We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Peacock Room at the Crimble

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Contemporary, Bistro
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Crimble Lane, Rochdale OL11 4AD, England (Bury Road)
At the end of the lane
01706 368591
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Wed - Fri 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Wed - Sat 6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Peacock Room at the Crimble is simply a superb venue. Set back from...
The Peacock Room at the Crimble is simply a superb venue. Set back from the main road, you feel as though you are in the middle of the countryside. Watch out for Peacocks, who freely roam around the mature garden grounds which surround the building. The restaurant itself is wonderfully opulent. Enter the aperitif bar and enjoy a cocktail or glass of champagne. Peruse the innovative menu featuring seasonal ingredients, freshly prepared into interesting, sumptuous dishes. The food style is modern British, with some international twists. The dinning room features 2 stunning chandeliers amongst its many unique features. The service style includes a warm welcoming approach to fine dining. If you would like information or advice about any of our dishes, or our extensive wine list, feel free to ask, we are here to help.
read more
Good for:
Fine Dining
Reservations
Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 170 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 113
    Excellent
  • 40
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Xmas eve lunch

Having visited the peacock room for several years on Xmas eve lunch and enjoying a first class dining experience, this year was an exception. The scallops starter was under cooked, the fillet steak was chewy and served cool as with the rest of the food on the plate. The dessert was up to the normal... read more

2 of 5 starsReviewed February 22, 2015
Jack M
Good for:
  • Fine Dining
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015 NEW

Having visited the peacock room for several years on Xmas eve lunch and enjoying a first class dining experience, this year was an exception. The scallops starter was under cooked, the fillet steak was chewy and served cool as with the rest of the food on the plate. The dessert was up to the normal peacock room standard. In all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Eleven of us had Sunday lunch here and I have to say the chef's were a total disappointment and need to get a grip or the place will begin to go down.They failed to present the food in an attractive and acceptable level.The black pudding starter looked a very sorry plate with two small round pieces of pudding on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your meal. Please accept our sincere apologies for any disappointment caused following your recent visit to the Peacock Room. Having discussed your feedback with our Chefs they have confirmed that all the food is cooked fresh and to order. During our private correspondence you stated that you “didn’t want to cause a... More 

Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

The Peacock room came highly recommended and on arrival it certainly lived up to our expectations. The staff were excellent, efficient and friendly and couldn't have taken care of us any better. The Peacock room itself is very well appointed and classically decorated. The only disappointment was the food. There was nothing wrong with the food we were served but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased to hear that on arrival we lived up to your expectations and you found the team efficient and friendly. We are however disappointed to hear that although you found there was nothing wrong with the food you were served you felt it was nothing special. We do... More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

The Peacock room looked fabulous on New Years Eve , extra specially decorated . The table decorations were glitzy and stylish . As per usual the staff were on the ball , attentive , courteous and willing . On arrival we had a warm welcome and drinks in the bar as we chose from the menu , the dining room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted we met your expectations and you thoroughly enjoyed New Years Eve. All your comments have been passed on to the team who will be thrilled with your feedback. We do hope you return in the very near future. More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Went to the peacock room for a works do and was extremely impressed! Staff were all very helpful and friendly! Food was served piping hot and tables were cleared promptly. Which I was very impressed as there was a large number of us and serval parties going on at the same time. They had a wide variety of drinks on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a lovely review. We really appreciate receiving feedback from our guests as this makes us good at what we do. All your comments have been passed on to our team who will be delighted with your comments. We look forward to you returning in the very near future. More 

manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Faultless NYE both the service and the food were of the usual high standard despite the restaurant being full. The staff are attentive without being overpowering and you are made to feel really welcome. This was the third Festive event I have been to here this year and I have no complaints at all about any of the visits. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

We are delighted that you chose to dine with us so many times over the festive period and we are really pleased you have took the time to post such a positive review. All your comments have been passed on to the team who will be thrilled with your feedback. We look forward to you returning in the very near... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Have visited The Peacock Room on several occasions and as always the food, atmosphere, staff and surroundings are excellent! Pre-booked for New Years Day 2015 Dinner and was really impressed with the selections available for each course. The food itself was really flavoursome (hats off to the chefs) and of excellent quality. I have never been disappointed when visiting this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted we met your expectations and you thoroughly enjoyed your New Years Day 2015 Dinner. All your comments have been passed on to the team who will be thrilled with your feedback. We do hope you return in the very near future and perhaps on your next visit you may think about... More 

Bury
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

Had beautiful Boxing Day meal. Excellent food with a delightful bottle of Malbec. Lovely decorations and atmosphere. Good attentive staff (never rushed). Thank you David, Jean and all at Peacock. Looking forward to New Year's Eve!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a great review. We are so pleased we met your expectations and you enjoyed a fabulous Boxing Day meal together with a bottle of Malbec. All your comments have been passed on to the team who will be thrilled with your feedback we look forward to your next visit. More 

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Went with friends for birthday meal, haven't visited for a long time. Very comfortably decorated with a pleasant atmosphere, friendly staff. However not very impressed with the food, have had far better in the area for the same price (mains around £20) , was barely able to cut the steak, other diners meals just ok. Desserts pricey, small and not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry you were disappointed with your meal. We take all feedback very seriously and we have passed your comments on to the team. Having discussed your feedback with our Chefs they have confirmed that all the food was cooked fresh on the day and to the temperature requested.... More 

Manchester
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Friends catch up pre-xmas dining for 4. We had 3 different starters and 3 different main courses. The menu is a small selection but all that we ordered was well presented and excellent quality.Can't wait to go back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review. We are really pleased we met your expectations and you found the quality and presentation of the food excellent. We have passed on all your comments to our chefs who will be delighted with your feedback. We look forward to your return visit. More 

Travelers who viewed The Peacock Room at the Crimble also viewed

Rochdale, Greater Manchester
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Peacock Room at the Crimble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Crimble Lane, Rochdale OL11 4AD, England
    (Bury Road)
  • Public Transportation: At the end of the lane
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Rochdale
  • Phone Number: 01706 368591

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 26 - 65
  • Cuisine: Contemporary, Bistro

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Fine Dining

Description

The Peacock Room at the Crimble is simply a superb venue. Set back from the main road, you feel as though you are in the middle of the countryside. Watch out for Peacocks, who freely roam around the mature garden grounds which surround the building. The restaurant itself is wonderfully opulent. Enter the aperitif bar and enjoy a cocktail or glass of champagne. Peruse the innovative menu featuring seasonal ingredients, freshly prepared into interesting, sumptuous dishes. The food style is modern British, with some international twists. The dinning room features 2 stunning chandeliers amongst its many unique features. The service style includes a warm welcoming approach to fine dining. If you would like information or advice about any of our dishes, or our extensive wine list, feel free to ask, we are here to help.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Peacock Room at the Crimble staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?