We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Windmill Inn

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
58 Nore Road, Portishead BS20 6JZ, England
01275 843677
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 441 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 101
    Excellent
  • 161
    Very good
  • 67
    Average
  • 60
    Poor
  • 52
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Still OK

Popped in for lunch. Enjoyed the ambiance and views. Plenty of specials to choose from as well as the usual Pub Fayre. The food was hot and came promptly. Good overall experience

4 of 5 starsReviewed 4 days ago
Mike M
,
Poole, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

441 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
462 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Popped in for lunch. Enjoyed the ambiance and views. Plenty of specials to choose from as well as the usual Pub Fayre. The food was hot and came promptly. Good overall experience

Helpful?
Thank Mike M
GManger58, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your visit. It is always nice to hear when we get things right, The views yesterday were particularly good! I hope you return again soon. Kind Regards. Pix More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Seen a few bad reviews but thought we would give it a try and not disappointed at all. Both had a light meal (Fish, chips and mushy peas) and a pudding (Plum and Apple Crumble and custard. Excellently cooked, fast service and enough for us in a light meal. Good price too. Lovely cold Guinness. Polite service and lovely views.... More 

Helpful?
Thank 66Del100
GManger58, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Hi, It is great to hear you enjoyed your visit yesterday. You certainly picked a glorious day for the view! I hope to see you again soon and thanks for the lovely comments. Kind Regards. Pix More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was very very disappointed. Me and my mother went on a Sunday around about 6pm to arrive, find a sit then had to go up and order. We were first in line but it took forever to be served. Went to order only to be told that the starter we wanted had ran out and the beef for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank SRbristol
GManger58, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Hi, first of all I would like to apologise about the 2 starters being unavailable this is unacceptable and we will be reviewing the ordering procedures going forward. The Roasts are only available on Sundays and sometimes they do run out slightly earlier than we would like. however there are 14 other main courses available on Sundays plus a few... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked a table for 6 for a birthday and found the table was booked for 2 hrs later after our 2 hours, we did complain about it, it took over half an hour to order and get our meal and then we had desserts which looked lost on the plate, how you can warrant the price for them l don't... More 

Helpful?
Thank mary3paradise
GManger58, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Hi, I am sorry the booking procedure was not explained properly to you before your visit. I understand the waiting staff moved the second table so you could stay longer. I am sorry you feel the desserts were not value for money I will pass this comment on to our chefs. If you wish to discuss this further please feel... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place has a great location and a lovely terraced garden with fab views. Basic pub food ordered at the bar and served up quickly, so I suspect not freshly produced. The prices do not reflect this. Specials not very special. Good wine at good prices though. Had to ask for someone to clean the table for us before we... More 

Helpful?
Thank JAW2705
GManger58, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Hi I am glad you enjoyed the views and the wine on your visit, We allow families to sit anywhere in the Windmill & the majority of our menu is prepared fresh every morning by our chefs. Thanks you for taking the time to leave a review & I hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards. Pix More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First visit for a birthday lunch. Easy parking, lovely view, found a table easily. Only 12.30 but nearly full with oldies spending their ill gotten pensions. Order at the bar, food arrives 10 minutes later. Pretty much standard pub fare, cooked and presented well. Staff were all very pleasant.

Helpful?
Thank yamdrachir
GManger58, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank your for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards. Pix More 

Bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was a beautiful January day to take in the breathtaking view from the panoramic windows of The Windmill Inn. You can see across the Bristol Channel to south Wales, and a major part of our lunchtime chat was deciding just which settlements we could see clearly over the water. The food was presented well and was more than sufficient... More 

Helpful?
Thank PetalBristol
GManger58, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your feedback on your visit. We do have fantastic views and it's great the sun has finally appeared so you could see them properly! Hope you return soon to take in the sunsets which are truly memorable! Kind Regards. Pix More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a really tasty chilli noodles off the specials board. Really delicious. Keep it up! My wife had a lighter bite sausage and mash which she also enjoyed very much. Plus a free sweet great value.

Helpful?
Thank Chris P
GManger58, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Hi I am glad you enjoyed the chilli noodles they are from our Detox menu, which has proved very popular! I am glad you appreciate the free dessert too! Hope to se you again soon Regards. Pix More 

Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I used to eat at the windmill at least twice a week when I lived nearby. It was always excellent. However I took my family there on Saturday and the food was so disappointing. They used to make a lovely mixed bean side salad but sadly no more. The salad was just average. The spinach and red pepper lasagne used... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank catherinef520
GManger58, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Hi , Thank you for your feedback, we do change the salad occasionally but will pass on your comments about the beans. The Red pepper lasagne is the same recipe so I am sorry if was not as you remembered. The strawberry shortbread is available on the specials board and we will use your comments on the banana split when... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There was 18 of us having a family reunion. When booking for this I couldn't have asked for better service - thankyou Dylan . We all arrived at 1.30 p.m. to be greeted with a lovely long table overlooking the estuary. We all ordered at much the same time. Within what seemed a very short time all our meals arrived... More 

Helpful?
Thank nitagraham
Windmill I, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review

Hi, thank you so much for your feedback I will certainly pass on your comments to Dylan, the rest of the staff and our suppliers! Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards. Pix More 

Travelers who viewed The Windmill Inn also viewed

Portishead, Somerset
Hanham, Gloucestershire
 
Portishead, Somerset
Portishead, Somerset
 

Been to The Windmill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 58 Nore Road, Portishead BS20 6JZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Portishead
  • Phone Number: 01275 843677

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Windmill Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Windmill Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?