We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

la pausa - CLOSED

825 point brown ave, Ocean Shores, WA
Improve this listing
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cuisines: Greek
Most recent review
- Apr 8, 2014
Restaurant details

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    0
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moclips, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This restaurant is CLOSED. I am forced to rate to enter the information. It was OK when open, but is is CLOSED. The date is not correct, but am again forced to enter to try to get this information in and this updated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gig Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This is a new restaurant since the last time I lived here 15 years ago, so thought I'd try it for lunch. I ordered a small salad and a French Dip Sandwich. Salad arrived quickly and was good. French Dip arrive about the time I finished the salad. As I picked up the first half of the sandwich, there were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Molly H, Owner at la pausa, responded to this review

Sir, I remember you clearly as I was your waitress. Diet coke, small garden salad with no tomato, Thousand Island dressing. Our roast beef arrives completely cooked and we slice it ourselves, the juices you are referring to were due to it being simmered in the au jus prior to placing on the bun. It gives the meat more flavor... More

Puyallup, Washington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

Like another reviewer, we ordered the Moussaka. It was awful, and unlike any I have ever had before-just layers of recently warmed up veg and what seemed like spaghetti sauce, tossed into a sad little heap. I love this dish (which ia a Greek casserole that is topped with a béchamel sauce baked into yummy goodness), and it's not hard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Molly H, Owner at la pausa, responded to this review

I never received an email from you or I would have responded. Likely, the fireplace was not on because the heat generated in the kitchen makes it extremely hot and we do not routinely let the fireplace run as it heats the dining room up to the point of making it unbearable. Did you speak to your server about your... More

Bremerton, Washington
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We were so excited to see what appeared to be a new Greek Restaurant open up in Ocean Shores. We came to the restaurant in the early evening on a Friday. We ordered the signature Greek dish, Massaka. The waitress said that they don't have the ingredients on hand to make this dish. She said that if we wanted to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Molly H, Owner at la pausa, responded to this review

I am sorry you had a poor experience. I was your waitress that night and I would never tell a customer to order a dish in advance, that has never ocurred in my restaurant. Yes, there are times when we run out of ingredients for certain dishes, but I prefer to run out than to offer ingredients that are less... More

San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

This review based on one visit, with four people. The atmosphere is upscale casual. Dark woods and minty-greens. The place looks clean. About 14 tables, a little close together. The waitress sat us promptly, making no fuss about us being the last people in the restaurant, and that we arrived just at closing time. There was only one other group... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Molly H, Owner at la pausa, responded to this review

I am sorry for your poor experience and review. I was working that night and clearly remember your table. The menu did state that the stew had cinnamon (although that was not the reason given when the plate returned from the kitchen). But no matter, we have since removed it from the menu. I am sorry you are displeased with... More

Ocean Shores, Washington
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We dined at La Pausa for the first time to celebrate our anniversary.We were promtly greeted and my wife ordered a greek meal and I ordered my favorite test Italian meal...spagetti and meatballs. We also had an excellent bottle of Cab by Red Diamond..which we were able to take the remainder of what we did not drink home for onlly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Freeland, Washington
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Oh I am so excited to have 2 of my favorite foods in 1 place! Very friendly staff and so far I've only had the gyro (twice) it was excellent. I am looking forward to trying " All You Can Eat Spaghetti " on Wednesdays. The menu has a wide selection of both Greek and Italian items, reasonably priced. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed la pausa also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage la pausa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing