We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aquitaine

569 Tremont St, Boston, MA 02118-3721
617-424-8577
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #145 of 2,785 restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $0 - $45
Cuisines: American, French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Union Park and Tremont Street
Transit: The MBTA #43 stops at our front door at 569 Tremont Street
Description: Award winning Parisian inspired French bistro located in the heart of Boston's South End, overlooking historic Tremont Street.
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    100
    56
    23
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I usually dine here to celebrate special,occasions, and they never fail to graciously greet me with a "happy birthday" or whatever occasion it is. I had the pork chop yesterday and as usual, it was delectable. The other person had the sea bass, also uniquely flavored and superb. Their wine list had a perfectly acceptable Chardonnay at only $10 a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey G, Owner at Aquitaine, responded to this review

Jon Fitz was my waiter 13 years ago Christine. I had such a wonderful meal I partnered with the owner! Wonderful that you enjoyed your meal as well. Thank you for the kind post. More

Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a very good French restaurant with a good wine list. Menu was traditional and varied. Will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey G, Owner at Aquitaine, responded to this review

Thank you for dining with us. Wonderful that you enjoyed your meal. I will share your comments. Regards, Jeff Gates More

Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I had made a reservation a couple of days in advance via their website, but when we got there they couldn't find my name. It was a Friday night so the place was really busy. The manager didn't make a big deal about it and gave us a table anyway, without us having to wait (good thing we were there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey G, Owner at Aquitaine, responded to this review

Thank you for dining with us MC. Glad to read we recovered and you enjoyed your meal. Regards, Jeff More

Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Enjoyed a good brunch at Aquitaine, but from the crowd you would have expected they were either a) giving it away, or b) doing something exceptional. Alas, neither was true. Fortunately, we had reservations. The food was solid, the coffee kept flowing, and the server was attentive. My only real complaint was the heat: it was stifling, and we all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey G, Owner at Aquitaine, responded to this review

Thank you for dining with us DrKris. I will share your comment regarding the heat with our manager Scott. We are probably still set up for the Polar Vortex over there. It may be time to relax the heat and insulation a bit. Regards More

New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Very nice food, good service, easy to get a reservation, out of the ordinary for its location. Nothing to dislike – good place to go on a whim.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey G, Owner at Aquitaine, responded to this review

Thank you for dining with us and for the kind post. Regards Jeff Gates More

Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

First I will say, yes I will give this place another shot. But I was sorely disappointed with brunch. I joined friends around 2pm on a Sunday. It was packed in there, so i expected a wait. However, the coffee cup had dishwasher ring around it, and when the coffee came it was warm. It was definitely longer than it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey G, Owner at Aquitaine, responded to this review

Thank you for dining with us. Sorry to read of the failures you experienced. No excuses, I will share your constructive comments with our team. We have and will do better. Regards More

Lynnfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I'm probably a little bit jaded on my review because we got seated 45 minutes late for a reservation. Management was great about it but nevertheless it was a rather long wait. Server was fantastic...and apologetical. As it turns out we had a great family brunch. Atmosphere is what you'd expect from a South End Bistro, cute and a little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey G, Owner at Aquitaine, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting with us. Sorry for the wait. I will share your comments with our host staff and manger Scott. Regards More

Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

My wife and I were recently in the South End and found this restaurant as we were browsing around the area. A gentleman welcomed us at the door and showed us to our table. We ordered from the lunch menu and selected the daily special. I had the onion soup and a Croque Monsieur, my wife had the onion soup... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey G, Owner at Aquitaine, responded to this review

Thank you for dining with us and for the wonderful post. Happy to read that you enjoyed your meal. Regards More

Queenstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Hubby and I ordered the from 10 dollar menu that was indeed a bargain and well worth it...I ordered a yummy veggie omelette with the most delicious creamy French cheese inside it while Hubby got an equally nice spinach and cheese omelette...The deal included juice and coffee/tea , home fries and yummy crusty bread toast with imported French jam...We will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey G, Owner at Aquitaine, responded to this review

Wonderful to read that you enjoyed your brunch. Many in the neighborhood enjoy our $9.95 brunch. I will share your comments with our staff. Regards, Jeffrey Gates Partner More

Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This place is always packed with people. Sat a table a couple times during the weekend, and at the bar during the week for a quick bite. Since the Aquitaine Group owns several restaurants in the neighborhood that I like, I knew that I could expect the same level of service and quality as their other restaurants, such as Union,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey G, Owner at Aquitaine, responded to this review

Thank you so much for dining with us. Wonderful to read that you enjoyed your meal. And it's always nice to be in a busy restaurant. I will share your comments with our team. Regards, Jeffrey Gates Partner Aquitaine Group More

Travelers who viewed Aquitaine also viewed

 

Been to Aquitaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquitaine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing