We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Portofino

$$$$
Italian, Seafood, Hawaiian
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
3481 Hoolaulea Way, Kauai Marriott, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Marriott Way)
18082452121
Website
Today
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: True Italian fare, but also specializing in Seafood and Steaks! Cafe...
True Italian fare, but also specializing in Seafood and Steaks! Cafe Portofino overlooking the Pacific Ocean near the Marriott hotel has been called "A honeymoon destination' by Martha Stewart, and 'one of the top 10!' by Gourmet Magazine. Please come and enjoy the gentle tradewinds and enjoy a classic dining experience.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 493 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 179
    Excellent
  • 107
    Very good
  • 89
    Average
  • 67
    Poor
  • 51
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Good food, but poor service

We arrived with 4 adults and 3 children. We received our wine, but the waiter never asked the children if they wanted anything to drink (soda, juice, etc). Then we had our appetizers (calamari, brushetta) all were good. The children's meals were good, basically 1/2 an order of most things on the... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed July 16, 2015
noelle1156
,
New York
Good for:
  • Romantic
Add Photo Write a Review

493 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015 NEW

We visited Cafe Portofino 2 years ago so we thought we would give it another try on our most recent visit to Kauai. Last time the food was pretty good but the service was awful. One thing about this restaurant is they are consistent. The was good again, not great but decent. We went back because it was convenient to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cafeportofino, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Portofino, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you found our service to be lacking. We try to extend our warmest welcome to all our guests and we regret you found us lacking. We wish you all the best! More 

Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015 NEW

Great Italian food and my service was EXCELLENT. Good choice of wine and entrees . Loved the harpsichord during dinner. Great view of beach. Giseppi the owner , is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
cafeportofino, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Portofino, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal and the view. We wish you all the best! More 

Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015 NEW

Phony, pretentious, poor service, a harp player who drowned out all conversation, unacceptable food, a linguine carbonara that was more like bad Alfredo. This place is wierdly bad and wildly overpriced. What is it doing here and how does it survive?

Was this review helpful? Yes
cafeportofino, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Portofino, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We appreciate each and every review and use them to constantly try to improve. We are sorry you did not enjoy your meal, nor the soothing sounds of Jovani's harp. We have people consistently compliment Jovani, so it is very surprising to us you found it to loud for... More 

Kapaa, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

I'm not one to relay info on food but I must say, as a Captain who has fished around the world, eaten around the world, I've dined in the best of the best, and to eat at Cafe Portofino every time I'm on Kauai is just the best, I have eaten there over 50 times and every time not one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cafeportofino, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Portofino, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We appreciate any and all feedback. We are glad you have always enjoyed your experiences with us. We try to give every guest a 5 star experience. Aloha! More 

Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

Seven adults, with four children. Well north of $400 with the mandatory gratuity. Reviewers speak of the view! Of course, its on the ocean. Might as well get pasta and a couple of bottles of wine from the local grocer, sit on the beach in front of the restaurant, and save $350! You won't have to put up with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cafeportofino, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Portofino, responded to this review

We are sorry you were disappointed in your dining experience at Cafe Portofino. We continuously strive to maintain competitive prices, while maintaining our goal of an excellent dining experience which includes the soothing sounds of Jovani's harp, the beautiful view of Kalapaki bay, and authentic Italian cuisine. As you know, Hawaii's higher than average prices are driven by the cost... More 

New York
Level Contributor
176 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

We arrived with 4 adults and 3 children. We received our wine, but the waiter never asked the children if they wanted anything to drink (soda, juice, etc). Then we had our appetizers (calamari, brushetta) all were good. The children's meals were good, basically 1/2 an order of most things on the menu. They were good with changing sauces for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cafeportofino, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Portofino, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed the food and regret that you found our service lacking. We are constantly striving to do better and provide our guests an unforgettable dining experience. We hope that you give us the opportunity to provide you with superb service in the future. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I have eaten at Cafe Portifino every year that we come to Kauai for over 10 years. We have always found the service to be mixed, but we found be server is consistently excellent. I called in advance and asked one of the owners to arrange our preferred server including my flexibility for time to be seated.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
cafeportofino, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Portofino, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. The server in question requested you be seated in another section due to your appearing inebriated. The host graciously attempted to seat you in a section with another superb server. At this time, quite a scene was caused prompting us to be on standby to call security. As you stated... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

How anyone could complain about this place is beyond me. My guest and I had an absolutely wonderful meal on the last night of our vacation here, and I could not recommend it highly enough! Scrumptious local fresh-catch in a creamy pan sauce for me, light tomato linguini with mussels for her, and a bottle of wine, slice of tiramisu,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cafeportofino, Owner at Cafe Portofino, responded to this review

Grazie!! We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Café Portofino, come see us again soon! More 

Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

We had high expectations for this restaurant but alas, we were disappointed. Although the location is nice - right on the beach - the food leaves a lot to be desired. My wife and I both ordered the special, which was a seafood linguini. The portions were small and the dish lacked flavor. But the worst part about it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cafeportofino, Owner at Cafe Portofino, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we appreciate your feedback. Our seafood linguini is a popular special and very well liked. We are aware that many visitor to the island are taken aback at prices here on Kauai. Since everything is shipped to the island of course their is an added expense to doing business, which... More 

Zushi, Japan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Cafe Portofino is another "Must Do" while on Kauai!! The owner is a little pretentious, but his attention to detail, service, and quality of food is probably the best on the island! I know most don't come to Kauai for Italian food, but this is very good! Their seafood entrees are top notch, as well as their traditional Italian fare.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cafeportofino, Owner at Cafe Portofino, responded to this review

Grazie!! We appreciate your review and thank you for your kind words. We hope you enjoyed your stay on Kauai and you come visit us again some day! We wish you all the best from our family to yours! More 

Travelers who viewed Cafe Portofino also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe Portofino

Address: 3481 Hoolaulea Way, Kauai Marriott, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number: 18082452121
Location: United States  >  Hawaii (HI)  >  Kauai  >  Lihue
Open Hours:
Sunday 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Monday 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Tuesday 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Average Prices: USD 12 - 100
Cuisine: Italian, Seafood, Hawaiian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 3481 Hoolaulea Way, Kauai Marriott, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
    (Marriott Way)
  • Location: United States  >  Hawaii (HI)  >  Kauai  >  Lihue
  • Phone Number: 18082452121

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 12 - 100
  • Cuisine: Italian, Seafood, Hawaiian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Casual Elegant
  • Good for: Romantic

Description

True Italian fare, but also specializing in Seafood and Steaks! Cafe Portofino overlooking the Pacific Ocean near the Marriott hotel has been called "A honeymoon destination' by Martha Stewart, and 'one of the top 10!' by Gourmet Magazine. Please come and enjoy the gentle tradewinds and enjoy a classic dining experience.
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Cafe Portofino and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cafe Portofino staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?