We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gondolier

820 S Central Ave, Marshfield, WI 54449
(715) 384-3705
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 61 Restaurants in Marshfield
Hours:
Sun - Sat 6:30 am - 9:00 pm
Cuisines: American, Italian
6 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    2
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dekalb,IL
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Only had breakfast at the restaurant, but all the meals I had were excellent. Cooked correctly, nice selection between omelets, skillets, pancakes etc. And of course the more healthy options as well. Worth the price

Was this review helpful? Yes
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Visiting town to visit friend, chose this place on a Friday evening because of convenient location. External appearance and décor: average. Service: slightly above average. Waitress seemed inexperienced. Menu has nice variety, though I fear they may be trying to do too much, Food quality was below average. The fish (baked whitefish) was tough. Calzone was doughy. Salad bar decent.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Medford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We went here for our anniversary, it was a week night about 5pm and the place was almost empty. We waited 5 to 7 min to be seated it then took another 40 minutes before our order was taken. The kitchen was fast with our food. That's about the only good part. The lettuce in the salad bar was turning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Breakfast is good. Lunch is terrible and dinner is extremely bad. their customer service is the only positive, besides that, I would not recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarshfieldHolidayInn, Manager at The Gondolier, responded to this review

I would really like a chance to discuss the issues that you may have had. It would be helpful if you would like, to have you contact me directly at the restaurant so I can address this for you. I am happy to hear that you received good customer service. I would however like to hear about the issues you... More

Branson, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

I went to the Gondolier because we were staying at the Holiday Inn. Sat in their bar and had a couple beers. The menu didn't have much in the steak department so I asked the gal behind the bar where to get a good steak. She asked me to hold on just a moment and came back with the Manager,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarshfieldHolidayInn, Manager at The Gondolier, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your steak and service. We appreciate you giving us a chance to make that happen for you. It is always nice to accommodate special requests. We look forward to seeing you again, Chris - Food and Beverage Director More

Marshfield, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Fish fry was slimy, greasy, and just plain gross, salad bar was nearly empty with lettuce that was turning brown, waitress didn't know what kind of fish the fish fry was. My friend chose a pasta dish which she was satisfied with however I will not be returning anytime soon, especially for the fish!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarshfieldHolidayInn, Manager at The Gondolier, responded to this review

It is quite unusual for people to not like our fish. If you would stop in to see me, I would gladly make this right for you. I would like to discuss this further if you would allow me to. The girl who waited on you had only been on her own for 3 days. She was trying to learn... More

Milton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was the second time we tried the Gondolier for breakfast - it seems they do not have enough staff to take care of the customers. The first time the food was good but they gave me the wrong order. The second time there were so many tables with dirty dishes not cleared, we had to wait to be seated,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarshfieldHolidayInn, Manager at The Gondolier, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are in process of training new staff members so we do not have these issues in the future. I do hope you take the time to try us again. Thank you, Chris - Food and Beverage Director More

Marshfield, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Took us 10 minutes to get seated, it shouldn't have been that hard there was only one other table. Another 10 minutes before our server showed up. The menu sounds very good but the food is terrible. The server only came back to bring the check never asked how things were. The rest of the staff appeared to be in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Last time we ate here, was on a weekday,and we had selections from the Italian menu. As it was Friday , (and in Wisconsin, Friday means fish fry), we tried their ride fish. Now, on the menu, it said one huge piece of fish, or two huge pieces of fish, we thought, right,,huge by whose standards, but,let me tell ya... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had the breakfast buffet here one morning. Although we got there right after the buffet opened, the food was already cold. I don't think it would have been good if it was hot either. Even my teenage son who eats anything complained that it was bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarshfieldHolidayInn, Manager at The Gondolier, responded to this review

Jennifer, I do apologize for your experience here at the Gondolier. Since your visit in august I have hired new staff and retained the staff of that time of employment. Since then the food is made in smaller portions, refreshed more often and is always hot. If you are in the area again, please give our restaurant another try to... More

Travelers who viewed The Gondolier also viewed

 

Been to The Gondolier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gondolier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing