We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5-5190 Kuhio Hwy., Hanalei, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
808 826 9701
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 37 Restaurants in Hanalei
Price range: $9 - $30
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Our relaxed and spacious second story, open-air restaurant has a great ambiance and best picture taking views of Hanalei's mountains and waterfalls. Visitors and locals come time and time again for Bouchon's Pacific-American menu that's filled with a great selection of fresh homemade pupus, local caught seafood, teriyaki chicken, ribs and a premier sushi bar second to none. The famous Copper Bar serves up everything from soft drinks to Saki, including our very popular Mai-Tai. Located in the heart of Hanalei, we have the perfect gathering place to enjoy with family and friends.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    148
    98
    53
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014 NEW

Dinner at 8pm because we made reservations late, but when we got there the restaurant looked half-empty so didnt really need the reservation. Yelp said this place was $$ but it was definetly $$$. Also, they ran out of Ahi! How does a sushi restaurnt run out on the busy night of the year? (Christmas Eve) If you have the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014 NEW via mobile

A friend and I enjoyed a Sunday lunch at Bouchons. We both ordered their special, which that day was a taste of several things: one BBQ rib, one fish filet, one chicken filet, and one coconut shrimp. The rib was poor, but the other three items were all very delicious. The restaurant is located on the second floor of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014 via mobile

The rice was crunchy. California rolls were not ream crab meat, but was very hard and stringy. Spicy ahi and the Ono roll was alright. Very expensive place to eat. Staff was great, very friendly. But I will never eat there gain.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jedward84, Owner at Bouchons, responded to this review

While I'm glad the staff took such great care of you, I wish you'd had a better experience with our sushi. We use only the freshest ingredients in each of our rolls, and I'm sorry if that's not the impression you had. I'm confident that if you chose to return in the future, you wouldn't be disappointed. Mahalo nui Loa!... More 

Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Dropped in for a snack but just the bar was open. Juan Carlos served us up, chatted and made our stop great. Love the view, music and service!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stopped at Bouchons after a great time at the beach. We shared the crab cake appy and I was very surprised at how good it was. Lots of snow crab presented very well with a tropical fruit salsa. I had the fish tacos made with Ono. The fish was cooked very well but under seasoned, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

We had lunch here a couple of times, the staff were friendly, their lunch special gives you a great sampling of some of their menu items. The fish and chips were excellent, and the window seats are great if they are available. Seems to be a popular place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windermere, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

After a great morning boogy-boarding at Hanalei Bay we stopped for a light lunch at Bouchons. Servers were friendly and attentive and the food was very good. It wasn't until the next day that I realized my credit card was missing. After a panicked search in our unit I called the restaurant. They had it! I had to show ID... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newport Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Very nice spot upstairs looking at the town & mountains in background. Try the calamari - it's excellent. And after sampling Mai Tai's all over the island, their's ranks at the top. But the best part was the service - our waiter was Johnny-on-the-spot and then when we left our just-purchased gifts hanging on the back of our chair (the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jedward84, Owner at Bouchons, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your meal here, James. Calamari and Mai Tais are the way to go. Glad we could get you reunited with those purchases, too! Stop in next time you're in the area again and we'll be happy to have you. Mahalo nui Loa! Edward Sclafani, Proprietor More 

Honolulu
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

my friend and I had lunch here after spending over 4 days backpacking. Though we did "bathe" while camping, you could imagine what we looked (and smelled) like when rolling into town. The staff seated us (next to a window - we were not offended). The burger was quite good and cooked medium rare. Most places will pretend to accomodate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Livermore, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

we ate here because all the other restaurants in Hanalei had long waits and my daughter was hungry, after we ordered it took forever to get our food, another table had half their food arrive and by the time the time the rest of their food arrived the others had finished eating theirs!! I had lost my patience and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jedward84, Owner at Bouchons, responded to this review

Derek, I wish you'd had a better experience here. There's no excuse for inattentive service -- that really doesn't sound like us. As for the fish that your wife ordered, we want everything to be fresh and flavorful -- I'm sorry if that's not the impression she had. I'm sure if you ever decided to stop in again, we'd be... More 

Travelers who viewed Bouchons also viewed

 

Been to Bouchons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bouchons

Address: 5-5190 Kuhio Hwy., Hanalei, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
Phone Number: 808 826 9701
Location: United States  >  Hawaii (HI)  >  Kauai  >  Hanalei
Open Hours:
Sunday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 9 - 30
Cuisine: Sushi, Seafood, Pacific Rim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bouchons staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?