We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Boat House Pub

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
643 Illinois Avenue, Green Lake, WI
Add hours for Boat House Pub and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 36 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 8
    Excellent
  • 9
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Exactly what you'd expect from a resort pub

Food was good but not spectacular. Service was very friendly. Steph makes great martinis! Good value for good food.

3 of 5 starsReviewed March 9, 2015
Kathleen M
,
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, WI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

This place is definitely short staffed (at least it was when I was there Valentine's Day weekend). We ate here several times (and drank) (and played pool) and the same 2 women were working the whole pub each time we came. They were very attentive, friendly, and fun, but they were super busy so we waited for stuff. No big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott K, General Manager at Boat House Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this review. I apologize you felt you needed to wait at times and hope this did not prevent you from having a good time. As mentioned in our other responses, thank you for providing feedback on all of the resort’s dining outlets. Your comments and concerns are valuable as we work toward providing the best overall... More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Food was good but not spectacular. Service was very friendly. Steph makes great martinis! Good value for good food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott K, General Manager at Boat House Pub, responded to this review

Kathleen, I see you left reviews for the spa and Sunroom as well – thank you. We truly appreciate guest feedback, even if criticisms are noted, as this helps us in creating memorable Green Lake experiences for all our guests. I am glad you were able to enjoy a variety of the resort, and in this instance, a great martini!... More 

Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Save your money! This place is a waste of your time and money. The food was bad and the service even worse here. Our waitress informed us we would be waiting on our food due to a party of 30 that walked in and we told her no problem. The party was in another room but the main room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott K, General Manager at Boat House Pub, responded to this review

Dear Rick, Thank you for writing various reviews of the resort and its dining locations. Your feedback is very valuable to us. I am deeply sorry we did not meet your expectations during this particular dining experience. I can understand how it might be frustrating to see staff standing behind the bar as you wait on your meals. One of... More 

Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

reasonable price good food quick service everything esle there like the the people working there were a joke.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middleton, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Lots of locals gather here for a beer and a game of darts or to catch the game. The food was fast and good. But you had better like country music at loud volumes to eat here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

There was almost 50/50 fat to meat and the sauce was far too sweet for my taste. Also, I selected the one and only drink available as the daily special. I heard other guests groan and leave because this was 11 am! There was a large wedding that day and guests who had checked in were looking forward to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott K, General Manager at Boat House Pub, responded to this review

I see you provided a review of both BoatHouse Pub and Heidel House Resort & Spa; thank you. We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. I am very sorry you were disappointed with your order of BBQ Sliders; your concerns are being addressed by our culinary team. If you’d like to discuss your BoatHouse Pub experience further, we... More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Don't bother with the chicken wings - they are more like nuggets and all breading - not real meat. They do have a fire pit outside with seating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott K, General Manager at Boat House Pub, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your order at the BoatHouse Pub. We pride ourselves in providing high quality dining service, so it is a disappointment to learn we fell short during your stay. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention, and hope you choose to return again to enjoy the lakeside fire pit. More 

Blue Island, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

The bar staff was awesome!!! The food was great too. Very relaxed environment, good music. This place was a lot of fun. The best part was the bond fire at night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott K, General Manager at Boat House Pub, responded to this review

Dear Racquel, I am delighted to hear your experience at BoatHouse Pub was a positive one. Thank you for writing a review. I hope you can return again to enjoy the good food and company. More 

Kenosha, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Greasy burger, roast beef sandwich with no taste. Only two other people there at the time. Waitress was also the bartender, her service was not bad but was slow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago burbs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Was looking forward to the lake perch fish fry dinner. But it was awful. Over cooked with to much batter. French fries tasted like they were fried twice. Service was poor. Ate at the bar and the bartender acted like we were an inconvenience. There were all of 8 people in the place on a Wed. Night. Only highlight were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott K, General Manager at Boat House Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for providing feedback of your recent visit to BoatHouse Pub. We are deeply sorry to hear your experience was unsatisfactory. Please know the fish fry you were served does not demonstrate the high culinary service our team strives for. Additionally, we deeply regret you did not receive friendly and top-notch service from the BoatHouse staff. We welcome you... More 

Travelers who viewed Boat House Pub also viewed

 

Been to Boat House Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 643 Illinois Avenue, Green Lake, WI
  • Location: United States  >  Wisconsin (WI)  >  Green Lake

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: American

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Boat House Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?