We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
102 E Grand Ave, Port Washington, WI 53074
+1 262-284-7200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Tue - Thu 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Beanies brings a little bit of Mexico to downtown Port Washington, WI. Our secret to success is simple: delicious, fresh Mexican food served in a fun and family-like atmosphere. We are known for our great salsa, GRANDE margaritas, and authentic Mexican cuisine. Come and swing at Beanies!
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Me and my girlfriend stopped in here when we were just browsing around downtown. We have heard good things about this place so we decided to try it and were not disappointed at all. The atmosphere is very nice inside, the staff were polite, and best of all the food was amazing. I went with a large burrito while my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia E, Owner at Beanies, responded to this review

Glad you and your girlfriend decided to drop in, James. Sounds like we knocked it out of the park for you, and it's great to know that you'll be back to visit us. Hope to see you soon, Marcia, Owner More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014 via mobile

Taco bell with margaritas? Bland food, tacky atmosphere, looks like Jimmy Buffet hangout. NOT even close to authentic cuisine, bad even for a place as far north as Port Wi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia E, Owner at Beanies, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience with us, Stephan. We try to give our customers an authentic Mexican meal, and it troubles me that you didn't feel you received that. I'll speak with my team to make sure they hear your review, and I know we'll be able to do a much better job the next time you... More 

Stafford, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

We ate outside in the evening and ordered a range of Tex Mex. Everyone enjoyed their food. The decor was fun. We will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia E, Owner at Beanies, responded to this review

Nothing like eating some Mexican food al fresco! Glad you all had a great time. Hope to see you soon! Best, Marcia, Owner More 

Wis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Having lived in Los Angeles for over 30 years I'm kinda particular about Mexican food. For novices this is a pass....barely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia E, Owner at Beanies, responded to this review

I'm disappointed that we couldn't do more to impress you. This isn't feedback we often receive, and I hope we'll get another chance in the future. Best, Marcia, Owner More 

Hillsborough, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

On a recent trip to Port Washington, we went looking for somewhere to eat. We walked the downtown streets looking for a restaurant that stuck out. There were lots of interesting places with names that gave no hint of what kind of food would be served. This was also one of those places. However, the smells wafting out of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia E, Owner at Beanies, responded to this review

Thanks for giving us a shot on your trip to Port Washington, Jackson! I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed our tamales. If you're ever in town again, we'd love to have you back! Best, Marcia, Owner More 

Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Its a great location, and the atmosphere is fun. The service is great, but the food is only okay. They use way too butter and not enough spice. If you like that, then this is your place, but i prefer the opposite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia E, Owner at Beanies, responded to this review

Sorry to hear the spice was off in the food you ordered. We always want to accommodate a guest, so let us know in the future if we can adjust something for you! Best, Marcia, Owner More 

Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

My wife and I have eaten at Beanies many times. We've never had a bad experience. It's a middle of the road Mexican restaurant. Nothing signature. Nothing awful. Medium prices. Tastes homemade. Fresh ingredients. What I like about the restaurant the most is that the quality is always consistent. I can take family there and I know that they'll enjoy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia E, Owner at Beanies, responded to this review

We're proud to be one of your go-to choices for dinner, Todd! I'm glad to hear you've enjoyed so many of our dishes. Looking forward to seeing you and your family again! Best, Marcia, Owner More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We stayed just down the block, and the menu in the room made Beanies look really good. Atmosphere was a very 'American' version of "Mexican". We found the prices rather high for the amount of food served. We were also very disappointed when told we could not order anything from the lunch menu at dinner time. Really? Lunch...Dinner...are the items... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia E, Owner at Beanies, responded to this review

Sorry to see we missed the mark for you. Like most restaurants, we simply have different items available at lunch and dinner, so I hope that won't sour your impression of us. We'd love another chance! Best, Marcia, Owner More 

Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stopped for a quick lunch. Friendly staff and just average food. Prices were fair and portions were good. Just nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia E, Owner at Beanies, responded to this review

I'm disappointed to see that your meal was just okay. We want to show you a 5-star experience every time! I hope you'll give us another chance to wow you in the future. Best, Marcia, Owner More 

Menominee, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

you can smell it as you walk toward -- delicious!! Not only do they sell cuts of meats, there was also home made sausages, snack sticks, and jerkies like my grandparents made. We made a trip back the next morning to get fresh jerky that was made in the brick smokehouse out back. All sorts of imported food and drinks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia E, Owner at Beanies, responded to this review

Hey, Cristy, I think you may have placed your review here for a different business, as we're a Mexican restaurant. That said, we'd love to have you over if you're ever in town again! Best, Marcia, Owner More 

Travelers who viewed Beanies also viewed

 

Been to Beanies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beanies

Address: 102 E Grand Ave, Port Washington, WI 53074
Phone Number: +1 262-284-7200
Location: United States  >  Wisconsin (WI)  >  Port Washington
Open Hours:
Sunday 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Tuesday 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Wednesday 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Beanies staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?