We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wally's House of Embers

935 Wisconsin Dells Parkway, Highway 12, Lake Delton, WI 53940
608-253-6411
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 26 Restaurants in Lake Delton
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Welcome to House Of Embers, the best food place in Wisconsin Dells, WI! Come join us for a glass of fine wine and appetizer in the lounge by the fireplace. Enjoy the Dells most unique fine dining experience in our main dining room or in a private romantic area for two. Enjoy our outdoor dining and lounge in the Summertime.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    78
    47
    36
    27
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Shared what was supposed to be a 12 oz ribeye with my wife. Appeared to be more than that but, but I forced my self to finish it. Great flavor! Service was great! Thakyou Kathryn! Would defenitely recommend the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This is one of our favorite restaurants in the Dells. We love everything about it. Every time we have eaten here, it has been a wonderful experience. The service is great, the food is always good and whether dining inside for a romantic dinner, out on the patio, having drinks and appetizers at the tiki bar, or indoors at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed dinner with my mother about 2-3 weeks ago on a Friday Night. The restaurant itself has a neat decor, reminiscent of various films shown on Turner Classic Movie. As you walk through the restaurant, you feel as though you travel through time. My family and I ordered the Beer Battered Cod. We also had the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We chose to try this establishment because of the coupon from our resort, and the fact that the sign out front advertised a children's menu. We figured it'd be a nicer place to take our children. It wasn't. The waiter was ok, didn't speak very clear English, but was friendly enough. After ordering, my husband took our sons to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeanmgt, Manager at Wally's House of Embers, responded to this review

Dear Isaiah, Sorry that you were unable to enjoy a great dining experience at the House of Embers due to the wallpaper in the men's room. This establishment has been serving families since 1959 and is a family owned restaurant. The former owner was fascinated with French impresionism form of art. This wallpaper is an expression of that art which... More

Townsend, TN, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The restaurant staff was friendly and helpful. The food was fantastic and not at all overpriced. This was a spontaneous stop and well worth it. Nice fine dining atmosphere and family friendly too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

...to fine dining in the 70's. Yes, it was overpriced, but everything is in the Dells. The Chicken Piccata was good, as were the ribs ordered by others in our group. Our server was terrific and we can hardly wait to go back next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I'm not sure about all of these other reviews but every time we come to the house of embers the service is fantastic! Food is a little higher priced but worth every penny! Keep it up guys!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had a nice dinner at House of Embers. I am glad I did NOT read the reviews before going for dinner with my wife. We were in town for a sports event for our boys and dropped them at another establishment. The wife suggested "Let's do something Dellsy" So as we were driving thru the craziness of the Dells... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My group (my wife and I and another married couple with two children) chose this because our hotel included a coupon for it, and because it seemed to be slightly fancier than most other places we'd come across. Nearly from the beginning, it was disappointing. Our server initially indicated that one of the kids' drinks (a Shirley Temple) would be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeanmgt, Manager at Wally's House of Embers, responded to this review

Thank you for coming to the House of Embers. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your service. Yes ,we do have some young staff working for us however, your waiter is a college graduate and is now working on his masters degree in teaching. I was the manager on duty that evening and no one from your table... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

It's a tourist town, so don't expect anything special or service beyond what one would give a tourist they'll never see again. Food was fairly good—not exceptional, but server claimed to know the ingredients of a topping for the fish and it turned out to contain much more, including items I'm allergic to. I couldn't complain, though, because no one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeanmgt, Manager at Wally's House of Embers, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting House of Embers on your recent vist to the Dells. We are sorry that the service at House of Embers did not live up to your expectations. We will continue to work with our staff at the training meetings to provide better service. We are sorry that you were disappointed in your desserts that evening. All... More

Travelers who viewed Wally's House of Embers also viewed

 

Been to Wally's House of Embers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wally's House of Embers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing