We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rustic Arms

7 Long Lane | Ackworth, Pontefract, England
+44 1977 705673
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 62 restaurants in Pontefract
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: British
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    21
    11
    6
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

The rustic arms is a very good pub for the family they have quite a few games for the kids and a play area with a view of a lake it is very peaceful and relaxing also they have little hens that walk around the play area and that is quite unusual but extraordinary! The food is great and is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
therusticarms2012, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We love to hear that people are enjoying our Pub facilities. We do love to see Families enjoying there time together in our Gardens and in the Pub Thank you again More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The outside garden is fantastic. Very relaxing watching people fish the pond with chickens running around at your feet. A couple of pints on a sunny afternoon would be very pleasant here. Inside is very much stuck in the 80's. The food is the big let down. Pie was ok. garlic mushrooms were burned and garlic bread was stale. Even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
therusticarms2012, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi Thank You for your comments I find it hard that you Did not let anyone know that there was a problem with your food as people are asked all the time if everything is ok. I can only apologise about the fly's in the vinegar as we do clean them daily and cover them at night it is a... More

Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We visit the Rustic Arms quite regularly both to eat and just to call for a drink. All the staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you. A couple of months ago we decided to try the couples menu and the food was absolutely gorgeous. We have never had a problem with any of the food but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
therusticarms2012, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Thank You so much for your Kind Words. We are glad you enjoy our food The Couples Menu we think is a great Idea as it allows our Chefs to do different food away from the everyday pub Menu. Thank You again from all the Staff at the Rustic Arms More

Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have just spent a really enjoyable Sunday lunchtime at THE RUSTIC ARMS, the carvery meal was one of the best I have ever had anywhere. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the pub and grounds are really beautiful, the gardens look out onto a nearby fishing lake, so its a really peaceful , beautiful setting. I recomend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
therusticarms2012, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Thank you So Much for your kind reviews as I have said in my previous reply it gives our staff a big boost. Also for Mark and My self to come home to read this has shown us that our staff have done a pretty good Job whilst we have been away. Thank you again hope we see you soon More

Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Thank you to the Staff for making us feel so welcome, this was our first visit and we would recommend. Family Friendly and a nice scenic garden with a fishing lake which is safely fenced off. The food was good value for money and a fair size. Thank you again, we will be visiting again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
therusticarms2012, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for all your kind words. We are sure this has given our staff a boost. We do employ a few young people at The Rustics but they are Local or from the surrounding arrears. As it is hard for young people to get jobs so that they can save and buy things for them selves which... More

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I have visited this pub 8-10 times so far thus summer and love it kids run a muck (outside) hubby watches the ponds n I relax the food is lovely is homemade but my last visit was a bit of a let down waitress service terrible when we said the food wasnt as good this week she said "oh" n... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
therusticarms2012, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your comments, I do believe this Sunday was a very busy day But that does not excuses our staff doing there Job correctly. We do now ask all our staff to read Trip Adviser so they understand and see what people are saying about them and of course our Pub. We will take on board all... More

pontefract
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Hi i always try this pub when they get new owners , they have been in a while now , food is expensive and poor at best , the most un nerving part is been sat in the dining area an the water dripping on the end of my table.never again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
therusticarms2012, Owner at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your comment but would also like to ask We have reported this Problem to Enterprise Inns but it has failed to be repaired However may be if you and your party could complained to them we may get the problem fixed. I would like to apologise for your visit not being a good... More

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Rustic Arms is a family friendly pub with a great outdoor area for kids to play with plenty of outside seating for supervision. There is a fishing lake next to it which is safely fenced off which adds to the setting. The staff are friendly and the food is great value for money - good old fashioned pub food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
therusticarms2012, Manager at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi to everyone that visits The Rustic Arms we are a family Country Pub With Home Cooked Food not fasts but when busy you have to wait an hour we respect everyone that visits use but if you have a complaint please tell us not other people we can put it wright not them this review was so lovely and... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

I went with my friends to try this restaurant, and all of us dissapointed. We ordered a vegetable lasagne and after 5 minutes the waittres came and said they have no any. (she should know this before she is takingorder. I ordered the belly pork which was awful, full with fat and when i said to the waittres the answer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
therusticarms2012, Manager at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your Comments I Not Sure if You and your Party came Saturday I do Think I can remember as I do try to speak to everyone. Yes we had sold out of Veg Lasagne it is a popular dish, the Waitresses don't always get to know what we have sold out off until the Chefs Say... More

Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Visited on Friday evening. First visit since 2008 & very pleased with what was on offer. The setting is very picturesque with a fishing lake, children's play area and plenty of grass for them to roam. As the weather was warm we sat outside. The food we ordered was reasonably priced with good portion size. The pub was quite busy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
therusticarms2012, Manager at The Rustic Arms, responded to this review

Hi Gareth Thank you for your comment , It is always nice to hear people are enjoying our Pub. How ever I do believe you where over charged on your drinks if you would like to come and see me next time you call in I will rectify this. Thank You Once again. More

Travelers who viewed The Rustic Arms also viewed

Pontefract, West Yorkshire
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
 
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Rustic Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rustic Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing