We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Windmill Inn

English
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
54 Nore Road, Portishead BS20 6JZ, England
01275 843677
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 291 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 54
    Excellent
  • 105
    Very good
  • 53
    Average
  • 38
    Poor
  • 41
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Meeting Point

Lived in Portishead for many years. Windmill has always been a meeting point when we visit. Food has always been good, traditional meal, but good value and good food.

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 25, 2015
Tracey G
,
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 NEW

Lived in Portishead for many years. Windmill has always been a meeting point when we visit. Food has always been good, traditional meal, but good value and good food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windmill I, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review Hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Pix More 

Clevedon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Went to the Windmill Sunday Evening with 5 Adult family members and our grandaughter age2. We have been to this pub many times and have always been pleased but on this occasion we were disappointed. Maybe it has changed hands or something. My husband and I had the Steak and mushroom pie. It was hunt the Steak it was mostly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GManger58, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

I would like to apologise for the issues you encountered on Sunday, please contact me on 01275818483 if possible as I would like to discuss further with you Regards Pix More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

What has happened to this place? The last three times we have visited the Windmill we have sent our meals back and witnessed other tables doing the same. Everywhere I go in Portishead people are saying how this place has gone downhill in recent months which explains why it is always half empty . Menu is OK but portions are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Windmill I, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Hi I am sorry you have not been happy with your visits to the Windmill, I would like some more details ,so if possible I would like to discuss this further with you could you contact me on 01275818483 or Windmill@fullers.co.uk Regards pix More 

bristol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

8 of us booked a table for Sunday lunchtime - We all really enjoyed our meal - I had the lamb shank which fell off the bone I enjoyed every bit of it. I've never seen the kids eat fish so quickly they said it was lovely. The salad, burger,sausages and lasagne all looked great and there was certainly none... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GManger58, Guest Relations Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

H,i I am so glad you enjoyed your visit to The Windmill, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review on here. Hope to see you again soon Regards pix More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015 via mobile

This Pub benefits from a fantastic location overlooking the Estuary. It has three floors and a massive outdoor terrace and big glass windows with particularly good views from the upper level. In essence it has everything - except .....a varied and interesting menu. This Pub no doubt attracts many Clients purely down to its location and views, but it would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GManger58, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed the view on your visit to The Windmill perhaps you can let us know what sort of things you would like to see on the menu please feel free to ring and discuss with me 01275818483 Regards Pix More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

My husband and I have taken his elderly parents to The Windmilll quite a few times over the last three years but after yesterday's disappointing meals and experience we won't be returning. Portion sizes, especially the battered fish, have reduced; there is clearly no pride in the presentation of the food (ice cream and cream on the deserts was just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GManger58, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

H,i I am really sorry you were disappointed with your visit to the Windmill. I would like to discuss the issues you have raised if possible Please ring on 01275 818483 Kind Regards pix More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We visited this restaurant for a family lunch get together, there was 12 of us. Service was excellent and our food was served very quickly. The staff were friendly and very pleasant. I ordered the baked sea bream which was served with a delicious salad and baby potatoes, both the fish and potatoes were really tasty. My partner had the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GManger58, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your kind words about the food & service. We look forward to seeing you again soon Kind Regards Pix More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015 via mobile

Needed somewhere to eat that catered for gluten free which was easy after i emailed the windmill the day before visiting. I got i quick friendly reply that said which dishes would be gluten free and those they could adapt. This impressed me not only because they emailed quick but that they were willing to adapt dishes to suit. Great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windmill I, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Hi I am really glad you enjoyed your visit and am glad we were able to meet your requirements Kind Regards Pix More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I went again after 18 months with a friend for lunch and as before the service was faultless, quality of food sound in pleasant surroundings. Again, a pleasant experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windmill I, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave such a nice review Hope you return soon Kind Regards pix More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We had a Table booked for 7.30. Waitress showed us to our table and the staff were very attentive all evening. The food & wine were very good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GManger58, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Hi I am really pleased you enjoyed the Valentines menu on Saturday and that the service was good too Hopefully we will be offering some more events in the future Kind Regards pix More 

Travelers who viewed The Windmill Inn also viewed

Portishead, Somerset
 
Portishead, Somerset
 

Been to The Windmill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 54 Nore Road, Portishead BS20 6JZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Portishead
  • Phone Number: 01275 843677

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: English
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Windmill Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?