We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Peacock Room at the Crimble

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Contemporary, Bistro
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Crimble Lane, Rochdale OL11 4AD, England (Bury Road)
At the end of the lane
01706 368591
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Wed - Fri 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Wed - Sat 6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Peacock Room at the Crimble is simply a superb venue. Set back from...
The Peacock Room at the Crimble is simply a superb venue. Set back from the main road, you feel as though you are in the middle of the countryside. Watch out for Peacocks, who freely roam around the mature garden grounds which surround the building. The restaurant itself is wonderfully opulent. Enter the aperitif bar and enjoy a cocktail or glass of champagne. Peruse the innovative menu featuring seasonal ingredients, freshly prepared into interesting, sumptuous dishes. The food style is modern British, with some international twists. The dinning room features 2 stunning chandeliers amongst its many unique features. The service style includes a warm welcoming approach to fine dining. If you would like information or advice about any of our dishes, or our extensive wine list, feel free to ask, we are here to help.
read more
Good for:
Fine Dining

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 176 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 117
    Excellent
  • 40
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Sublime!

Ate here last month with my friend, have to say the food and service were faultless, pricey yes but good value for the really high quality offering, we both had 3 courses and each course was just as perfect as the last, also the venue itself is stunning, if you want to impress a date or spoil... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed April 16, 2015
foody1Blackburn
,
Blackburn
Good for:
  • Fine Dining
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 NEW

Ate here last month with my friend, have to say the food and service were faultless, pricey yes but good value for the really high quality offering, we both had 3 courses and each course was just as perfect as the last, also the venue itself is stunning, if you want to impress a date or spoil someone special this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rochdale, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015 NEW

We eaten at the Peacock room only weeks before and had been disappointed with the service. This time the service was really good and the food was excellent. Our only disappoint was to learn that David, the maître de had recently left. He was always so welcoming and hospitable and we will miss him. I'm sure we will be again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review. We are delighted to hear you chose to return to the Peacock Room and you felt the food was excellent and the service was really good. It is pleasing to hear you will be returning again as this is still your favourite place to eat! All your kind comments... More 

England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Had an amazing meal tonight. Poached trout for starter was outstanding and steak for main cooked to perfection. Food combinations were unique & each flavour complimented the next. The service was faultless. Best overall meal experience I have had in a long while.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review. We are really pleased to hear you felt your meals were amazing and the food combination were unique and each flavour complimented the next. All our steaks are hand prepared by our onsite butchery to ensure high quality. It is also good to hear you felt the service... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Been to the peacock room today four of us for. Beryl's birthday have to say that we all enjoyed the meal and will return very soon thankyou Cyril for looking after us so well and we can't wait to come again food was excellent so was the house wine the decor was very Art Deco really top quality food drink... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We are delighted to hear you chose to celebrate at the Peacock Room. It is good to hear that you felt your meal was top quality and you enjoyed the tasteful surroundings. Thank you for giving Cyril a personal mention. We have passed on your kind comments to... More 

Lancashire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

We visit the Peacock room on a regular basis and don’t normally have any complaints, I can truthfully say it is our favourite restaurant in the area. Unfortunately on our last visit the waiting on staff let the standards drop, seems straight forward, staff need more training to be of a standard which we have come to expect from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry to learn of your disappointment following your recent visit to the Peacock Room. We greatly appreciate all guest feedback good and not so good as this helps us improve what we do and feedback has been provided to the restaurant. As soon as we read your review... More 

Oldham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Was really looking forward to my meal at the Crimble but left very disappointed and hungry, the service was dreadful and the mistakes happened all through the evening! I asked for a small glass of wine they brought me a large, my sister in law asked for a gin and tonic they brought her just tonic, the starters where brought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment on your recent visit to the Crimble. We want our guests to enjoy their experience whilst dining at our restaurants and we rely on feedback, good and not so good to help us improve what we do. We sincerely apologise for the... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Having visited the peacock room for several years on Xmas eve lunch and enjoying a first class dining experience, this year was an exception. The scallops starter was under cooked, the fillet steak was chewy and served cool as with the rest of the food on the plate. The dessert was up to the normal peacock room standard. In all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your Christmas Eve lunch. We have discussed your feedback with the team and they have assured us that all guests were asked if they were enjoying their experience with us and no one raised any issues. All our food is cooked... More 

France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Eleven of us had Sunday lunch here and I have to say the chef's were a total disappointment and need to get a grip or the place will begin to go down.They failed to present the food in an attractive and acceptable level.The black pudding starter looked a very sorry plate with two small round pieces of pudding on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your meal. Please accept our sincere apologies for any disappointment caused following your recent visit to the Peacock Room. Having discussed your feedback with our Chefs they have confirmed that all the food is cooked fresh and to order. During our private correspondence you stated that you “didn’t want to cause a... More 

Burnley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

The Peacock room came highly recommended and on arrival it certainly lived up to our expectations. The staff were excellent, efficient and friendly and couldn't have taken care of us any better. The Peacock room itself is very well appointed and classically decorated. The only disappointment was the food. There was nothing wrong with the food we were served but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased to hear that on arrival we lived up to your expectations and you found the team efficient and friendly. We are however disappointed to hear that although you found there was nothing wrong with the food you were served you felt it was nothing special. We do... More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

The Peacock room looked fabulous on New Years Eve , extra specially decorated . The table decorations were glitzy and stylish . As per usual the staff were on the ball , attentive , courteous and willing . On arrival we had a warm welcome and drinks in the bar as we chose from the menu , the dining room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted we met your expectations and you thoroughly enjoyed New Years Eve. All your comments have been passed on to the team who will be thrilled with your feedback. We do hope you return in the very near future. More 

Travelers who viewed The Peacock Room at the Crimble also viewed

Rochdale, Greater Manchester
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Peacock Room at the Crimble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Crimble Lane, Rochdale OL11 4AD, England
    (Bury Road)
  • Public Transportation: At the end of the lane
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Rochdale
  • Phone Number: 01706 368591

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 26 - 65
  • Cuisine: Contemporary, Bistro

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Fine Dining

Description

The Peacock Room at the Crimble is simply a superb venue. Set back from the main road, you feel as though you are in the middle of the countryside. Watch out for Peacocks, who freely roam around the mature garden grounds which surround the building. The restaurant itself is wonderfully opulent. Enter the aperitif bar and enjoy a cocktail or glass of champagne. Peruse the innovative menu featuring seasonal ingredients, freshly prepared into interesting, sumptuous dishes. The food style is modern British, with some international twists. The dinning room features 2 stunning chandeliers amongst its many unique features. The service style includes a warm welcoming approach to fine dining. If you would like information or advice about any of our dishes, or our extensive wine list, feel free to ask, we are here to help.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Peacock Room at the Crimble and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Peacock Room at the Crimble staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?