We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Poppy's The Crazy Lobster Bar & Grill

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Oyster Bar
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
500 Port of New Orleans Place, Suite 83, New Orleans, LA 70130
+1 504-569-3380
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Good for:
Local cuisine

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,442 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 807
    Excellent
  • 364
    Very good
  • 141
    Average
  • 66
    Poor
  • 64
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Good food, Good Service

Have been several times. I purchase the groupon before going due to it being a little pricey. Has a limited menu but has always been good and fresh. Would recomend to anyone who wants a taste of New Orleans foods.

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 17, 2015
rockd71
,
Luling, Louisiana
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Dessert
Add Photo Write a Review

1,442 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luling, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015 NEW

Have been several times. I purchase the groupon before going due to it being a little pricey. Has a limited menu but has always been good and fresh. Would recomend to anyone who wants a taste of New Orleans foods.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mandeville, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015 NEW

Let me start off by saying my husband and I dine out quite a bit so we have had our share or likes or dislikes. Never had we put a review if it was a bad dining experience because if it was a unpleasant visit we just won't come back but I couldn't stop thinking about what we saw with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Porter, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 NEW

We had a wonderful time enjoying this restaurant. We sat out on the open air area, and enjoyed some of New Orleans best Cajun food. The staff did everything to accommodate us, and we were very pleased with our experience here. A must-do if you are in the area. Yum!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Benton, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 NEW

Went because we had a groupon. Saw some negative reviews so was a little leery. But the wait staff was terrific and the food was delicious. My husband loved his shrimp and grits and bread pudding. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mays Landing, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 NEW

Stopped here for appetizers and specialty drinks during the French Quarter Festival. A stage was set up right outside so we could enjoy the live music. Hurricanes and Voodoo Juice drinks were good. Onion strings app was enough for 4. Friendly and lively wait staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015 NEW

We went there because the menu looked inviting. We were very disappointed . We got seated, but then had to wait and wait before anyone came to take our order. Only after my son went to the hostess station and ask if we were going to get waited on, did someone come over. The food very pricey and not that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anna T, Owner at Poppy's The Crazy Lobster Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Steve, we're very sorry to hear that you left Crazy Lobster disappointed. We aim to please all of our guests from the food to the service, and are sorry you were let down when you visited with us. We'll share the feedback with our team so we can avoid this kind of repeat experience. More 

Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015 NEW

The food here seemed very average. The shrimp and grits were good, but the grits were cold. If they had been warm, it would have definitely made it better. The service was below average.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NJ
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015 NEW

I am writing this review while I am still sitting at the table waiting for a server to come take our orders after waiting 45 minutes outside for seating while two thirds of the tables were empty. It has been over an hour since we were seated and even though we asked for someone to take our orders several times... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anna T, Owner at Poppy's The Crazy Lobster Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Although we're so terribly disappointed to read about your recent visit at Crazy Lobster, we sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We take great pride in providing top-notch service to all of our guests, and it sounds like we really let you down. Service like this is unacceptable, and not something that is... More 

Washington State
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015 NEW

We had the crab/shrimp combo plate and shrimp fettuccini meals which were good. The live music and location along the river is nice, tho we were seated in the back of the restaurant and couldn't really see much. The prices are high enough to merit more than a red plastic tablecloth and poor service. Our waiter was unfriendly and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

You have to try the seafood bucket!! Lobster-snow-crab-shrimp-crawfish-mussels-clams-sausage-potatoes-and corn!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Poppy's The Crazy Lobster Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Poppy's The Crazy Lobster Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 500 Port of New Orleans Place, Suite 83, New Orleans, LA 70130
  • Location: United States  >  Louisiana (LA)  >  New Orleans
  • Phone Number: +1 504-569-3380

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 0 - 50
  • Cuisine: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Oyster Bar

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Poppy's The Crazy Lobster Bar & Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?