We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Saffron Indian Bistro

4532 Columbus St, Virginia Beach, VA 23462-6702 (Northwest Virginia Beach)
+1 757-644-6904
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #610 of 1,238 restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Northwest Virginia Beach
Description: The Best Indian Restaurant in Hampton Roads area.
Reserve with OpenTable
Saffron Indian Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    18
    17
    5
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

They put extra 18% tips even on already over prized buffet of 12 $,with least value of money for vegetarians..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edison, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We loved the restaurant, the food and the ambiance. Best part is it is 15 minutes away from VA beach so you can avoid the beach crowd. Liked the quality of food and spice levels. Will definitely recommend to my friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I admit after reading some of reviews, we were not sure what to expect. We found the service to be good, the food to be excellent, and the price reasonable. I'd eat there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Darshak P, Owner at Saffron Indian Bistro, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time out of your busy schedule and giving us 5 star. It means a lot to us and we are glad that you loved the food. We will pass on the compliments to the team and would love to keep improving and serving you in better ways. We strive to make each and every customer happy... More

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

food, over cooked... no smiles, no greetings, no communication, while I'm eating the server just puts the bill on my table. WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER EXPERIENCED, MANY OF MY FRIENDS ALSO COME HERE FOR LUNCH.... NEVER AGAIN.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darshak P, Owner at Saffron Indian Bistro, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time out of your busy schedule and reviewing us. Your opinion matters. We apologize that you did not like the food or service. We strive to make each and every customer happy and make their day. I am sorry that we were unable to do it for you. We will make sure it does not happen... More

Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

The food was okay but ther service was terrible. The staff lacked social skills and the ability to come back to our table to take our orders. They made us wait half an our even thou no one was there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darshak P, Owner at Saffron Indian Bistro, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time out of your busy schedule and reviewing us. It means a lot to us. We apologize that you did not like the service. We strive to make each and every customer happy and make their day. I am sorry that we were unable to do it for you. We will make sure it does not... More

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
477 helpful votes 477 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Pros: Great location in VB town center, close to a parking garage (watch out for construction as of March 2014), and spotless restrooms. My friend and I had the coconut shrimp curry, which was great, even the next day in the microwave. Even the tea was good. Cons: The owner was the hostess that night and instead of putting my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Darshak P, Owner at Saffron Indian Bistro, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time out of your busy schedule and reviewing us. It means a lot to us. We apologize that you did not like the service. If we have a booth, we would surely love to give you that. If its not available, please ask for availability to see if its possible to accommodate your request. Yes, our... More

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Saffron is one of those places I visit often. When craving for Indian cuisine, Saffron definitely answers that. Latest visit though was a so-so. The food is still definitely great. It was the service that was a downgrade. Several previous visits were exceptional but the last one, it was as if you don't feel the WELCOME you would expect. Good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darshak P, Owner at Saffron Indian Bistro, responded to this review

Thank You for reviewing us.It means a lot to us. Yes, our cuisine is always been loved for nice flavors and deliciousness with good portions. Mussels is one of the favorite appetizer for foodies. We apologize that you did not like the service. We strive to make each and every customer happy and make their day. I am sorry that... More

Portsmouth, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The food was good. The decor was very nice except for the tacky paper restroom sign taped to the tile wall. The service was horrible. We had to ask for drink refills. My date got one I never did. We will not go back the service was that bad. The server acted like he was doing us a favor by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darshak P, Owner at Saffron Indian Bistro, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time out of your busy schedule and reviewing us. It means a lot to us. We apologize that you did not like the service. We strive to make each and every customer happy and make their day. I am sorry that we were unable to do it for you. We will make sure it does not... More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My family decided to try this place out and invited some family to meet us there on a Sunday afternoon. We walked in and the rude host sat us at a small awkward table that sat 3 people and just walked away. One side of the booth was big enough for one person and the other side was a normal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darshak P, Owner at Saffron Indian Bistro, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time out of your busy schedule and reviewing us. We apologize that you had issues on your visit. We will review the incident and make sure that does not happen again. We strive to make each and every customer happy and make their day. I am sorry that we were unable to do it for you.... More

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Decided to take advantage during restaurant week, the place didn't seem to be that busy. We were seated right away; however, we reviewed the menus and sat them aside, so the waiter would know that we were ready to order. We stayed as long as we could, 18 minutes and no one showed to take our order, so we high... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Darshak P, Owner at Saffron Indian Bistro, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time out of your busy schedule and reviewing us. It means a lot to us. We apologize that you had to wait for the server. We will make sure it does not happen again and review the problems with it. We strive to make each and every customer happy and make their day. I am sorry... More

Travelers who viewed Saffron Indian Bistro also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Saffron Indian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron Indian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing