We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Portofino

$$$$
Italian, Seafood, Hawaiian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
3481 Hoolaulea Way, Kauai Marriott, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Marriott Way)
18082452121
Website
Improve this listing
Today
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: True Italian fare, but also specializing in Seafood and Steaks! Cafe...
True Italian fare, but also specializing in Seafood and Steaks! Cafe Portofino overlooking the Pacific Ocean near the Marriott hotel has been called "A honeymoon destination' by Martha Stewart, and 'one of the top 10!' by Gourmet Magazine. Please come and enjoy the gentle tradewinds and enjoy a classic dining experience.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 508 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 185
    Excellent
  • 111
    Very good
  • 91
    Average
  • 69
    Poor
  • 52
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
A very good Italian dinner and a nice break from locomoco, fish, and kahlua pig

When I visit Hawaii I have a habit of wanting to eat local and seafood. After a few days of great local Ono, Ahi, Monchong, pulled pork, 2 scoops, mac salad etc., I feel the need for to reset - Café Portofina worked out well. Service from Helena was great and I appreciated her polite jovial... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 15, 2015
Jack F
,
San Francisco, California
Good for:
  • Romantic
Add Photo Write a Review

508 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

Arrived and were seated almost oceanside but the garbage dumpsters must have been nearby because we got occasional unpleasant whiffs. Our waitress was obviously high on something: couldn't remember the specials, forgot what our drinks were and then spilled the entire tray on the floor - broken glass everywhere. After she was dismissed Diane took over and service was great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CafePortofino, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Portofino, responded to this review

We are very apologetic your evening was not how it should have been. We strive for a peaceful, soothing environment. After questioning the server you were originally assigned, management discovered she had been given some news that day that had her very upset. She was sent home to recover emotionally for a few days. Please know this is not how... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

When I visit Hawaii I have a habit of wanting to eat local and seafood. After a few days of great local Ono, Ahi, Monchong, pulled pork, 2 scoops, mac salad etc., I feel the need for to reset - Café Portofina worked out well. Service from Helena was great and I appreciated her polite jovial manner and her tendency... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CafePortofino, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Portofino, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review. It is greatly appreciated. We use reviews such as yours to learn from and strive to improve. Mahalo! More 

Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

I am usually not critical of restaurants, but I wanted to write a review to let people know what a let down this restaurant was. This place feels like it's trying too hard to be fancy, and the food had no taste, seriously, I'm not kidding. I was very disappointed, especially for how expensive this place was. I guess if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CafePortofino, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Portofino, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were not impressed with our food or ambiance. At Café Portofino, we are not trying to be "fancy", we only try to be "authentic" with our Italian Cuisine, and have a nice, soothing atmosphere where locals and tourists can sit on the bay, listen to the soothing sounds of the harp,... More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

Cafe Portofino has long been a favorite of ours. It is now adjacent to Dukes and the Marriott Beach Resort and once was located across the street in the Harbor Mall. The food is outstanding. We always ask for Diane to wait on us. She provides the best customer service with a most beautiful smile!. We enjoy the live harp... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CafePortofino, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Portofino, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take pride in our service, music, and hands on approach to customer service. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip! Mahalo More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

The food here was good but for the price the portion size and quality was not what I would expect. We liked what we had but felt that for the $30 they were charging for pasta dishes they could have been more substantial. The service was slow which is to be expected when the waiters are expected to bus tables... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CafePortofino, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Portofino, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were not completely pleased with your experience at Café Portofino. We strive for excellence and use reviews to improve. Mahalo More 

Monroe, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

Went to Portofino, which is connected to the Marriott Resort. Nice Italian atmosphere, live music, great spot directly on the beach. We only ordered salads the night we went but they were some of the best salads we have had. Spinach with portobello mushroom, toasted almonds, Gorgonzola cheese, grilled chicken, lightly sweet balsamic dressing. Everyone around us with full dinners... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CafePortofino, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Portofino, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience at Café Portofino. Please come again. More 

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

I went to Cafe Portofino based on a reccomendation from a friend, but no good food is worth the horrible service and arrogance of the staff. The manager first looked at his empty restaurant to "see" if he could seat us without a reservation. We then waited for no reason while he waited to seat us so that he would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CafePortofino, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Portofino, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are apologetic you did not enjoy your dining experience. Although the seating may have appeared "empty" upon your arrival, we frequently have time slots that are completely full due to reservations. What appeared as the host looking for a place to seat you in an empty seating area was actually a place to seat... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

We ate here the last night of our trip and wish we would found this place sooner! Truly authentic Italian food with the best service on the island! KoKo was our waitress and she was so warm and charming and she truly made our dining experience memorable! The food was delicious with large portions. They also have the most amazing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CafePortofino, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Portofino, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your evening. Jovani the harpist is truly a gem, and we consistently get compliments on him. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Kauai. More 

Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

The Italian food is so good. Being in Hawaii I didn't think they would have good Italian food but I was pleasantly surprised. I had the Bolognese sauce with fresh made pasta. Defiantly worth going to

Was this review helpful? Yes
CafePortofino, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Portofino, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take pride in our authentic Italian cuisine, and we are glad you enjoyed it. Mahalo More 

Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

Although very busy, we were seated right at the time of our reservation (having a reservation is highly recommended). Our table had a great view of beach. The prices are a bit high, but the food quality was excellent, the saying 'pay for what you get' clearly fits here. This is our fourth trip to Kauai and second time eating... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CafePortofino, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Portofino, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your dining experience. We continuously strive for excellence, both in food and ambiance. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Kauai. More 

Travelers who viewed Cafe Portofino also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 3481 Hoolaulea Way, Kauai Marriott, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
    (Marriott Way)
  • Location: United States  >  Hawaii (HI)  >  Kauai  >  Lihue
  • Phone Number: 18082452121

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 12 - 100
  • Cuisine: Italian, Seafood, Hawaiian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Casual Elegant
  • Good for: Romantic

Description

True Italian fare, but also specializing in Seafood and Steaks! Cafe Portofino overlooking the Pacific Ocean near the Marriott hotel has been called "A honeymoon destination' by Martha Stewart, and 'one of the top 10!' by Gourmet Magazine. Please come and enjoy the gentle tradewinds and enjoy a classic dining experience.
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Cafe Portofino and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Cafe Portofino staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?