and then given separate container of sour cream did not enhance it. Very large serving included red cabbage which was nice. Grandsons hamburger pleased him. Cheerful waitress but a bit pushy to order more. A huge serving of triple chocolate cake to share...it a bit stale. Nice glass of wine....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sauer, Owner at Bavarian Restaurant, responded to this review

Follow rosestrudel on Twitter .Rosemarie More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Love German food, sad to see mashed potatoes. They were good, but really would like option for German potatoes! Apple struedel was excellent!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sauer, Owner at Bavarian Restaurant, responded to this review

Follow rosestrudel on Twitter. Rosemarie More

Maryland
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We went over from our adjacent hotel because a big storm was brewing and we didn't want to drive down into town and be caught by bad weather. The restaurant specializes in German food, so I had the sauerbraten and my sister had beef stroganoff. The meals come with a side of (or served over) mashed potatoes and red cabbage.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sauer, Owner at Bavarian Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank for your review. Yes that hail storm. Really destroyed our flowers, on the out side deck sitting. We want to thank you both for your input . And will continue to try to improve . Follow rosestrudel on Twitter. Rosemarie More

Morris, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

After wanting to stop here for several years, I am a lover of German food, a friend and I finally stopped. I was very excited to have a chance to eat here. My friend and I were both very hungry and were looking forward to a hearty meal. We walked into the restaurant and smelled many wonderful aromas. That is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
sauer, Owner at Bavarian Restaurant, responded to this review

Very interesting review . Would like to know which wait staff you had . Please contact Bavarian Restaurant . And ask for Rosemarie . Would like very much to visit with you . Thank you . . A great day . More

Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

For a restaurant only a quarter full we were amazed at the hurried service we received. Example: "room for dessert" being asked when we were less than half way through our meal. Food was average at best with same gravy being served on the stroganoff and the sauerbraten. Different experience here than others who have reviewed the restaurant; this food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sauer, Owner at Bavarian Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review . We will continue to improve on waitstaff service. We appreciate your review. And letting us know about how you felt on your rush dinning experience. Bavarian Restaurant we understand that we can't please everyone taste buds. We appreciate your input . And will continue to work on improving . Have a great day .... More

Cicero, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a late dinner here on a Monday evening. The special was a Prime Rib Sandwich. It was very good. My daughter ordered the Teriyaki chicken which was a bit disappointing, because it was obviously made with a small, thin, frozen chicken breast out of a bag. Nothing to write home about. However, the apple strudel for we shared... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sauer, Owner at Bavarian Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review . We hope u get a chance to stop back in and try our German dishes. Yes we don't serve fresh chicken. It packed fresh ,whole 6 0z all white meat . Char coal grilled . We apologized we didn't meet your expectation. We hope you and your family had a wonderful vacation in black... More

Additional Information about Bavarian Restaurant

Address: 907 N.5th St., Custer, SD 57730
Phone Number: +1 605-673-4412
Location: United States  >  South Dakota (SD)  >  Custer
Average Prices: USD 6 - 21
Cuisine: American, German, Hawaiian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing