We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Blue

$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
64b Kerikeri Rd | Town centre, Kerikeri, New Zealand
09-407 5150
Add hours for Cafe Blue and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Friendly welcome awaits you in this bright and funky cafe Our own blend of...
Friendly welcome awaits you in this bright and funky cafe Our own blend of beans blended and roasted locally for a great coffee open 7 days aweek our Blueboard! menu is available all day or you can choose from the cabinets of home made goodies
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 28 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 11
    Excellent
  • 9
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Simple but nice

I had lunch here, it was nicely cooked, served with complimentary salad, and not too expensive. The coffee was hot and well made. For a quick, cheap lunch in clean , friendly premises, this is the place to go

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 17, 2015
honeyand123
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

I had lunch here, it was nicely cooked, served with complimentary salad, and not too expensive. The coffee was hot and well made. For a quick, cheap lunch in clean , friendly premises, this is the place to go

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

After a disappointing wait in another cafe we found this little gem just up the street. Fun clean relaxed decor. A great selection from the chiller and a great menu. I had a smoked salmon quiche which had a Qwerky chutney on the side. Baffled at why this place isn't rated much higher!! We have found a little gem :)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

Went to Cafe Blue for a morning drink, I ordered a milkshake and got a watered down flavorless lukewarm concoction. The barrister was unfriendly and couldn't even offer a smile, which is rather unfortunate. Overall the experience was average and I wouldn't go back as their service was average and the drink even more less appealing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We ordered the big breakfast to share with scrambled eggs. Breakfast came out - food looked lovely - but with fried eggs which we don't enjoy. They were also undercooked with the whites still runny ok top. We asked if they could be redone as scrambled as we had initially asked for - and the waitress said the chef refused.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
cafeblue582, Owner at Cafe Blue, responded to this review

From someone who had not paid for the meal and wanted to share and change what we do then abuse the waitress I will kick out any one who does this you treated someone who only wanted to be helpfull very badly we dont want or need customers like you More 

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Crepes, bacon & banana were yummy but was disappointed with the eggs benedict; the hollandaise sauce was watery & tasteless and the eggs overcooked. Benefit of the doubt that the chef was having an off day as other reviews seem to rave about them. Coffee not too flash, need to ask for a double shot when ordering large whereas in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kerikeri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The Eggs benedict are great and they will even do half servings - I can't eat w whole one. Also their soups and pies are superb in fact most of their food is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Great lunch at Cafe Blue with the kids today, old school home made ours, sausage rolls and doorstep sambos! Deffo with a visit, will pop in next time we're in Keri Keri (visiting from Auckland).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Im a local ,and spend time enjoying the many cafes& eateries in& around kerikeri while working on my art,good food and atmosphere is important for me, I have only recently decided to try out café blue, im glad I did , Service is friendly ,warm welcomeing ,food is good ,prices are good ,they even did icecreams here as well!! There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The place to go if in town. Good service. nice coffee. Had lunch special salmon and avocardo salad and a bacon eggs Benedict both lovely meals. Fully enjoyable. Will be going back to try the Cornish pastie.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Visiting Kerikeri at the weekend, went for brunch, it was awful, flies flying around, damp and cold, louvre window was open above us and we got dripped on often. The coffee was terrible, brunch for the 4 of us the worst meal we had all ever had. The poached eggs were hard, the scrambled eggs were cold, the order was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cafeblue582, Owner at Cafe Blue, responded to this review

OK Flies we did have a few when you have the hot weather and a cyclone in progress then tend to come inside wet yes it was very wet Damp well you might be but our cafe is cerainly NOT !!wrong meal well the lady who ordered the scrambled eggs PESTO!!got it wrong as she was ordering for the Gentleman... More 

Travelers who viewed Cafe Blue also viewed

Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Cafe Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 64b Kerikeri Rd | Town centre, Kerikeri, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Northland Region  >  Bay of Islands  >  Kerikeri
  • Phone Number: 09-407 5150

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 24
  • Cuisine: Café

Description

Friendly welcome awaits you in this bright and funky cafe Our own blend of beans blended and roasted locally for a great coffee open 7 days aweek our Blueboard! menu is available all day or you can choose from the cabinets of home made goodies

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cafe Blue staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?