We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Katers

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Kater Rd, Sutton Forest, New South Wales 2577, Australia
(02) 4860 3102
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Katers and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 126 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 64
    Excellent
  • 34
    Very good
  • 20
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Scrummy Breakfast

This is by far one of the best Buffet Breakfasts I have ever had. the food was fresh and warm and there was so much variety.

4 of 5 starsReviewed 2 weeks ago
Daneegirl
,
Central Coast
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Pictures tell a thousand words. Three course dinner is on pictures below. Amazing presentation, very tasty, good service, extensive wine list. What's not to like? We loved it!

Helpful?
Thank sydney_travel000
Jesse K, General Manager at Katers, responded to this review

Hello sydney_travel000, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. Katers is something we are very proud of; it is great to hear our team's hard work has paid off in regards to your experience. We are actually launching a new menu today, some of the dishes are really exciting - you will have to come back and try them... More 

Central Coast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is by far one of the best Buffet Breakfasts I have ever had. the food was fresh and warm and there was so much variety.

Helpful?
Thank Daneegirl
Jesse K, General Manager at Katers, responded to this review

Hello Daneegirl, Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback - I hope to see you again soon for breakfast. All the best, Jesse Kornoff General Manager More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Food was excellent, Service by staff was warm and professional. Will return again as being a local resident we are always looking for a quality dinning experience in the Southern Highlands.

Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
Jesse K, General Manager at Katers, responded to this review

Hello Douglas M, Thank you so much for taking the time to share about your recent dinner. I am so happy to hear you had a great time and look forward to having you visit again soon! All the best, Jesse Kornoff General Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

Well we will remember Monday 28th December 2015 as the worst dinning experience in 2015. Our first stop on our golf tour we stay at the Manor House and that was ok see my review on the Manor House. After playing 18 holes of golf we were ready to enjoy a dinner in what suppose to be a good restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony M
Jesse K, General Manager at Katers, responded to this review

Hello Tony M, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at dinner on the 28th. I apologize that your dinner experience was not up to our normal high standard and that we have let you down in this instance. I have checked our restaurant and reception daily logs and there is no notes regarding a complaint... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

Food was just ok, not special, an attempt to up market but failed, Service was ok but slow with two staff appeared to be working. Paying good high end dollars for food that really didn't deliver was very disappointing. Entree was sea scallops (3) approx the size of a 10 cent coin with colour smeared over the plate. Mains were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bryson M
Jesse K, General Manager at Katers, responded to this review

Hello Bryson M, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent dining experience. I am not sure what happened the night you dined however it really sounds like you didn't get our normal dining experience. I assure you we are committed to providing a fantastic fine dining experience and it sounds like we have let you down.... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

This is a hushy, plushy, high end dining room which is part of the Peppers Manor House complex. The room was approximately two thirds full on Christmas Eve of (presumably) in house guests in their glad rags. In spite of this - the busy-ness, not our attire - we were seated next to the service door (this table really needs... More 

Helpful?
Thank SoDizzy
Jesse K, General Manager at Katers, responded to this review

Hello SoDizzy, Thanks for taking the time to share about your recent dining experience in Katers Restaurant. I am so glad you appreciated your meal, the service and the wine. All the best, Jesse Kornoff General Manager More 

Canberra
Level Contributor
125 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

We've now been going for 4 years, for Christmas Day and several preceding days. The food is locally-sourced (some like the hotel's garden), delicious, well-prepared and explained by knowledgeable staff. There is also a degustation menu available, at a reasonable price, coupled with vegetarian and gluten free options. We tried the pork belly (with crackling) and the duo of lamb.... More 

Helpful?
Thank WayneCanberra
Jesse K, General Manager at Katers, responded to this review

Hello WayneCanberra, Thank you for sharing about your recent experience in Katers. I am so glad you enjoyed the food, wine and service. I look forward to welcoming you back soon! All the best, Jesse Kornoff General Manager More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

The two amazing ladies who served us were just delightful. They really know their stuff and their suggestions were bang on. Hats off the the chef and his dessert chef. I had the best venison I've had in years (decades perhaps) and the addition of liquorice was genius! My wife had a sumptuous dish of pork belly and if the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anthony A
Jesse K, General Manager at Katers, responded to this review

Hello Anthony A, Thank you for the fantastic praise; I will be sure to share this with the team. I look forward to welcoming you back soon! All the best, Jesse Kornoff General Manager More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

Had two nights eating here, with a corporate group. We went with alternate menus, which gave us such delights as Alpaca, Salmon, Scallops, Mushroom ravioli, pork belly, lamb and beef. All meals were cooked beautifully and presented with style. A lovely couple of meals.

Helpful?
Thank StephenB0265
Jesse K, General Manager at Katers, responded to this review

Hello StephenB0265, I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your meal and the Alpaca tartare; it really is a beautiful and surprising dish. I look forward to welcoming you back to our property soon. Regards, Jesse Kornoff General Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

The most amazing restaurant we had been too in a longtime...small portions but all you need as the flavours were to die for. Would drive the two hours back just to eat here again...

Helpful?
Thank Cas D
Jesse K, General Manager at Katers, responded to this review

Hello Cas D, Thank you so much for taking the time to share about your recent dinner. Our team will be really excited to read about how much you enjoyed the food. While I agree that the food is worth a two hour drive we have beautifully refurbished rooms now available too! I look forward to welcoming you back soon,... More 

Travelers who viewed Katers also viewed

Sutton Forest, Southern Highlands
Sutton Forest, Southern Highlands
 

Been to Katers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Kater Rd, Sutton Forest, New South Wales 2577, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Southern Highlands  >  Sutton Forest
  • Phone Number: (02) 4860 3102

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Katers staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?