We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rustic Arms

7 Long Lane | Ackworth, Pontefract, England
+44 1977 705673
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 62 Restaurants in Pontefract
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: British
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    22
    11
    6
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

this was quite possible the worst meal I have ever eaten. We visited, hoping for a lovely spot of lunch and sadly it was far from that. The service was slow to say the least and when the food arrived one dish, hunters chicken, was clearly microwaved and tasted truly terrible and rubbery. The other dish ordered was a pear... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
therusticarms2012, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi Sir, I must say on reading your review I was very shocked. As I was in the office while you and your wife/partner were being served I was not aware of your complaint, I then approached both the waitress and the bar person that attended the shift and also replayed our CCTV. The waitress said that she was quite... More

Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We recently held our wedding reception and evening party at the rustic arms. We could not have asked for better food, service and attention to detail. The manageress, Caroline was the ideal hostess, attentive, helpful and ran the entire day seamlessly. Mark, Caroline's husband ensured that the decor of the function room was of the highest standard, neutral light and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
therusticarms2012, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi Samantha thank you so much for your wonderful review. We can honestly say everyone at the Rustic Arms really enjoyed working that day. It was a pleasure looking after all of you. I must say it was a very special day from start to finish and an extra plus the weather was perfect. We wish you both all the... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

just took my family out for Friday evening dinner. Got told when we ordered it will be 45 mins waited over 1 and half hours till I asked a member of staff how long our food would be he went away to the kitchen when he returned he asked what did you order, that was the last straw and I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
therusticarms2012, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. I can remember your conversation with my Husband. When you arrived a member of our staff informed you that the wait for food would be minimum of 45mins, You said you where happy to wait, on your approach to the bar you told my Husband you and your family had waited sum time I went... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

The rustic arms is a very good pub for the family they have quite a few games for the kids and a play area with a view of a lake it is very peaceful and relaxing also they have little hens that walk around the play area and that is quite unusual but extraordinary! The food is great and is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
therusticarms2012, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We love to hear that people are enjoying our Pub facilities. We do love to see Families enjoying there time together in our Gardens and in the Pub Thank you again More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The outside garden is fantastic. Very relaxing watching people fish the pond with chickens running around at your feet. A couple of pints on a sunny afternoon would be very pleasant here. Inside is very much stuck in the 80's. The food is the big let down. Pie was ok. garlic mushrooms were burned and garlic bread was stale. Even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
therusticarms2012, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi Thank You for your comments I find it hard that you Did not let anyone know that there was a problem with your food as people are asked all the time if everything is ok. I can only apologise about the fly's in the vinegar as we do clean them daily and cover them at night it is a... More

Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We visit the Rustic Arms quite regularly both to eat and just to call for a drink. All the staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you. A couple of months ago we decided to try the couples menu and the food was absolutely gorgeous. We have never had a problem with any of the food but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
therusticarms2012, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Thank You so much for your Kind Words. We are glad you enjoy our food The Couples Menu we think is a great Idea as it allows our Chefs to do different food away from the everyday pub Menu. Thank You again from all the Staff at the Rustic Arms More

Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have just spent a really enjoyable Sunday lunchtime at THE RUSTIC ARMS, the carvery meal was one of the best I have ever had anywhere. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the pub and grounds are really beautiful, the gardens look out onto a nearby fishing lake, so its a really peaceful , beautiful setting. I recomend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
therusticarms2012, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Thank you So Much for your kind reviews as I have said in my previous reply it gives our staff a big boost. Also for Mark and My self to come home to read this has shown us that our staff have done a pretty good Job whilst we have been away. Thank you again hope we see you soon More

Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Thank you to the Staff for making us feel so welcome, this was our first visit and we would recommend. Family Friendly and a nice scenic garden with a fishing lake which is safely fenced off. The food was good value for money and a fair size. Thank you again, we will be visiting again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
therusticarms2012, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for all your kind words. We are sure this has given our staff a boost. We do employ a few young people at The Rustics but they are Local or from the surrounding arrears. As it is hard for young people to get jobs so that they can save and buy things for them selves which... More

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I have visited this pub 8-10 times so far thus summer and love it kids run a muck (outside) hubby watches the ponds n I relax the food is lovely is homemade but my last visit was a bit of a let down waitress service terrible when we said the food wasnt as good this week she said "oh" n... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
therusticarms2012, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your comments, I do believe this Sunday was a very busy day But that does not excuses our staff doing there Job correctly. We do now ask all our staff to read Trip Adviser so they understand and see what people are saying about them and of course our Pub. We will take on board all... More

pontefract
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Hi i always try this pub when they get new owners , they have been in a while now , food is expensive and poor at best , the most un nerving part is been sat in the dining area an the water dripping on the end of my table.never again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
therusticarms2012, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your comment but would also like to ask We have reported this Problem to Enterprise Inns but it has failed to be repaired However may be if you and your party could complained to them we may get the problem fixed. I would like to apologise for your visit not being a good... More

Travelers who viewed The Rustic Arms also viewed

Pontefract, West Yorkshire
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
 
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Rustic Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rustic Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing