We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Peacock Room at the Crimble

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Contemporary, Bistro
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Crimble Lane, Rochdale OL11 4AD, England (Bury Road)
At the end of the lane
01706 368591
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Wed - Fri 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Wed - Sat 6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Peacock Room at the Crimble is simply a superb venue. Set back from...
The Peacock Room at the Crimble is simply a superb venue. Set back from the main road, you feel as though you are in the middle of the countryside. Watch out for Peacocks, who freely roam around the mature garden grounds which surround the building. The restaurant itself is wonderfully opulent. Enter the aperitif bar and enjoy a cocktail or glass of champagne. Peruse the innovative menu featuring seasonal ingredients, freshly prepared into interesting, sumptuous dishes. The food style is modern British, with some international twists. The dinning room features 2 stunning chandeliers amongst its many unique features. The service style includes a warm welcoming approach to fine dining. If you would like information or advice about any of our dishes, or our extensive wine list, feel free to ask, we are here to help.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 186 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 124
    Excellent
  • 41
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Lovely service

Had a lovely evening at the peacock room for our anniversary food was good! Our waiter Liam Taylor really looked after us! And recommend some lovely prosecco!! Such a lovely guy with excellent service!!! 😊, Missed David the manager! Place didn't feel the same with out him! Peacock room sad loss of... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed June 28, 2015
kirstie b
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Special occasions
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

On arrival we were shown to what resembled a labour club bar, dirty and tatty. We opted to go straight to the table which was by the window. We were asked if we would like to order some drinks and 10 minutes after taking our order the waiter returned stating they didn't do Margaritas, in my opinion a pretty standard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

Dear georgiex5x we are so sorry you didn't enjoy your experience with us. We do encourage our guests to advise us if anything is not to their liking so we can put things right there and then. We have sent your comments to our Group Head Chef for him to investigate along with the General Manager who can look at... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

Had a lovely evening at the peacock room for our anniversary food was good! Our waiter Liam Taylor really looked after us! And recommend some lovely prosecco!! Such a lovely guy with excellent service!!! 😊, Missed David the manager! Place didn't feel the same with out him! Peacock room sad loss of David is nutters gain!

Was this review helpful? Yes
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

Dear kirstie b Thank you so much for your review and congratulations on your anniversary. Liam is lovely and is learning a lot under the guidance of our new manager Cyril who is vastly experienced in fine dining and bringing his own style to the Peacock Room. We look forward to your next visit More 

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Had a beautiful meal, each course was a delight. It was the attention to detail that put the finishing touches to our lovely evening out on our Wedding Anniversay. When the table next to ours was being cleared, a fresh white tablecloth was placed and then a lady came with an iron and quickly ironed any creases. The serving staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a great review. We really appreciate guest feedback as this makes us good at what we do. We are delighted to hear you chose to celebrate your Wedding Anniversary (Many congratulations) at the Peacock Room and you both had a lovely evening. We are really pleased to hear that you felt your meals were beautiful,... More 

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

We went for a family Sunday lunch, and I was impressed by the décor and the good choice of food on the menu and reasonably priced wines. Food presentation was excellent. Both my starter and the main of grey mullet were over seasoned, and some of the main courses were rather small, (the half poussin was tiny!) Service was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We take guest feedback very seriously, good and bad and act on all feedback We are pleased to hear that you were particularly impressed by the décor, the good choice of food on the menu and our reasonably priced wines. It is also pleasing to hear that you felt the... More 

Bury
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

Went to the crimble, not been for 10 years, how it's changed, the food was lovely but pricey, went for early bird paid £60 for 2 courses , but food was lovely. I had Stilton pear and walnut salad to start hubby had black pudding poached egg and bacon to start, I had steak which was delicious hubby had chicken... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review. We really appreciate guest feedback as this makes us good at what we do. We are delighted to hear that after all this time you chose to return to the Crimble and you were not disappointed! We are so pleased to hear you found your meals delicious, particularly... More 

NW
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

Went for Sunday lunch as a family. Overall we have a good meal but there was room for improvement. Service could be a bit friendlier, a smile would help. The food was not piping hot; this is the second time at the Peacock room as was my complaint last time. Nothing wrong with the quality. Please do not add 10... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We really appreciate guest feedback as this makes us good at what we do and assists us greatly when making improvements. We are delighted to hear that overall your family enjoyed a good Sunday lunch. We have taken on board all of your comments and fed this back to the... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

I found The Peacock Room by a chance online search on a free afternoon. At this point I had no idea of the delights in store. Firstly the setting is beautiful. Tucked only a few hundred metres from a main road, it feels more like a rural country retreat, with great scenery and a quaint building. The decor inside is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a great review. We are delighted to hear that following your recent visit to the Peacock Room you felt the setting of the Peacock Room was beautiful and the décor was very ornate. We are also pleased to hear that you felt the team were friendly, knowledgeable and professional, and overall you felt the food... More 

manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Have eaten at The Crimble several times and had the lunch menu in the Peacock Room before. It was our first evening visit on Saturday and thoroughly enjoyed all 3 courses. Food quality is wonderful and the service good - feels like a special night out! Not cheap but I think more than reasonable for the quality of food and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review. We really appreciate guest feedback as this makes us good at what we do. We are really pleased to hear you have visited the Crimble on several occasions and on your most recent visit you decided to visit in the evening and thoroughly enjoyed a 3 course meal.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Having rediscovered the Peacock Room after almost 20 years, I have been with friends and business colleagues several times this year. The a la carte menu is superb and never a let down - great value for the price. The taste of the Peacock lunch is staggeringly cheap for the quality and range of dishes. Service is second to none... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We really appreciate guest feedback as this makes us good at what we do. We are delighted to hear that having rediscovered the Peacock Room after almost 20 years, you found the food to be of a high quality, the service faultless and great value for money. We... More 

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

Nice meal and atmosphere ideal if you catch an early bird special offer too, its not cheap but the food is worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room at the Crimble, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. We really appreciate guest feedback as this makes us good at what we do. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed a lovely meal on your recent visit and you would recommend the early bird offer to other guests. We have passed on all of your comments to the team who will be really... More 

Travelers who viewed The Peacock Room at the Crimble also viewed

Rochdale, Greater Manchester
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
Castleton, Rochdale
 

Been to The Peacock Room at the Crimble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock Room at the Crimble

Address: Crimble Lane, Rochdale OL11 4AD, England
Phone Number: 01706 368591
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Rochdale
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm  6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm  6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm  6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday 6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 26 - 65
Cuisine: Contemporary, Bistro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Crimble Lane, Rochdale OL11 4AD, England
    (Bury Road)
  • Public Transportation: At the end of the lane
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Rochdale
  • Phone Number: 01706 368591

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 26 - 65
  • Cuisine: Contemporary, Bistro

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Fine Dining
  • Good for: Special occasions

Description

The Peacock Room at the Crimble is simply a superb venue. Set back from the main road, you feel as though you are in the middle of the countryside. Watch out for Peacocks, who freely roam around the mature garden grounds which surround the building. The restaurant itself is wonderfully opulent. Enter the aperitif bar and enjoy a cocktail or glass of champagne. Peruse the innovative menu featuring seasonal ingredients, freshly prepared into interesting, sumptuous dishes. The food style is modern British, with some international twists. The dinning room features 2 stunning chandeliers amongst its many unique features. The service style includes a warm welcoming approach to fine dining. If you would like information or advice about any of our dishes, or our extensive wine list, feel free to ask, we are here to help.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Peacock Room at the Crimble and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Peacock Room at the Crimble staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?