We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Windmill Inn

English
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
54 Nore Road, Portishead BS20 6JZ, England
01275 843677
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Good for:
Breakfast/Brunch
Reservations
Delivery
Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 286 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 53
    Excellent
  • 104
    Very good
  • 51
    Average
  • 37
    Poor
  • 41
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Lovely views, pleasant, friendly atmosphere.

We visited this restaurant for a family lunch get together, there was 12 of us. Service was excellent and our food was served very quickly. The staff were friendly and very pleasant. I ordered the baked sea bream which was served with a delicious salad and baby potatoes, both the fish and potatoes... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed February 22, 2015
Gail C
,
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

286 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015 NEW

We visited this restaurant for a family lunch get together, there was 12 of us. Service was excellent and our food was served very quickly. The staff were friendly and very pleasant. I ordered the baked sea bream which was served with a delicious salad and baby potatoes, both the fish and potatoes were really tasty. My partner had the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GManger58, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your kind words about the food & service. We look forward to seeing you again soon Kind Regards Pix More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015 NEW

Needed somewhere to eat that catered for gluten free which was easy after i emailed the windmill the day before visiting. I got i quick friendly reply that said which dishes would be gluten free and those they could adapt. This impressed me not only because they emailed quick but that they were willing to adapt dishes to suit. Great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windmill I, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Hi I am really glad you enjoyed your visit and am glad we were able to meet your requirements Kind Regards Pix More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I went again after 18 months with a friend for lunch and as before the service was faultless, quality of food sound in pleasant surroundings. Again, a pleasant experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windmill I, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave such a nice review Hope you return soon Kind Regards pix More 

Portishead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

My steak came to the table over done and dried out, I sent it back to the kitchen and then sat there watching my partner eating her meal which was also not up to standard but she did not want to draw attention to herself by complaining. When I enquired as to when my food will be served I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Windmill I, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Whilst we always try to ensure every customer leaves the Windmill happy, we accept we do not always get it 100% right all of the time. When we don't we try our best to rectify the situation at the time such as offering a replacement meal .The reason you were asked not to return to The Windmill in 2013 was... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We had a Table booked for 7.30. Waitress showed us to our table and the staff were very attentive all evening. The food & wine were very good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GManger58, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Hi I am really pleased you enjoyed the Valentines menu on Saturday and that the service was good too Hopefully we will be offering some more events in the future Kind Regards pix More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We have been using the Windmill for sometime as it has fantastic views over the Severn from the bridges toFlat and Steepholm islands. The food was good and you always had plenty of it. The prices were not expensive and you always went away feeling that you had value for money. But this time we went there we were greeted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GManger58, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review & we are really glad you enjoyed your evening so much hopefully see you again soon Pix More 

Martos, Spain
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

I first went to the Hole in One, as it used to be called, over 35 years ago, so on a recent visit to Portishead couldn't resist a nostalgic look round, spending a perfect afternoon on the terrace overlooking the Severn estuary. The pub has been considerably altered since my last visit, and my only disappointment was that the original... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windmill I, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Hi so glad you popped back to check out the Windmill and that you enjoyed your visit Next time you are back please ask and we will be pleased to show you inside the stone tower! Regards Pix More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Fantastic food, great atmosphere, excellent service. Loredana deserves a special mention for making us feel especially welcome - she has the ability to go far in this trade if given the proper opportunities. Thank you!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Windmill I, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Hi Thank you so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed your visit Hope to see you again soon Regards Pix More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015 via mobile

It's a real shame that the calibre of the food doesn't match the friendliness of the staff, very poor meals and I hope they can turn it around because in the recent past the food has been excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Windmill I, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, thank you for your kind words about the staff at the Windmill I would appreciate a chat about the other aspects of your visit if you would like to contact me If you have the time Windmill@fullers.co.uk Kind Regards Pix More 

Nailsea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

We visited here today at lunch time,we had a lovely meal,service was great,very friendly and helpful staff,plenty of meals to choose from.will definitely be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windmill I, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the lovely review! Hope to see you very soon Regards Pix More 

Travelers who viewed The Windmill Inn also viewed

Portishead, Somerset
 
Portishead, Somerset
 

Been to The Windmill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 54 Nore Road, Portishead BS20 6JZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Portishead
  • Phone Number: 01275 843677

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: English
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Windmill Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?