We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Katers

Kater Rd, Sutton Forest, New South Wales 2577, Australia
(02) 4860 3102
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Reservations
9 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    29
    10
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The attention to detail was excellent, as was the overall dining experience. Our meals were delicious and were very artistic on our plates (seems to be the rage at the moment). Serving sizes were appropriate as we wanted to order from each course and enjoy the flavours. Wine prices weren't too high if you didn't go overboard, and they let... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jesse K, General Manager at Katers, responded to this review

Hello Brock 1201, I am so glad you enjoyed every aspect of your dining experience. I hope to see you again soon! All the best, Jesse Kornoff General Manager More

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Have just eaten a measly breakfast at best, as a part of the packaged Peppers accommodation. Almost all of the hot food had run out, the toasters were not working, the coffee is from a machine and there weren't even pastries or croissants (or similar) to fill up on. This is all with over an hour of the breakfast to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jesse K, General Manager at Katers, responded to this review

Hello AlwaysTravelling2011, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent dining experience. Our breakfast is one of the things that we pride ourselves on at Peppers Manor House and it sounds like your experience was not up to our normal high standards. I would like to apologize that the team did not keep up with the buffet replenishment on the... More

Port Macquarie, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I dined at Katers restaurant for our fourth and final night of holidaying in the southern highlands - we had intended to save the best until last. We were very disappointed. We were seated by a window, and with the cold winter temperatures outside I dined wearing my overcoat as the heating was inadequate. On a positive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jesse K, General Manager at Katers, responded to this review

Hello Snowbunny175, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent dining experience. It sounds like the service you received when dining with us was not up to our normal high standard. I have passed your feedback onto our Restaurant Manager to address with her team. We strive to provide a fantastic dining experience celebrating our fantastic local food and wine;... More

Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at Pepper's which is the location of Katers restaurant. Part of our package was a degustation meal with $100 discount toward the meal. We felt that the overall cost was excessive bearing in mind the small portions that were served and should you desire the wines that complemented the food it was an additional... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jesse K, General Manager at Katers, responded to this review

Hello Paul S, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent dining experience at Katers Restaurant. I have taken on board your feedback regarding the pricing of our meals. We aim a providing a fantastic dining experience centred around the amazing local produce we have here in the highlands and our heritage manor house. The aim for us is to... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

It was my husbands birthday so I was hoping the restaurant would be good - after all it is not cheap. We chose the degustation, not a common choice for either of us but it sounded great. We also had the matching wines. Our waiter was really lovely, she was very attentive but not too much so. In particular we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jesse K, General Manager at Katers, responded to this review

Hello clarefromthebeach, Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your husband's birthday. I am so glad you both enjoyed the evening, the food and our service. I hope to see you again sometime soon! All the best, Jesse Kornoff General Manager More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

What amazing food and service. So knowledgeable! I would rate this the same as ARIA in Sydney, if not better!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jesse K, General Manager at Katers, responded to this review

Hello Paula B, Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent dinner. To be compared with Aria is high praise indeed! I hope to see you again at Katers soon! Best regards, Jesse Kornoff General Manager More

nsw
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Went here for high tea for my mothers 70th birthday. We were all made to feel incredibly welcome especially my mother. We were placed in our own private dining room with just a single waitress who was not only very warm but also very funny. She was attentive and with her casual wit felt like one of the family not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jesse K, General Manager at Katers, responded to this review

Hello foodies1, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent high tea. Liz certainly is fantastic isnt she? I will pass on your fantastic feedback to our kitchen and service teams. Regards, Jesse Kornoff General Manager More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great food, beautifully presented and attentive staff. We didn't have the degustation but everything we ordered was beautiful. Unfortunately there were some large tables that came in after us so we felt like our meal was rushed a bit but otherwise a very nice evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jesse K, General Manager at Katers, responded to this review

Hello trishandgrant, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent dinner - I am glad that you enjoyed your evening and the cuisine. Regards, Jesse Kornoff General Manager More

BatemansBay
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you have a Luxury Escape stay at Peppers then this dinner is a taste sensation. The Pork Belly & the Duck & the Scallops were my favourites but it was all delicious. Luxury Escapes gives you $100 towards the $218 cost. Is it worth it? It was for two people so maybe. Would it be worth $218 instead of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jesse K, General Manager at Katers, responded to this review

Hello longbich, Thank you for your feedback on your recent dining experiences. At Katers we focus on providing top quality cuisine with top end local produce in a fantastic setting. I am so glad that you appreciated the high standard of what we provide. I take on board your comments regarding pricing. We regularly review our pricing compared to our... More

Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Very good service, good selection for all courses, good selection of local wines. Very enjoyable meal that was worthy of its high rating

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jesse K, General Manager at Katers, responded to this review

Hello Drew49, I am so glad you enjoyed your meal and appreciated the amazing local produce and wines we have available to us here in the Southern Highlands. I look forward to seeing you again soon! All the best, Jesse Kornoff General Manager More

Travelers who viewed Katers also viewed

 
Sutton Forest, New South Wales
Berrima, New South Wales
 

Been to Katers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing