We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 641 Asheville Restaurants

The Lobster Trap

35 Patton Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-3314 (Downtown Asheville)
828-350-0505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 641 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hours:
Sun - Sat 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Cuisines: Seafood
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Famous for flying fresh seafood in from the coast, using fresh produce from local farmers, and featuring fresh music from local musicians, The Lobster Trap introduced fresh beer in 2009 with the launch of Oyster House Brewing Company. Be sure to sample the Moonstone Stout.

Hotels travelers are raving about...

Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    100
    49
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014 NEW

We brought some friends to Asheville for their 50th Wedding Anniversary and when they saw the Lobster Trap advertised, that was their choice for dinner. And we were not disappointed! The lobster was perfect in both whole cooked lobster and lobster roll. The service was outstanding! The atmosphere was very warm and friendly, and we were welcomed the moment we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thelobstertrap, Owner at The Lobster Trap, responded to this review

Thank you for selecting The Lobster Trap for your friend's 50 anniversary celebration! We really appreciate your business and your nice comments. I have shared your review with the staff. Hope you had a nice trip to Asheville. More

Burlington, NJ
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014 NEW

We were walking by and I remembered they had good reviews so we stopped in. There wasn't anything on the menu for my son, who isn't a seafood lover, but the cook made him a hamburger and he was thrilled. We enjoyed the oyster shooters and I had a great lobster roll. The service is good, the beer was great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thelobstertrap, Owner at The Lobster Trap, responded to this review

I am glad we were able to accommodate your son. Thanks so much for your review! What a nice compliment from a top contributor. Take care. More

Leawood, Kansas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

What a nice surprise! I didn't expect Asheville, NC to be a hot spot for fresh seafood, but this place not only didn't disappoint, it impressed. Fresh oysters, live lobster, local ingredients, gluten free and non-GMO cornbread... This is a fairly expensive restaurant, and I tend to be frugal, but I had no qualms about "spending what was needed" to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thelobstertrap, Owner at The Lobster Trap, responded to this review

Thank you! Wonderful to receive such a nice compliment from a top contributor. Good luck with your relocation plans! More

Riverton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

We were so looking forward to our return to Asheville for our week in the fall and to indulge in the food/service of the lobster trap. What a difference a year makes. Disappointed in the food and the service was lacking. Next years return to the mountains will not include a trip to this restaurant, which is such a shame... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thelobstertrap, Owner at The Lobster Trap, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you were disappointed in your visit. I would love to get some more information. I am curious about what you ordered and who your server was. We did remodel the restaurant since last year but most of our staff and food have remained unchanged. I would love it if you could give us a call... More

Seminole, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014 via mobile

We picked a REALLY cold weekend to visit Asheville, but once we stepped inside The Lobster Trap we were greeted by Drew who sat us at the bar where we watched our new best friend the oyster shucker (whose name we forgot - but not his choice in Sun Hallow oysters from the west coast). The lobster roll was wonderful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thelobstertrap, Owner at The Lobster Trap, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I am so glad that you had a nice visit and were able to warm up. Thanks again for your feedback and your business! More

Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

I have visited the Lobster Trap for several years while attending conferences in Asheville and the food is always wonderful along with great service and atmosphere. Like any place, you can have an issue with a meal from time to time but following a recent review, the owner of the LT e-mailed me and offered a gift card for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thelobstertrap, Owner at The Lobster Trap, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind words. We really appreciate your understanding and repeat business. We look forward to serving you again! More

Boone, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014 via mobile

Overall pretty good. We ordered the clam bake, single serving, which is just barely enough for two people and not the greatest value. But the food was very good. With the exception of serving us a clam that didn't open and a piece of shell in my son's lobster Mac and cheese. Waited about 30 min for a table.

Was this review helpful? Yes
thelobstertrap, Owner at The Lobster Trap, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. Please accept my apologies for the clam and for the shell. We should have caught both of those. I appreciate your understanding. Hope you enjoyed your trip to Asheville! More

Hickory
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Again... food was awesome - had the same waiter... what are the chances?! He again was awesomely attentive (but not overly) and helped us with drink choices and made suggestions to the menu. We had the baked oysters as a starter - I highly recommend those! And did the Clam Bake for two - it was just enough food for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thelobstertrap, Owner at The Lobster Trap, responded to this review

Great compliment from a senior contributor! Thanks for being a repeat customer. So happy that you were happy with your server and food. We really appreciate your nice review! More

Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I would easily revisit this restaurant. The lobster bisque is spot on. Wish they served French bread so you could soak it up. Fried oyster served over charred romaine. They explode with flavor. Husband ordered lobster roll that outdoes those had in Maine.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thelobstertrap, Owner at The Lobster Trap, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! So glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope you had a great trip to Asheville! More

North Augusta, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

It was difficult making choices for dinner because everything sounded delicious. We had lobster bisque, lobster rolls which was just large chunks of lobster meat and lobster Mac and cheese. Brandon was a wonderful waiter who helped us to choose an in-house brewed beer. Wonderful meal!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thelobstertrap, Owner at The Lobster Trap, responded to this review

The Lobster Roll is one of my favorites. Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks so much for your business and review! We appreciate you mentioning your server's name. We have passed along your comments to him. More

Travelers who viewed The Lobster Trap also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Lobster Trap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lobster Trap

Address: 35 Patton Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-3314
Phone Number: 828-350-0505
Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Smoky Mountains  >  Asheville>  > Downtown Asheville
Open Hours:
Sunday 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Monday 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Tuesday 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Cuisine: Seafood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing