We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rustic Arms

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
7 Long Lane | Ackworth, Pontefract, England
+44 1977 705673
Website
Add hours for The Rustic Arms and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 91 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 43
    Excellent
  • 27
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
great service

We visited this place for a family meal in May and it was better than I expected. My order of a main meal got mixed up but the staff were very apologetic and instead of receiving venison I received pork medallions. But the staff were very apologetic about this mix up and told me I could have a... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 23, 2015
dinielle5
via mobile
Good for:
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 NEW via mobile

Having never eaten here before, I obviously didn't know what to expect and when I saw the limited menu, I didn't have high hopes. However, when the food arrived, any doubts we (a family of six) may have had were immediately quashed. The food was excellent, and everyone enjoyed their meals (a rarity for a family of six). The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 via mobile

We visited this place for a family meal in May and it was better than I expected. My order of a main meal got mixed up but the staff were very apologetic and instead of receiving venison I received pork medallions. But the staff were very apologetic about this mix up and told me I could have a free pudding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

found this by chance when we were up in Pontefract. Really good home cooked food and the service was excellent. Nice outdoor area especially if you have children

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

had lovely lunch with family ages 67, 47, 45 17 16 and 13 all enjoyed want we had and service was first rate, really enjoyed the afternoon

Was this review helpful? Yes
therusticarms2012, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff looked after you all Thank you again and hope we see you all again More 

Knottingley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

Visited with the family for the Sunday Carvery. What a lovely pub. The staff were very welcoming and couldn't do enough. They brought a high chair for our toddler and didn't bat an eyelid when she spilled her drink, the young man cheerfully wiped it up. This place is very family friendly and they have a lovely playground & beer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
therusticarms2012, Manager at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the Carvery and the family atmosphere. We will look forward to you visiting again soon. More 

Southampton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

My husband and I were up visiting his dad in Pontefract and wanted to find somewhere that served home cooked food not one of the normal chains/themed pubs and were very lucky to find the Rustic Arms, read some of the reviews and decided it was exactly what we were looking for and we weren't disappointed. Carvery was delicious, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
therusticarms2012, Manager at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Morpeth
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

We were only in the area for a couple of nights and our hotel was 20+ miles away,when we noticed one of the brown tourist info signs for the Rustic Arms and decided to give it a try and boy were we pleased we did! Even though its close to major towns and urban sprawl,it sits in what is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
therusticarms2012, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for such a wonderful review. I must say that our staff came and told us about your review as I had not been on Trip Advisor that day due to being busy. We are so pleased you enjoyed both visits to our Pub and sorry we are so far away, maybe if you come down this way... More 

Selby, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

found this place when seeking a nice pub lunch with my friend whilst passing through ackworth. lovely pub and not too busy so no screaming kids during easter holidays. ordered a bacon, brie and cranberry baguette which came with salad and the yummiest home made chips. great value for money. thoroughly enjoyed!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
therusticarms2012, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your kind review. We are hidden away a little of the Main roads but it is always nice to know that people see our sign and come to see what we are about. It so pleasing when we receive kind reviews as our staff always look at reviews people leave it gives them a boost and... More 

Wakefield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015 via mobile

This was our first visit here and it won't be our last. We called in for a drink and decided to try the Carvery. Even though it was extremely busy the landlady went out of her way to find us a table. The Carvery itself was delicious, the meat was tender and the veg were cooked perfectly. We didn't feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
therusticarms2012, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed you Carvery and visit to our pub. We do try to make sure everyone is looked after to the best of our ability, our staff are young but very hard working. Thank you so much again and hope to see you again. More 

yorkshire england
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

I had heard about the Rustic Arms from someone who had been there one afternoon so out shopping we decided to call for lunch. The car park was just about empty so was unsure whether to go in. I went to look and found just 2 tables occupied. So of course not much atmosphere..we decided to stay and give it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
therusticarms2012, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Sorry for the delay in responding to your review, may we thank you for popping in to have a bite to eat also thank you for your kind review. We do agree our pub could do with an up lift to say the least. We have been here just over 3 yrs and have only managed to refurb the function... More 

Travelers who viewed The Rustic Arms also viewed

Pontefract, West Yorkshire
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
 
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Rustic Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 7 Long Lane | Ackworth, Pontefract, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Pontefract
  • Phone Number: +44 1977 705673

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 11 - 23
  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Rustic Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?