We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rustic Arms

Certificate of Excellence
$$
+ Add cuisine
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
7 Long Lane | Ackworth, Pontefract WF77EZ, England
+44 1977 705673
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Rustic Arms and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 134 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 65
    Excellent
  • 33
    Very good
  • 17
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Golden Wedding Treat

Attended a Golden Wedding Celebration Lunch. The food was lovely. All beautiful quality. Cooked meats, cheese and cheesecake especially good. One suggestion: get more chips out sooner, as though there were plenty left over at the end I think some people in the middle of the queue failed to get any... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 2 weeks ago
Lynn P
,
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The rustic arms is a experience I do enjoy, it's a little worn in places but that's not a reflection on the food! It's just amazing! All local produce as we asked the waitress where they got there charcoal cheese from :) and in happy to let my children play out without worrying, staff are always polite and attentive and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Prinnyj
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Attended a Golden Wedding Celebration Lunch. The food was lovely. All beautiful quality. Cooked meats, cheese and cheesecake especially good. One suggestion: get more chips out sooner, as though there were plenty left over at the end I think some people in the middle of the queue failed to get any as the original ones had gone and the new... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review. We thank you for choosing the Rustic Arms for you 50 celebration and wish you all the best. Your family and friends where a joy to look after. We do apologise if the wedges where not out quick enough, sometimes it is quite hard to get all wedges out at the some time when... More 

Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just moved to the area from the south east have visited three times with family and friends each time we have been made very welcome each time the food has been of an excellent quality and well presented. Staff very friendly nothing is to much trouble you feel you go as a customer leave like a friend .we came along... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keren S
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is the second time we have called here and boy had it changed. The first time they had plenty of choice on the menu and thoroughly enjoyed it. This time however the menu choice was poor especially for vegetarians. Staff are lovely and I would call for a drink but for me I wouldn't eat there.

Helpful?
Thank MrsMaisiemoo
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your review. You did not say if you had eaten or weather you just looked at the menu's. We have been closing on a Monday and Tuesday through January as if you may of noticed we are decorating. We do usually have special boards with more choices but as been closed our delivery's are not arriving... More 

Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I called last night with my partner and we both had the rib eye steak. They were both cooked to perfection and really tender. The staff were very attentive and it was a nice relaxed atmosphere. I have been here on several occasions for the carvery on a Sunday but this is the first time I have sampled their evening... More 

Helpful?
Thank ochreelsie
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are pleased you both enjoy your Steaks and your evening with us. It is great to hear that you do come for our Sunday Carvery and decided to try us on another occasion. Thank you again for you review and also for your support. More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Coudn't fault the service which was attentive and helpful .Food was the fairly ordinary pub variety . Afraid nothing has been very exceptional here since the Brown Trout restaurant ceased to be ! But it isn't expensive and the interior is attractive .

Helpful?
Thank ALISON H
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are a Country pub with a Variety of food choices, we have a dinning room and not a restaurant. We do however do different specials at the weekend and on the specials board. The Brown Trout Restaurant was many moons ago. we like to promote home cooked fresh food. Thank you for your review.... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

We picked this place for our New Year's Eve meal following great reviews on the Leeds-List country pubs shortlist. Sadly, we were disappointed. The pub is generally rather nice but the food was a massive let down. My starter of the specials board (prawn cocktail) was really poor. The prawns were soggy and watery, almost as if they were left... More 

Helpful?
Thank ELargo
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we will take on board everything you have said as our staff do read all reviews happy new year to you More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

My friend and I have met here several times for lunch, and always enjoy it. We are always made to feel welcome by Caroline and the food is lovely and served beautifully. The chips are exceptional.

Helpful?
Thank jeanie698
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. So please you enjoy your happy new year and hope you both still keep coming for lunch happy new year More 

South Milford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

Following our visit the previous year we booked to go again this year. What a bad mistake. Our party included a vegan for whom they said they could cater. This they could not He was only able to have a starter. The main was inedible. No desert for him could be provided. For the rest of our party the food... More 

Helpful?
Thank robert c
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi thank you for you review. May we apologise for your experience on Boxing Day. We have discussed this with our chefs as we do like to be able to look after people with different food choices. This gentleman ate with us before Christmas and his meal was supplied, We must say we do not know what went wrong this... More 

Dodworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

The annual dinner for the club was really great, the Carvery was fantastic and really enjoyed by all. This place is the right price for a Sunday lunch,and has a great ambiance. They land lady took really good care of us and made it a great day for me as we took our Sealyham Terrier who sat under the table... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Philip W
Caroline F, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch, as always it was great to see you all and lovely to meet the little dog. We hope you all have a great Christmas and Happy New Year. Hope to see you all in 2016 More 

Travelers who viewed The Rustic Arms also viewed

Pontefract, West Yorkshire
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
 
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Rustic Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 7 Long Lane | Ackworth, Pontefract WF77EZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Pontefract
  • Phone Number: +44 1977 705673

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 10 - 22

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Large groups

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Rustic Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?