We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harbor Fish Market and Grille

8080 State Highway 57, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202
920-839-9999
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
59 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    83
    44
    28
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baileys Harbor, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 NEW

Love to visit the Fish Market. Owners and staff are always welcoming. My favorite meals are breakfast (AM sun on the lake is gorgeous.) and lunch (some of the best soup ideas ever!). I'm not big on going out for evening meals. Try the French toast with cherries; it's a treat, especially outside on a sunny morning in summer. Also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We had been to the Harbor Fish Market a half dozen times and had a pleasant experience each time. This time, the waitress' behavior was nothing short of hostile. She even rolled her eyes at my wife when we requested a substitution. She was slow and the food was cold with one order incomplete. Too many other good options in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kohler, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My wife and I went in early November for dinner. We both mostly enjoyed our food, but the service was terrible. It took a long time to get our drinks and get a refill, when we received our food it was warm, on the verge of being cold. I had the crab legs, my wife had the lobster tail. Both... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Karen B, Owner at Harbor Fish Market and Grille, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for taking the time to write a review here. Yes, during the winter season we do staff a little differently -- and I am sorry that we were unable to serve you appropriately. It is a challenge for Door County restaurants to stay open in the winter and we have to make some staffing changes in order... More

Plover, WI
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The whole experience was overpriced. The food itself was overpriced. The service was overpriced. The best entree we had, I believe, was my prime rib. It was very good but the I had the smallest size and it was over $27. The sides were a baked potato, which costs a penny, and 7 stalks of asparagus. If you want other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Karen B, Owner at Harbor Fish Market and Grille, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for your experience the other day. The items you mention are not acceptable and I will checking on those and appreciate your input. If you could recall who your server was and any more details or would like to correspond with me personally, please write to me at berndt.karen@gmail.com. We have a great staff working with us... More

Galena, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

My family visited here for lunch. We loved the decor and that 'Door County restaurant feel'. We ordered the harbor chowder, and it was wonderful! Our entrees included an ahi tuna melt, lobster roll sandwich and the fish sandwich, all were great! Beer was served room temperature and was quite pricey (Stella @ $7.50 and a Fat Tire or Guiness... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karen B, Owner at Harbor Fish Market and Grille, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review! I was made aware of the problem with the beer keg/taps and we called the distributor right away. I was told about the problem with the beer temperature I am happy to report that they came right out and fixed the problem. So, cold beer is here! We hope to see you again soon! More

Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very nice dinner selection of seafood, well prepared and presented - scallops in blood orange reduction and blackened whitefish were delicious. Service was attentive but not intrusive. Lovely view of moonlit water in Bailey's Harbor. Building has an interesting history and character. They also do breakfast and lunch. We'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Karen B, Owner at Harbor Fish Market and Grille, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear that you'll be coming back! Reviews like yours are so important to us -- thank you so very much for taking the time to write one here! We sincerely look forward to seeing you again -- for breakfast, lunch and perhaps once again for dinner! More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wife had the Cherry Stuffed French Toast, and I had the Tower Of Power “Benedict”. Both dishes were excellent. The service (Mary) was the finest we've experienced in many many years. Great coffee. What else can one say? We'll definitely be back next time we hit Door County.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen B, Owner at Harbor Fish Market and Grille, responded to this review

Coffee and breakfast with a lovely Lake Michigan view. Yup, that's how we love to start the morning also! I will share your wonderful comments with Mary -- and thank you so very much for sharing them here! Hopefully, we will see you again soon! More

Conway, Arkansas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a very picturesque little town. reminds me of a fishing village in Maine. And they have amazing soups. We were a little disappointed with the lobster rolls. It is a cold lobster salad in toast. They said it is ordered a lot, but probably by people like us that have had Maine Lobster Rolls and then leave disappointed.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karen B, Owner at Harbor Fish Market and Grille, responded to this review

Hello there! Baileys Harbor is a very cool little town -- we agree! And we are so glad that you enjoyed our soups! It sounds like you are familiar with lobster rolls! We experimented quite a bit when we decided to serve lobster rolls. First of all we found that we had to prepare and bake our own traditional lobster... More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

First of all, we had a few drinks in the bar. You HAVE to try the Cherry Bounce! It's great and its been aging for 14 years! Ask Carl? to tell you his story about the Cherry Bounce! Once seating in the dining room we had the Maytag salad. I don't think salads get any better than this! Delish! I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen B, Owner at Harbor Fish Market and Grille, responded to this review

We loved reading your review! Thanks so much! Carl will be so happy to hear that you enjoyed his fabulous Cherry Bounce! As always, the support of our customers is hugely important and necessary to our business -- and we love the fact that you took the time to write a review here. Thank you! Please come and see us... More

Brookfield, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stop by to have lunch which we had done a few times before over the last year. They were very busy which we thought was great for their business until we got served. My wife asked for no extra seasoning or salt on her chicken salad. The item was the special for the day to be served on a piece... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Karen B, Owner at Harbor Fish Market and Grille, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here. It certainly does not sound like you had the type of experience we would want you to have and I apologize for the difficulty you encountered. I will find out who your server was and discuss how we could have better handled your concerns. Also, we don't use a... More

Travelers who viewed Harbor Fish Market and Grille also viewed

 
Baileys Harbor, Door County
Baileys Harbor, Door County
 

Been to Harbor Fish Market and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Fish Market and Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing