We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Poppy's Time Out Sports Bar & Grill

500 Port of New Orleans Place, Suite 80, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)
+1 504-247-9265
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 1,613 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Poppy's Time Out is a fun sports bar located on the banks of the Mississippi River. Watch the game while watching the ships pass on the River.We offer Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner. We have so many T.V.'s & draft beer choices. We offer: Hamburgers, Pizza, Po-boys, Wings, Killer Sandwiches & stuff for the Little Leaguer's(Kids). Our signature drink is the Poppy's Voodoo Juice; it is SO strong it will cast a spell on you.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    95
    37
    25
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014 NEW

This is our second year going back. Not sure if it was just an off day but the food was horrible and cold!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anna T, Owner at Poppy's Time Out Sports Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Although we're disappointed to hear about your recent visit, we thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We aim to deliver fresh and hot food for all of our guests, and it sounds like we missed the mark on your visit. We'll be sure to speak to our kitchen and wait staff regarding this experience so we can provide... More

Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Went on the first day with entire family. It's right by the river walk. Nachos were just a few chips and melted cheese for $7. Burger was very basic and without much taste. Server pushed refills on the soft drinks without mentioning there's a charge. The. They push a 20% tip. Horrible The next day I went back because I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anna T, Owner at Poppy's Time Out Sports Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Although we're disappointed to hear about your first visit, we thank you for taking the time to let you know about this incident and giving us a second chance. At Time Out, we strive to serve good food at a fair price, and it sounds like we really missed the mark the first time. We'll be sure to pass this... More

Mt. Pleasant, SC
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

If you are looking for something quick and easy, this is your place. Plus there are TV's everywhere with any and all sports playing. It is on the plaza near Riverwalk shops and right on the Mississippi River. Try the Alligator sausage appetizer - yummy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anna T, Owner at Poppy's Time Out Sports Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Nancy, thank you for joining us at Time Out, and for taking the time to write such a kind review for us! At Time Out, we strive to serve delicious food and great drinks in a casual atmosphere along the riverwalk, so we're pleased to hear you enjoyed everything we had to offer. We look forward to serving you again... More

West Chester, Pennsylvania, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Had breakfast here on a Saturday morning. It was basic and uninteresting, it didn't help that the air was broken making it a little warm. There were better places to eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anna T, Owner at Poppy's Time Out Sports Bar & Grill, responded to this review

John, although we're disappointed to hear about your recent visit, we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to serve a wide variety of foods that are sure to please all of our guests, and we're sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. We'll be sure to share your feedback with... More

Galveston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Saturday Night, we had dinner on the patio. it was a friend and I. It was a nice atmosphere. The Food was great and I had a Specialty Drink called the WHO DAT! It was amazing. The only thing that would make me never want to visit again was the service. Our waiter had took so long to greet us,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anna T, Owner at Poppy's Time Out Sports Bar & Grill, responded to this review

While we're disappointed to hear about your most recent experience, we thank you for bringing this incident to our attention. It's our goal to provide quick, friendly, and attentive service, and it sounds like we weren't able to fulfill that during your visit. We'll be sure to pass your feedback on to our wait staff and management team to provide... More

Jackson, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a small group and only stopped by long enough to grab a quick drink while waiting on the main restaurant to open. The waitress was extremely pleasant and kind.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Macon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We visited Poppy's Time Out based on Trip Advisor reviews and convenience to our location. We won't go back here. Food was good, nothing spectacular and menu was small. Service was almost to the point of walking out at every point. It took forever to be waited on, forever for drink refills, and forever to receive our check. The food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
baltimore
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had a drink and a bit at this place since it was very close to our hotel. It was terrible. The sandwich was soggy and tasteless. The service was virtually non-existent. Don't be fooled by the 5-star reviews -- we will never go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Anna T, Owner at Poppy's Time Out Sports Bar & Grill, responded to this review

While we're so disappointed to hear about your recent experience, we thank you for taking the time to write a review for us and bringing this incident to our attention. We strive to provide friendly and attentive service in addition to delicious food, and it sounds like we really missed the mark on your visit. We'll be sure to pass... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Waiter, jerry, provided excellent service with a smile. Making the entire party feel welcome. We had a party of six. Jerry provided fantastic service for all without a single issue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Best place to eat, service was excellent our waiter was courtesy prompt and attentive. The atomsohere is the best, relaxing and comfortable! Try the gator bites good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anna T, Owner at Poppy's Time Out Sports Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review - we're so glad to hear you enjoyed our gator bites! We look forward to serving you again soon! More

Travelers who viewed Poppy's Time Out Sports Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Poppy's Time Out Sports Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poppy's Time Out Sports Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing