We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wally's House of Embers

935 Dells Parkway, Highway 12, Lake Delton, WI 53940
608-253-6411
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 25 restaurants in Lake Delton
Cuisines: American
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    73
    46
    36
    27
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had a nice dinner at House of Embers. I am glad I did NOT read the reviews before going for dinner with my wife. We were in town for a sports event for our boys and dropped them at another establishment. The wife suggested "Let's do something Dellsy" So as we were driving thru the craziness of the Dells... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My group (my wife and I and another married couple with two children) chose this because our hotel included a coupon for it, and because it seemed to be slightly fancier than most other places we'd come across. Nearly from the beginning, it was disappointing. Our server initially indicated that one of the kids' drinks (a Shirley Temple) would be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeanmgt, Manager at Wally's House of Embers, responded to this review

Thank you for coming to the House of Embers. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your service. Yes ,we do have some young staff working for us however, your waiter is a college graduate and is now working on his masters degree in teaching. I was the manager on duty that evening and no one from your table... More

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

It's a tourist town, so don't expect anything special or service beyond what one would give a tourist they'll never see again. Food was fairly good—not exceptional, but server claimed to know the ingredients of a topping for the fish and it turned out to contain much more, including items I'm allergic to. I couldn't complain, though, because no one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeanmgt, Manager at Wally's House of Embers, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting House of Embers on your recent vist to the Dells. We are sorry that the service at House of Embers did not live up to your expectations. We will continue to work with our staff at the training meetings to provide better service. We are sorry that you were disappointed in your desserts that evening. All... More

Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were hoping to have a good meal. Although food was ok, service was terrible. I expect a complete package when dinning at higher priced places, and this was not. Will not be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We have been coming to the Dells for more than 30 years. Have eaten here every time and some times driven 3 hours just to go here. BUT NEVER AGAIN. WAITER CLAIMED IT HAD NOT BEEN SOLD, if it hasn't the current management should be ashamed compared to the past history of Wally's. It appears very cheap and run down.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debra C, Manager at Wally's House of Embers, responded to this review

The lady stated thet the steak was overcooked. Our chef made a mistake and we tyied to rectify our error. We offered her another steak immediately. She declined. We did not charge her for the steak, or any of her food. We offered a dessert. The other person's food was perfect. We apologized, but we are human. If mistakes happed... More

Ellettsville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Meal was good, service could have been better. Had a good steak, but overall thought every thing was over priced. I would try some other places before I ate there again.......

Was this review helpful? Yes
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

If you want GREAT food and GREAT prices, don't miss this place for happy hour. The appetizers are 1/2 priced and they don't skimp on the servings or selection. The black and bleu crostinis were so tasty. The tenderloin was tender and not overcooked. The blending of the bleu cheese and Balsamic Glaze was just right. The ribs were phenomenal!!!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I have been to the house of Embers for Mothers Day Brunch for the last 4 years. Each year it is a bit different. The staff are friendly and excellent in their service. I have also eaten here for Dinner as well. Some of the menu can be a bit more pricey but the food has always been good. This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

the things I didn't like were miniscule. There was a bachlorette and a prom party right next to each other and very near us. They were very loud and no one said anything to them about it. Also our table was quite large and there was only 2 of us. The food was very good and the waitress was attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Our experience was great from the start! Food was amazing and service was great. Bartender, Ian is very personable and professional! We ordered steak and lobster and the portions were very generous! We have a son so it was nice to feel like we were having a fine dining experience but kids were also very welcome! Well balanced restaurant!! Dessert... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Wally's House of Embers also viewed

 

Been to Wally's House of Embers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wally's House of Embers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing