We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Green Lake Restaurants

Boat House Pub

643 Illinois Avenue, Green Lake, WI
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 20 Restaurants in Green Lake
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details

Hotels travelers are raving about...

Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

There was almost 50/50 fat to meat and the sauce was far too sweet for my taste. Also, I selected the one and only drink available as the daily special. I heard other guests groan and leave because this was 11 am! There was a large wedding that day and guests who had checked in were looking forward to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott K, General Manager at Boat House Pub, responded to this review

I see you provided a review of both BoatHouse Pub and Heidel House Resort & Spa; thank you. We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. I am very sorry you were disappointed with your order of BBQ Sliders; your concerns are being addressed by our culinary team. If you’d like to discuss your BoatHouse Pub experience further, we... More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Don't bother with the chicken wings - they are more like nuggets and all breading - not real meat. They do have a fire pit outside with seating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott K, General Manager at Boat House Pub, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your order at the BoatHouse Pub. We pride ourselves in providing high quality dining service, so it is a disappointment to learn we fell short during your stay. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention, and hope you choose to return again to enjoy the lakeside fire pit. More 

Blue Island, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

The bar staff was awesome!!! The food was great too. Very relaxed environment, good music. This place was a lot of fun. The best part was the bond fire at night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott K, General Manager at Boat House Pub, responded to this review

Dear Racquel, I am delighted to hear your experience at BoatHouse Pub was a positive one. Thank you for writing a review. I hope you can return again to enjoy the good food and company. More 

Kenosha, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Greasy burger, roast beef sandwich with no taste. Only two other people there at the time. Waitress was also the bartender, her service was not bad but was slow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago burbs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Was looking forward to the lake perch fish fry dinner. But it was awful. Over cooked with to much batter. French fries tasted like they were fried twice. Service was poor. Ate at the bar and the bartender acted like we were an inconvenience. There were all of 8 people in the place on a Wed. Night. Only highlight were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott K, General Manager at Boat House Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for providing feedback of your recent visit to BoatHouse Pub. We are deeply sorry to hear your experience was unsatisfactory. Please know the fish fry you were served does not demonstrate the high culinary service our team strives for. Additionally, we deeply regret you did not receive friendly and top-notch service from the BoatHouse staff. We welcome you... More 

Apex, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Nice setting looking out at the water, but service was absolutely ridiculous. Was Labor Day weekend and several weddings going on, but they should have been prepared for that. Took an hour to get our food and it was just average when we got it. Some of it was cold.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We sat outside and the view was overlooking the lake...beautiful! I really enjoyed the fish tacos and cheese curds!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

In general the place had a weird feel to it even though the view was great. Outside seating may have been a better choice. A couple came in and sat at a table near us and got up and left. I wish we would have done the same. We didn't get what we asked for and was told they took... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geneva, IL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

While vacationing last week in Green Lake, we had a very pleasant experience at the Boathouse Pub at the Heidel House. It was a lovely evening, and they readily accommodated our large party on the patio overlooking Green Lake. Everyone from the youngest grandchild to grandma and grandpa enjoyed their meal. Lots of good choices for under $10.

Was this review helpful? Yes
neillsville
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just had lunch. My turkey bacon sandwich came without the turkey (I think there was also supposed to be avacodo on it). My husbands fries looked like they were barely cooked-soggy not crispy. While the waitress took my sandwich back and they put on some turkey,it was unimpressive for the price. Wouldn't bothet trying again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HeidelHouseGM, Manager at Boat House Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so sorry to hear about your unpleasant dining experience at the BoatHouse. This does not reflect the high level of service and food quality our team strives to provide for our guests. Please know these issues have been addressed to help prevent future occurrences. If you have additional feedback, our executive chef welcomes... More 

Travelers who viewed Boat House Pub also viewed

 

Been to Boat House Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boat House Pub

Address: 643 Illinois Avenue, Green Lake, WI
Location: United States  >  Wisconsin (WI)  >  Green Lake
Cuisine: American

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Boat House Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?