We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Looking Glass

20 Highbrook Road, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
(207) 288-5663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 120 restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    98
    41
    21
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 NEW

I have had breakfast at The Looking Glass and it has always been fantastic. This time, we also had dinner, which was equally fantastic. I always look forward to visiting The Looking Glass!

Was this review helpful? Yes
East Hampton, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 NEW

As we both love to cook at home, we have a critical palate. The Looking Glass most definitely pleased our palate and made our dining experience most memorable. The veal chop with fennel and Pernod was superb, as was the chicken breast stuffed with spinach and cheese. Our only regret was that we decided to split the limoncello cake. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

See my full review under the Bluenose Inn. This restaurant is geared toward tour bus companies. We had bad service inedible appetizers and the worst lobster in Maine. We could not eat the food and left.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hospitality04609, General Manager at The Looking Glass, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your dinner at the Looking Glass restaurant. I must clarify a few points. We do accept a very limited amount of tour groups in as they are hotel guests as well. We have not however become a tour bus restaurant. I am extremely disappointed that we did not meet your expectations regarding the service... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We ate there many times in the past, I don't know why we keep going back to such a lousy restaurant. We did give up going there for dinner. Breakfast used to be fair, and it was close to where we stayed. Service is terrible. When you hire different people every year and they seem to have no experience you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hospitality04609, General Manager at The Looking Glass, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your dining experience at the Looking Glass Restaurant. I deeply apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Regarding staffing, in a seasonal resort community, high turnover is the norm. I do not know of any restaurant on the island that has the same staff return every year. To hopefully give us another chance,... More

Stephen city
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

I ate here for breakfast on July2 and was not impress the waitress was not very good. We had to wait long before service . Then the people serving were very pushy and rush us out the door. On July 4 we went for dinner and it seem better with service but the lobster roll was bland to me and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hospitality04609, General Manager at The Looking Glass, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Looking Glass Restaurant. I deeply apologize for the problems you encountered. As we pride ourselves in excellent customer service, obviously we did not perform as expected on the days you dined with us. There are no excuses offered as rudeness is never acceptable and we would never wish to... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Love this restaurant. Great views and great food but not cheap. We ate here both mornings and got a little smarter in ordering the 2nd day and our bill was $20 cheaper. We did not leave hungry either day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
hospitality04609, General Manager at The Looking Glass, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your dining experience in The Looking Glass restaurant. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the views as well as the food. Regarding pricing, we are not cheap but are comparable to other higher end properties on the island. When your travel plans bring you back to Bar Harbor, please keep us in mind... More

Gainesville, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My husband and I have been to the Bluenose Inn and Looking Glass Restaurant multiple times over the last few years. We had a 40th Anniversary celebration here with 65 relatives from around the world attending in 2013 and are back in 2014. Not only is the service top notch, but the food is what I would consider 5 star.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hospitality04609, General Manager at The Looking Glass, responded to this review

Thank you for your outstanding comments regarding the Looking Glass Restaurant. So thrilled that you were able to return this year after such a special celebration last year. Your comments about the food, the service and the views will certainly be conveyed to my staff. We look forward to a return visit from you in the future. Sincerely, Jim Ash... More

Center Ossipee, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This restaurant is a little out of the way, but easy to find and well worth the trip. Prices are a little high, but portion size makes up for it. We always stop here for breakfast at least three times every trip to Bar harbor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hospitality04609, General Manager at The Looking Glass, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent dining experience for breakfast at our Looking Glass restaurant. I particularly was impressed by the fact that you always stop in for breakfast with us at least 3 times every trip to Bar Harbor. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to serving you in the near future. Sincerely, Jim... More

Alachua
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Excellent views and yummy breakfast reasonably priced! Servers were very friendly but got a bit busy and we were left sitting for a bit. It was ok though as the view was worth the wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hospitality04609, General Manager at The Looking Glass, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to our Looking Glass restaurant. I am extremely pleased that you found the food and the views to your liking and even more so that you found the staff very friendly. Sorry you had to wait for awhile. We hope to see you again in the future. Jim Ash G.M./Co-Owner More

Springdale, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Although this restaurant has the view it is more like an open room with no appeal. The wait staff was fine but the food has a very heavy cream style sauce that takes away from the flavor of the food. I had the seafood medley but all I could taste was the sauce. Pricing was okay but won't go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hospitality04609, General Manager at The Looking Glass, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to our Looking Glass restaurant. While I appreciate that you enjoyed the view I am disappointed that the dinner was not up to your expectations and for this I deeply apologize. Should your travel bring you back to Bar Harbor, dinner is on me as we would like you to give... More

Travelers who viewed The Looking Glass also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to The Looking Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Looking Glass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing