We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bavarian Restaurant

907 N.5th St., Custer, SD 57730
+1 605-673-4412
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 35 Restaurants in Custer
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: American, German, Hawaiian
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Description: Full Service Restaurant featuring German\American CuisineFeaturing 3 Dining Rooms with a Full Service Bar , Outdoor Dining Deck and Banquet room for 200 guests.
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Description: Full Service Restaurant featuring German\American CuisineFeaturing 3 Dining Rooms with a Full Service Bar , Outdoor Dining Deck and Banquet room for 200 guests.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    49
    28
    15
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 NEW

This whole review is in regards to only the German food The staff here is pretty chill the food is awesome taste homemade they're very accommodating the only complaint I have is it is overpriced and I mean they do have a lack of selection for sides but besides that they are pretty good it never really seems busy or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stroganoff was just warm and then given separate container of sour cream did not enhance it. Very large serving included red cabbage which was nice. Grandsons hamburger pleased him. Cheerful waitress but a bit pushy to order more. A huge serving of triple chocolate cake to share...it a bit stale. Nice glass of wine....

Was this review helpful? Yes
sauer, Owner at Bavarian Restaurant, responded to this review

Follow rosestrudel on Twitter .Rosemarie More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Love German food, sad to see mashed potatoes. They were good, but really would like option for German potatoes! Apple struedel was excellent!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
sauer, Owner at Bavarian Restaurant, responded to this review

Follow rosestrudel on Twitter. Rosemarie More

Maryland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We went over from our adjacent hotel because a big storm was brewing and we didn't want to drive down into town and be caught by bad weather. The restaurant specializes in German food, so I had the sauerbraten and my sister had beef stroganoff. The meals come with a side of (or served over) mashed potatoes and red cabbage.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sauer, Owner at Bavarian Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank for your review. Yes that hail storm. Really destroyed our flowers, on the out side deck sitting. We want to thank you both for your input . And will continue to try to improve . Follow rosestrudel on Twitter. Rosemarie More

Morris, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

After wanting to stop here for several years, I am a lover of German food, a friend and I finally stopped. I was very excited to have a chance to eat here. My friend and I were both very hungry and were looking forward to a hearty meal. We walked into the restaurant and smelled many wonderful aromas. That is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sauer, Owner at Bavarian Restaurant, responded to this review

Very interesting review . Would like to know which wait staff you had . Please contact Bavarian Restaurant . And ask for Rosemarie . Would like very much to visit with you . Thank you . . A great day . More

Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

For a restaurant only a quarter full we were amazed at the hurried service we received. Example: "room for dessert" being asked when we were less than half way through our meal. Food was average at best with same gravy being served on the stroganoff and the sauerbraten. Different experience here than others who have reviewed the restaurant; this food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sauer, Owner at Bavarian Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review . We will continue to improve on waitstaff service. We appreciate your review. And letting us know about how you felt on your rush dinning experience. Bavarian Restaurant we understand that we can't please everyone taste buds. We appreciate your input . And will continue to work on improving . Have a great day .... More

Cicero, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a late dinner here on a Monday evening. The special was a Prime Rib Sandwich. It was very good. My daughter ordered the Teriyaki chicken which was a bit disappointing, because it was obviously made with a small, thin, frozen chicken breast out of a bag. Nothing to write home about. However, the apple strudel for we shared... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sauer, Owner at Bavarian Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review . We hope u get a chance to stop back in and try our German dishes. Yes we don't serve fresh chicken. It packed fresh ,whole 6 0z all white meat . Char coal grilled . We apologized we didn't meet your expectation. We hope you and your family had a wonderful vacation in black... More

Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I love German food and this restaurant was a disappointment mainly because they do not serve fresh vegetables (other than sauerkraut and red cabbage which I can’t eat) and I needed some “healthy” food! The salads are made with iceberg lettuce, a slice of onion and four selections of bottled dressing. I ordered the stroganoff, which was okay, but very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sauer, Owner at Bavarian Restaurant, responded to this review

We apologize that we didn't meet your expectation in our dinning experience at Bavarian Restaurant. Our garden salad has cucumber and onion tomato and carrots and egg . On iceberg lettuce. But thank you for your great review on our other dishes . We will continue to try to improve. And the music , yes that song repeat it self... More

St. Louis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were staying next door at the motel of the same name and after a busy day of seeing the sights in the Black Hills, decided to have drinks and dinner at the Inn. We met Rose Marie, the owner, at the bar and enjoyed visiting with her, learning about the area while she served drinks. [BTW, she makes a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sauer, Owner at Bavarian Restaurant, responded to this review

Russ and I enjoyed meeting you both . And thank you for choosing Bavarian Restaurant for your dinning experience. We hope you enjoyed the black hills . Thank you for sharing your experience in our restaurant. Russ and Rosemarie. More

Spearfish, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Start out with imported beers and cocktails at $12. Ever had stroganoff over mash potatoes with the sour cream came in a CYCSO cup on the side? Spetzel was $5 for a small portion, kind of crunchy and stale. Oh yes there is always the teriyaki chicken if you really want to be different

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sauer, Owner at Bavarian Restaurant, responded to this review

Sorry we did not meet your expectation . Our German beers are 7 . If you order a German Stein liters are 12 . That is keg beer . We serve the sour cream on the side . Many of our guest can't have dairy products. Our guest request our strog on Mash potatoes. But you have a choice of... More

Been to Bavarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavarian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing