We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Leonardo Trattoria

709 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-3713 (Central Business District)
504-558-8986
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,124 of 1,603 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Girod St
Transit: St. Charles streetcar line
Description: Leonardo Trattoria offers authentic Italian cuisine, Sicilian style.Boasting a prime location in the heart of New Orleans, along with a top notch staff and chef, Leonardo Trattoria is known for putting out the very best and most authentic Italian cuisine in all of New Orleans. Offering Sicilian-style lunch and dinner, wood fire oven pizza, incredible desserts like homemade cannoli, a relaxed and eclectic atmosphere with Italian mobster movies playing on the flat screen TVs, Leonardo Trattoria is an old favorite of both everyday locals and Mardi Gras tourists alike. It's a dining experience that one won't soon forget.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

36% Recommend
    5
    9
    4
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Mercifully, this place has finally closed its doors. However, it seems that the same people who ran the place into the ground are planning to simply open again under a new name. (Not the first time this has happened at this location.) I've noticed with a couple of other places listed on Tripadvisor that when a business closes and reopens,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We went in with a reservation and 2 1/2 hours later left without eating any pasta! We arrived at 6 o'clock for a 6:30 reservation. We were running the Half Marathon and were "carb loading". The service was terrible and the place was understaffed and very poorly managed. There was no soap or paper towels in the bathroom. The bartender... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New Orleans
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stopped at this restaurant the night before the Superbowl was held in NoLa. First the restaurant was empty. It was about 7:30 and there was no one inside. Almost every table was empty. Nonetheless the waitress said that they were full and we would have to sit outside. No problem because there was hardly anyone outside either. Three of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

After a day of enjoying New Orleans and sightseeing, we wanted some casual Italian. Domenica was packed until 9:00 p.m. for reservations, so we asked the concierge at the Intercontinental Hotel where we were staying what he recommended since we hoped to dine nearby. He suggested Leonardo Trattoria. BAD CALL and I reported back to him why after a dismal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris P, Manager at Leonardo Trattoria, responded to this review

Brad, It's terribly disheartening to hear about your dining experience with us. Providing our customers with consistent quality and excellent customer service is always our ultimate goal. However, your experience sounds far from the norm. We hold our staff to high standards, so I would be very surprised if they were only "talking to the regulars" and eating dinner at... More

London, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We went for lunch during our recent trip to New Orleans as we had a Groupon. We arrived a little after 1:00 and were surprised to find the restaurant empty. It was unsettling as Herbsaint next door was very busy. The waitress started by listing everything they were out of. We ordered pizzas. They were fine. Could have used a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We went here on a Sunday night and the place was empty, now I know why. We had a groupon, and we were informed that a 20% gratuity would be added automatically. That is ridiculous, there were 2 people in our party. The food was horrible, not just bad, but horrible! The waiters were having a fight in the back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris P, Manager at Leonardo Trattoria, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear about your experience--this really does not sound like us. Customer satisfaction is crucial as we always aim to impress our customers, and do not fall short often. The fact that your waiters were "having a fight" with the cook is completely unacceptable and would never be allowed. Regardless, I'm troubled by all you have to say.... More

New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

First of all I was informed there would be a 20% gratuity charge because I was using a Groupon. My party consisted of two people, a 20% gratuity on a party of two is simply ridiculous!!! When we got there the place was completely empty, and now I understand why!!!! The inside of the restaurant was dark and had an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grove City, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

6pm on a Saturday, we were the only reservation. We were part of 5 total tables for dinner, while the restaurant next door was completely packed. We soon found out why. Service was slow, unattentive and non personable. Our Server spent more time on her cell phone at a back table than with any tables. The only staff was 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

While visiting in New Orleans, my husband and I visited Leonardo's for an Italian dinner and enjoyed getting to eat outside. We ordered the CASA salad and spaghetti w/meatballs. Our server was great, and the food was very hot and delicious! The portions are so large, though; you can actually split one order of the salad and the entree between... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hobart, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I think the food was good. The customer service was excellent. I wen't on a Sunday evening, and there was no wait. I would definitely go back if in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Leonardo Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Leonardo Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing