We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ristorante Villa Francesca

$$$
North End
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
150 Richmond St, Boston, MA 02109 (Hanover Street)
Haymarket and Government Center--A quick walk up Hanover Street brings you to our step.
(617) 367-2948
Today
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Villa Francesca is one of Boston's oldest North End restaurants. Enjoy...
Villa Francesca is one of Boston's oldest North End restaurants. Enjoy Italian cuisine inspired by the recipes of Francesca and the Guglielmo family. Fresh seafood, pastas, prime cut chops and steaks arrive daily for you dining pleasure. We love seafood just as much as you do and have designed a Prix Fixe 3-course Seafood menu available every night!Enjoy an intimate candlelit night or a night out with friends to make your special event a night to remember. Our restaurant can facilitate your event needs by booking one of the private function spaces for any special occasion.
read more
Good for:
Casual Elegant
Romance
Outdoor seating

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 173 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 37
    Excellent
  • 39
    Very good
  • 44
    Average
  • 23
    Poor
  • 30
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Very Generic

Walking in the place felt comfortable and welcoming, and I cannot complain about the service at all. However, the food was lacking. Having eaten much worse, I could not give it a 'Terrible' rating, but average it was not. It did the job from a functional perspective because we were hungry, but it... read more

2 of 5 starsReviewed February 15, 2015
DrMichaelMoats
,
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Good for:
  • Casual Elegant
  • Romance
  • Outdoor seating
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Walking in the place felt comfortable and welcoming, and I cannot complain about the service at all. However, the food was lacking. Having eaten much worse, I could not give it a 'Terrible' rating, but average it was not. It did the job from a functional perspective because we were hungry, but it was not a treat in any fashion.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pembroke, MA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

We have been going to this restaurant for years. But it is definitely not as great as it once was. Some of their famous plates are no longer on the menu, and the ones that are there are overpriced and underdeliver. We'll still go there, but it just isn't the same...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

My worst experience of 2014. Parked my car in a valet space in front of the restaurant in the pouring rain. No valet in sight. The hostess let me in the front door and I pointed out that my car was there and I was not bringing my coat inside. She sat me and my husband with our 10 friends.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manage_Listing, Public Relations Manager at Ristorante Villa Francesca, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your car was towed outside our restaurant and for the inconvenience it caused you. Let me explain what happened from our perspective. When your first stepped into the restaurant our hostess kindly open the door for you. From where she was standing and due to the fact that it was raining our door was closed... More 

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We had a dinner out here for our first night in Boston with a large group of friends. The staff was nice to accommodate our large group of 13 to a long table and the room was nice and warm since it was a cold January evening. Our food was fine but not spectacular. The kids had spaghetti and meatballs,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Went here before a bruins game, i had the spinach ravioli that was supposed to be in a brown butter sage sauce, the sauce literally tasted like it was just melted butter. My husband order a veal dish, it did not come with pasta, he asked for pasta with the dish, it was an additional $8 for the nothing special... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

This was a poor choice for the North End. Limited menu of Typical Italian fare. And, to be honest, Costco makes better pesto... My wife is Italian so I've eaten more than my fair share of both American Italian and in Italy. It looks good on the outside. There are so many better choices in the North End.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I was in town for work and went to grab an early dinner. I was there shortly after 5PM on a Monday, and was the only diner in the restaurant. Possibly because of that, I was neglected nearly the entire meal. Only Italian place I've ever eaten that didn't serve bread. Tried their tortellini with pancetta. Pancetta was fried to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hinsdale, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015 via mobile

The restaraunt is large for North End so if you need to fit a group you could do it, the service was average when I went with multiple mistakes on orders. They were apologetic and fixed issues quickly but still mistakes. The food unfortunately was average, not bad, but with all the options you have in area, the food needs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
safetybob
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

weekend trip to boston , pre show meal-great wine, great service, great food-Sergio, our waiter could not have been better-the young lady that coserved, was also very helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peabody, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Wonderful crispy crusted bread. Olive oil for dipping could be tastier. Delicious eggplant parmesan but there is an additional charge for a side of pasta. Table of 4 by the window and everyone was pleased with their meal. Chicken marsala was excellent and that came with pasta. (Go figure).

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Villa Francesca also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Villa Francesca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 150 Richmond St, Boston, MA 02109
    (Hanover Street)
  • Public Transportation: Haymarket and Government Center--A quick walk up Hanover Street brings you to our step.
  • Location: United States  >  Massachusetts (MA)  >  Boston>  > North End
  • Neighborhood: North End
  • Phone Number: (617) 367-2948

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 31 - 40
  • Cuisine: Italian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Casual Elegant
  • Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating

Description

Villa Francesca is one of Boston's oldest North End restaurants. Enjoy Italian cuisine inspired by the recipes of Francesca and the Guglielmo family. Fresh seafood, pastas, prime cut chops and steaks arrive daily for you dining pleasure. We love seafood just as much as you do and have designed a Prix Fixe 3-course Seafood menu available every night!Enjoy an intimate candlelit night or a night out with friends to make your special event a night to remember. Our restaurant can facilitate your event needs by booking one of the private function spaces for any special occasion.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ristorante Villa Francesca staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?