We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
319 Spring St, Suite 203, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
+1 304-535-2198
Improve this listing
Add hours for Swiss Miss and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Seating, Takeout

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 67 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 23
    Excellent
  • 14
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 18
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Small ice cream parlor

Small, but ice cream is fantastic. Don't look for fancy accommodations here, you won't find it. But on a hot day there is nothing like their ice cream!

3 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
SuzeeQZee
,
Ohio
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

In a town where not much during this time of year is open...we chose Cafe Swiss Miss and glad we did! Understand it was busy and it did take a while from start to finish but in the end was REALLY WELL WORTH IT! The food was great and the service was off beat if you will but loved it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne W
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Only restaurant open so we decided to give it a try; what a mistake. Sat down at a table and waited patiently for the waitress. When she finally appeared, she said in a very rude tone, "I will be with you in a minute." So instead of putting up with her attitude, we walked out. Before we went in, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank wsmiller1956
Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Small, but ice cream is fantastic. Don't look for fancy accommodations here, you won't find it. But on a hot day there is nothing like their ice cream!

Helpful?
Thank SuzeeQZee
Alexandria
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

We barely walked in the door and we got screamed at by the waitress from across the restaurant while the seated patrons stared at us. Without asking why we were there (dine in it take out, etc.) she yelled at us about how she was working alone, the tables were full, the menu was limited and the restaurant was closing.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

Stopped in yesterday for ice cream and coffee. Was forced out of the seating area by a rude blonde waitress. Told us full service only and we had to move. There was one other person sitting in there and a few people at the inside counter. As we are being forced out the door my 12 year old daughter looked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travis H
Stanley333, Owner at Swiss Miss, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I will assume some responsibility here, as it puts the responsibility on whom ever is working to tell everyone as they walk in the door that the dining room is full service, and if you'd like something to go, you order at the window. 99% of the time it is received well and understood, and... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015 via mobile

BEWARE! We were told to leave by the rude blonde lady, but after buying four ice cream cups. No one else was in the restaurant, we were the only ones there. So we were shocked and appalled by the rude service. Had we been treated so rude before we purchased ice cream we would have walked out. Rude customer service.

Helpful?
Thank Claudia M
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015 via mobile

We tried to buy water and were told to go outside because there was a line. In reality there was only one person in line and no one outside. So we got the water next door and then sat on the benches. Then we were yelled at for sitting on the benches when no one was waiting for a seat.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Juldash
Budd Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

I was mortified. After the slow time to order and 20 minutes more to get our food, I was almost finished with my burger when the blond waitress brought out the French fries. At my suggestion that I no longer wanted the fries, she screamed at me and proceeded in a tirade to demean me. The whole restaurant could hear... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom B
Stanley333, Owner at Swiss Miss, responded to this review

Yes, something is wrong, and being that you insisted on two posts with two different ID's, I will waste my time once again responding to another 'all the facts missing', passive aggressive review. ....When I do respond to a review, I never defend or contradict what people claim that SHE has said to them, I simply provide the conveniently missing... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015 via mobile

I eat here all the time. The Pizza grilled cheese is amazing, cheese steak, flat bread pizza, and breakfast are all great. The owner and the manager are good people, very helpful and friendly. BEST ICE CREAM IN HARPERS FERRY; VOTED NO. 1 I do believe.

Helpful?
Thank MC H
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015 via mobile

I was screamed at by the blond waitress. Totally berated. I complained that the French frys were underdone. Her response was balistic. In addition her whole lack of attention to the customer situation was poor at best. Nothing special about the food either.

Helpful?
Thank Tom B

Travelers who viewed Swiss Miss also viewed

 
Harpers Ferry, WV
 

Been to Swiss Miss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 319 Spring St, Suite 203, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
  • Location: United States  >  West Virginia (WV)  >  Harpers Ferry
  • Phone Number: +1 304-535-2198

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: American

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Swiss Miss staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?