We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waterfront

$$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
269 Fontana Blvd., Abbey Resort, Fontana, WI 53125 (Highway 67)
Today
11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 1:00 am
Dining options: Late Night
Good for:
Casual Dining

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 73 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 22
    Excellent
  • 28
    Very good
  • 12
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Friday Fish Fry

Absolutely delicious. We had beer battered walleye & cod, both great and we tried the broiled walleye as well. Homemade Apple sauce, cole slaw and hush puppies too. Exactly how we wanted it to taste

4 of 5 starsReviewed February 11, 2015
mmynatt
,
Yorkville, Illinois
Good for:
  • Casual Dining
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Absolutely delicious. We had beer battered walleye & cod, both great and we tried the broiled walleye as well. Homemade Apple sauce, cole slaw and hush puppies too. Exactly how we wanted it to taste

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

mmynatt Thank you for your review. The Wisconsin Fish Fry is a favorite for many and I delighted to read that you also enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Sara Schmitz Guest relations More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

My husband and I ate at The Waterfront Restaurant at The Abbey Resort this past Saturday, January 31. The food was ok. It wasn't anything that blew our socks off but it was decent. Unfortunately our service was a complete dissapointment. I would like to start by saying; my husband & I understand everyone has an off day every now... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Ann B, Thank you you for your review. I was very disappointed to read the level of service you experienced. Our management team has addressed this with the staff member you mentioned. We appreciate you sharing this information so that we may use it as a teaching opportunity. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We had breakfasts twice and the Saturday night buffet. Especially enjoy eating as many crab legs as we want-with the great drawn butter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Sailrlady Thank you for five-star review of 240 West. We appreciate you positive feedback and are delighted to read that you and your girlfriends had such an enjoyable time. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Sara Schmitz More 

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Menu is limited, but my selections were good, very pleasing. Service was good. We were seated and served in a timely manner. The atmosphere was quiet and relaxing overlooking the lake.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Monaco_12 Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive feedback regarding the food, service and atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Sara Schmitz Guest relations More 

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Loved the food and atmosphere. Waitress was a bit unfriendly. The salads are big, I recommend the apple, cranberry, pecan salad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Blkcamaro Thank you for your review. We appreciate you sharing your positive feedback about the food and atmosphere, and thank you for your salad recommendation! I was disappointed to read about your experience with your waitress. Please know that our management team is addressing your comment. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Kind regards, Sara Schmtiz More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

Service for the staff in this restaurant is like asking them for a massive favour. Forget going here if you are a vegetarian - there is NOTHING to eat. Just your basic, very basic, salad ie lettuce leaves. Stuck in 1950s Wisconsin food mentality

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Stolimonster Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read about the level of service you received. We are addressing this matter with our waitstaff as well as reviewing the menu to add more vegan and vegetarian options. Kind regards, Sara Schmitz Guest relations manager More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014 via mobile

Visited the Waterfront during our weekend stay at The Abbey. Our waitress was pleasant and friendly, but the food was just average and the drinks were terrible. I ordered 2 drinks from their specialty menu. The first was a strawberry cheesecake martini. Tasted like straight vodka. Bitter and sour. Not at all what I expected from the menu description. Next,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

lmmatthews, Thank you for your review. I appreciate you commenting on the friendliness of our staff. I am sorry to read that your cocktails were not as expected. We have discussed your comments with our bar staff so that we may exceed your expectations on future visits. Kind regards, Sara Schmitz Guest relations manager More 

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Nice selections off the menu or delicious buffet. We ate here for breakfast and dinner one day. Service was very accommodating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

1Lacrab Thank you for review of 240 West. The breakfast buffet definitely has something for everyone! We look forward to welcoming you back Kind regards, Sara Schmitz More 

Aurora, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Great seating overlooking the lawns, fall colors, and lake. The food and service were good. I would go back again sometime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Karyans, Thank you for your five-star review. The harbor view with the the beautiful fall colors is hard to beat! We look forward to welcoming you back ! Sara Schmitz Guest relations More 

Rancho Bernardo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Nice size with indoor and outdoor seating. Good casual food, especially the BBQ. Drinks are standard, but not expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

MChris 65- Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you again! Kind regards, Sara Schmitz More 

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront also viewed

 

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 269 Fontana Blvd., Abbey Resort, Fontana, WI 53125
    (Highway 67)
  • Location: United States  >  Wisconsin (WI)  >  Fontana

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 30 - 30
  • Cuisine: American

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Casual Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 1:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 1:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Waterfront staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?