We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crab House

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Neighborhood:
Fisherman’s Wharf
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
203 C Pier 39, San Francisco, CA 94133
F-Line & #15
+1 415-434-2722
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view
Description: Great view & SF's famous Dungeness Crab served in seriously addictive...
Great view & SF's famous Dungeness Crab served in seriously addictive garlic sauce make us the go to spot on scenic Pier 39 for casual dining.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,154 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 450
    Excellent
  • 434
    Very good
  • 173
    Average
  • 59
    Poor
  • 38
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Whole cooked crab dinner!

The whole crab cooked in garlic butter was very yummy. We shared with 3 ladies and had a side of garlic noodles and Caesar salad. Perfect with a bottle of wine.

4 of 5 starsReviewed 6 days ago
Kalani J
Add Photo Write a Review

1,154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The whole crab cooked in garlic butter was very yummy. We shared with 3 ladies and had a side of garlic noodles and Caesar salad. Perfect with a bottle of wine.

Helpful?
Thank Kalani J
Bart M, General Manager at Crab House, responded to this review

Kalani, thank you for taking the time to leave a wonderful review for our restaurant! Our Killer Crab has been a home run for all of our guests. We highly recommend it to anyone coming out to our restaurant for the first time. You won't regret it! Sharing a bottle a bottle of wine with friends sounds like a nice... More 

Queretaro, Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Its not a bad Place, not bad food. Its location allows it to become a tourist trap. I mean, 20 usd for 2 little crabcakes? C'mon, we were 4, im not gonna say we were expecting 2 per each, but 2? Really?... Also, half order of crabs besides the 30 usd equals for 5 crablegs, not bad, but not fair... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vich2102
Bart M, General Manager at Crab House, responded to this review

Vich2102, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback on TripAdvisor. We're disappointed to hear about the type of experience you had at our restaurant. Although you left a 4 out of 5, it's still important to us that you're left with the proper impression. We take a lot of pride in the value we offer. If... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff was mean and the portions were small, but the food was good. I didn't understand the bathroom situation. Two bathrooms that were on two sides of the front of the restaurant. We ordered crab cakes, crab pasta and the crab enchiladas. Food was hot, but took awhile to come out. The waiter seemed like I was bothering him.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fal L
Bart M, General Manager at Crab House, responded to this review

Fal, thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback on TripAdvisor. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our the food from our restaurant. The crab enchiladas have always been a fan favorite. You can't go wrong with them! However, we're incredibly disappointed to hear about the level of service you were met with. We... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm hoping we were in here on an off night for the Crab House. We were directed here by a tour guide and were extremely underwhelmed based on her recommendation. We both got the prix fix--soup was good. It helped cure my craving for soup. I wouldn't say it was the best in the world, but it did its job.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lexi S
Bart M, General Manager at Crab House, responded to this review

Lexi, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're disappointed to hear about the hectic dining experience you had with us recently. It's unfortunate to hear your boyfriend wasn't truly satisfied by his crab and that your crab angel hair lasagna wasn't up to par. It's also unfortunate to hear you weren't wowed by our soup and tiramisu as... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went there for lunch, YOU HAVE TO have crab. forget anything else, no mussels no soup no schrimp, just crab. LOVED it. And i must say the wine of the house was not bad at all!!! WELL DONE!! the service was nice and friendly

Helpful?
Thank isablubelle
Bart M, General Manager at Crab House, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a great review, Isabluebelle! It's fantastic to hear how much you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us! We're absolutely thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed our Crab and house wine. If you're looking to have the best Crab in town then our restaurant is definitely the place to be! We're pleased to hear... More 

Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We shared a $70 Crab platter and there were so many crab legs we couldn't even eat them all. Needless to say, the garlic crab was scrumptious and i need to go back...wow that was a crab feast for real.

Helpful?
Thank Mark B
Bart M, General Manager at Crab House, responded to this review

Mark B, thank you for taking the time to leave us with a review! The crab platter was an excellent choice! If you're a crab lover then it's definitely the choice for you. It doesn't hurt that we're the home of the "Killer Crab", either! We highly recommend it to anyone joining us for their first visit. Once again, we... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My colleague and I had dinner at the crab house. We ordered the crab, mussel and shrimp combo and a crab soup. The crab that we had is probably frozen as it was tasteless and soft...the shrimps were ok and the mussels rubbery. For the prize that was charged we probably could have gotten better food.

Helpful?
Thank mkw-sg
Bart M, General Manager at Crab House, responded to this review

mkw-sg, it's disappointing to hear about the recent experience you and your colleague had at our restaurant. We take pride in the dishes we serve at Crab House 39. Our kitchen prepares and cooks everything only the freshest of ingredients. With that being said, we wish you would've found more value in what we had to offer. Please let us... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came in for a late lunch. The ambiance is great as is the view. The wait staff is friendly and helpful. I had the fish and chips and I wish the waiter had told me (and offered a choice) that the chips are SMOTHERED in garlic. I like garlic, but it was was too much. The fish though was amazing.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charlene M
Bart M, General Manager at Crab House, responded to this review

Charlene, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. It's unfortunate to hear you're not completely satisfied by your recent visit. We apologize that the calamari and chips weren't seasoned or cooked to your liking. We're disappointed to hear your husband also wasn't completely satisfied with his bowl of clams. We never want our guests to leave feeling unsatisfied. If... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Love to eat crab, and this was as good as it gets. Simple decor, and overlooking the waterfront. Fresh crab, great service and worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank JJ1Brisbane
Bart M, General Manager at Crab House, responded to this review

JJ1Brisbane, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and the TripAdvisor community! Having the waterfront by Pier 39 has always been wonderful thing to have for all of our guests. Combining that with our fresh seafood makes for a great experience at our restaurant! We'll be sure to pass your compliments down to our service... More 

New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While I was eating, a waiter (the man in green shirt, a coordinator or something like that) came to put all my belongings (my handbag and coat) under the table in a rude manner, without asking or saying anything. After I complained, he put my stuff back to the seat, in a rude manner again. This is horrible. The waitress... More 

Helpful?
Thank 77jms
Bart M, General Manager at Crab House, responded to this review

77jms, we're disappointed to see the type of experience you had during your past visit to our restaurant. We're very aware about how important it is to have personal belongings respected. For that, we apologize about the incident that had occurred with your handbag and your coat. We never want any of type of rude behavior from our stuff. This... More 

Travelers who viewed Crab House also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 203 C Pier 39, San Francisco, CA 94133
  • Public Transportation: F-Line & #15
  • Location: United States  >  California (CA)  >  San Francisco>  > Fisherman’s Wharf
  • Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
  • Phone Number: +1 415-434-2722

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 25 - 100
  • Cuisine: Seafood, Soups

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Casual Dining
  • Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view

Description

Great view & SF's famous Dungeness Crab served in seriously addictive garlic sauce make us the go to spot on scenic Pier 39 for casual dining.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Crab House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Fisherman’s Wharf

Neighborhood Profile
Fisherman’s Wharf
Packed with family-friendly entertainment, quality hotels, and good food, there's something for everyone at Fisherman's Wharf. From street performers and historic cable cars to art galleries and museums, a postcard-worthy photo is available on every corner. Bring your appetite: seafood lovers will be rewarded with Dungeness crab and sourdough bread bowls, while Ghirardelli Square will satiate anyone's sweet tooth after a day at Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge. Don't forget to say hello to the adorable sea lions that make this neighborhood a true San Francisco treat.
Explore this neighborhood