We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 35 Hanalei Restaurants

Bouchons

5-5190 Kuhio Hwy., Hanalei, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
808 826 9701
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 35 Restaurants in Hanalei
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Our relaxed and spacious second story, open-air restaurant has a great ambiance and best picture taking views of Hanalei's mountains and waterfalls. Visitors and locals come time and time again for Bouchon's Pacific-American menu that's filled with a great selection of fresh homemade pupus, local caught seafood, teriyaki chicken, ribs and a premier sushi bar second to none. The famous Copper Bar serves up everything from soft drinks to Saki, including our very popular Mai-Tai. Located in the heart of Hanalei, we have the perfect gathering place to enjoy with family and friends.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    143
    94
    50
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
412 reviews 412 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014 NEW

This place is located inside the Ching Young Village shopping complex. I thought it was a French bistro when I saw the name. It turns out to be a bit of everything. When I asked the serving staff why does this place has a French name, no one seems to have a clue.... It is a bar, and it serves... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014 NEW

We stop there for lunch after our morning hike on the Kalalau Trail. Great view, and our food was good... only thing no LongBoard Lager :(

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014 NEW

The view is wonderful and the atmosphere is great, but we had the clam chowder soup and it was barely edible. Unfortunately, we didn't eat anything else to be able to say I liked or disliked this restaurant, but would not go back based on this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014 NEW

We had spent the whole day in the area, so we ended up very hungry in Hanalei and it started raining. Without much time to think about we just saw the Bouchons restaurant and decided to have dinner. The food was nice, the location itself not too bad and the view entertaining as we got a table at the window... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danville, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014 NEW

Not worth the money. Food is average and service is indifferent. Needs an upgrade to improve both the food selection and service; the decor is pretty tired, too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jedward84, Owner at Bouchons, responded to this review

When it comes to food, we prepare only the freshest dishes, and take pride in our service and the way we treat our guests. Not only that, but we have some of the best views of the surrounding scenery in the area. I wish that you would have experienced that when you came in, and I'm sorry that you weren't... More

Auckland, NZ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Service at Bouchons was prompt and friendly without being over-familiar, and our lunch was delicious. It was great to have a choice of vegetarian meals (a rarity in the US). Nice clean bathrooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jedward84, Owner at Bouchons, responded to this review

I'm happy to hear that you had such a delicious meal here with us and that our staff took such great care of you. I hope the rest of your trip was just as wonderful. Come back and see us on your next visit. Mahalo nui Loa! Edward Sclafani, Proprietor More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014 via mobile

Really wonderful experience here! The sushi was so fresh and absolutely delicious! The drink choices were great too! Loved the Mai Tai! Our waitress was the best! She was so sweet and really made our experience there wonderful! We enjoyed our meal so much that we came back for a 2nd dinner on our trip! Of course we requested to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jedward84, Owner at Bouchons, responded to this review

I'm glad that Estrella took such great care of you! It sounds like you really loved everything, from the drinks to the sushi, which is exactly what we like to hear. Come back anytime you're ready for a third dinner with us. Mahalo nui Loa! Edward Sclafani, Proprietor More

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Our server was not friendly at all. Got our appetizers at the same time as our dinner. Husband's order wasn't right and after waiting, our server blamed it on "her busser" and it still wasn't corrected. If she concentrated on our service as much as she did texting on her phone it may have been better. Really disappointed and will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jedward84, Owner at Bouchons, responded to this review

I'm sorry if you experienced anything less than friendly and attentive service when you were here, Lrhamon. We always want our guests to feel welcome, and a negative experience like yours can really ruin a meal, no matter how delicious it is. I'll definitely be looking into this issue. We hope you'll give us a second chance sometime to prove... More

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Upstairs on main shopping strip & nice view to set by. Burger too large to eat....had to use knife & fork. My husband opted for steak & was happy. Service a little slow considering it wasn't busy but, hey, this is Hawaii :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Las Vegas, NV
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

We stopped for lunch on a day when the trade winds did not blow which made for a very uncomfortable meal. It was very noisy mainly caused by one patron at the bar. The meal was delivered quickly but it was just OK.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Bouchons also viewed

 

Been to Bouchons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing