We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Robert Pocock - J D Wetherspoon

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
181-183 Windmill Street, Gravesend DA12 1AH, England
+44 1474 352765
Website
Improve this listing
Today
8:00 am - 1:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 8:00 am - 12:00 am
Fri - Sat 8:00 am - 1:00 am
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Description: The Robert Pocock is located in the middle of Gravesend high street, off...
The Robert Pocock is located in the middle of Gravesend high street, off Windmill Street. We also have another entrance to the pub off Stone Street. There are numerous public car parking facilities close by and buses pass through Gravesend High Street regularly everyday.
Relax and enjoy our extensive food and drink menu which brings to your great offers all day. We pride ourselves on delivering great customer service and a pub that does a great variety of real ale. We run a safe community pub that welcomes families. We also take bookings for many occassions.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 73 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 22
    Excellent
  • 28
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Wide sele

A wide selection of cheap drinks in the usual J D Wetherspoons atmosphere, surprisingly chirpy bar staff and not a bad effort all round. Worth a cheeky cheap half where you'll get what you pay for so no complaints here.

4 of 5 starsReviewed 5 weeks ago
Talldavem
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

It is what it is...cheap beer and food and not that great.... had Bombardier..not bad pint, but not great pint. As wet her spoons go, middle of the road and no surprises.

Helpful?
Thank Deepak M
TheRobertPocock, Manager at The Robert Pocock - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you were not overwhelmed by the pint you had. We hope you can return to try more of our beer as we pride ourselves on selling good real ale. We have a great range of craft beer on sale so maybe come on by sometime and try some of them, which are... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

A wide selection of cheap drinks in the usual J D Wetherspoons atmosphere, surprisingly chirpy bar staff and not a bad effort all round. Worth a cheeky cheap half where you'll get what you pay for so no complaints here.

Helpful?
Thank Talldavem
TheRobertPocock, Manager at The Robert Pocock - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Hi thanks for your good feedback from your visit. We try very hard to provide a good atmosphere in our pub and we aim to be very friendly to our customers to help provide this. we hope to see you again soon.kind regards. rob , pub manager. More 

Dartford
Level Contributor
308 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

Never tried this pub before but familiar with Wetherspoon pubs and wanted somewhere spacious (3 wheelchair users in our party), good value food and near the Woodville Halls to get to the panto afterwards. Good from start to finish really. Staff pleasant on the phone when I made the booking, locals friendly holding doors open, even to the extent of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Veronica H
TheRobertPocock, Manager at The Robert Pocock - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Hi Veronica. Thank you for your lovely feedback from your visit to us in December. It is always great to get nice feedback from our customers and my team will be pleased to hear it when i tell them. i'm pleased you think highly our team and our service which we provide. Long may we continue to do so. If... More 

Northfleet
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015 via mobile

.....that we have just had the most delicious rump steak! The quality of our meal was far better than I had anticipated, especially as it was only just over £9 each including a glass of lovely chilled rose wine and a pint of bitter. We waited only 10 minutes, despite the place being almost full, and the steak was cooked... More 

Helpful?
Thank NorthfleetSue
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

This is a great meeting point in the town centre, where you can have a great breakfast, lunch or evening meal at great prices with good service. I would highly recommend you start here when you visit Gravesend.

Helpful?
Thank Peter W
TheRobertPocock, Manager at The Robert Pocock - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Hi Peter. thank you for good feedback from your visit in December. Its always nice when we hear that other people would recommend us and to have our prices and service positively recognised. We hope you visit us again soon. Kind regards. Rob, pub manager. More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015 via mobile

Food was absolutely terrible.. I actually snapped my sausage from my mixed grill into about 4 prices and when I complained to the lying manager he just took it and said they are freshly cooked I wish I had taken a photo... Definitely will never be eating there again and wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy... And didn't even... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan G
TheRobertPocock, Manager at The Robert Pocock - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Hi Alan. First of all i would like apologise for the poor service and low standard of food you received on your visit. We totally accept that this is not good enough and there was obviously not enough attention paid to you and your complaint on your visit. I feel that this is definitely not up to our usual high... More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

Quick service, good food, good beer, value for money. Stopped here late on a Thursday evening, had the Christmas roast which was very good, my companion had the Chicken Korma which she said had more chicken then usual and was even better than the quality that she had come to expect on Curry Night,

Helpful?
Thank Sinope1954
TheRobertPocock, Manager at The Robert Pocock - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Hi there! thank you for your lovely feedback from your visit back in November. I have passed your feedback onto my team who are always keen to hear feedback left on here. Its always nice to hear when people like the quick service, good food and beer and value for money which we work hard to deliver. We're glad you... More 

Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

I was surprised how busy this pub was. I know it was a Friday but almost every table was taken. We just about found a small table. The beer was excellent. We both had fish and chips - which in my opinion is the best thing on the Wetherspoon's menu. Considering how busy it was, the service was prompt and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike N
TheRobertPocock, Manager at The Robert Pocock - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. Its nice to be recognised for our excellent beer, prompt service and great food, which we work to hard to deliver to our customers. I have passed on your comments to the rest of my team. We look forward to you returning. Kind Regards. Rob More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015 via mobile

Seems like a very well run pub with a great team of staff who seem to get on well, very friendly bunch with a lovely pint on tap, enjoyed this place

Helpful?
1 Thank Cockney1966
TheRobertPocock, Manager at The Robert Pocock - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you very much for your feedback. i have passed it on to the rest of my team. we hope you come on by again soon. Kind regards. Rob More 

Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015

We visited this pub last night as Gravesend had there fireworks well we was shocked No only was it really busy ,I thought we would have a long wait for food When we ordered was told 15 minutes as we where a party of 5adults and 2 children I thought no way is that going to happen 15minutes to do... More 

Helpful?
Thank Medwayshopper
TheRobertPocock, Manager at The Robert Pocock - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

H there! Thank you very much for your feedback on your visit to our pub. Its great when people recognise the service and food quality we work extremely hard to deliver. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to you guys coming back. I have passed your comments onto the rest of my team. Kind... More 

Travelers who viewed The Robert Pocock - J D Wetherspoon also viewed

 
Gravesend, Kent
 

Been to The Robert Pocock - J D Wetherspoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 181-183 Windmill Street, Gravesend DA12 1AH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Gravesend
  • Phone Number: +44 1474 352765

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children

Description

The Robert Pocock is located in the middle of Gravesend high street, off Windmill Street. We also have another entrance to the pub off Stone Street. There are numerous public car parking facilities close by and buses pass through Gravesend High Street regularly everyday.
Relax and enjoy our extensive food and drink menu which brings to your great offers all day. We pride ourselves on delivering great customer service and a pub that does a great variety of real ale. We run a safe community pub that welcomes families. We also take bookings for many occassions.
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
8:00 am - 1:00 am
Saturday
8:00 am - 1:00 am

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Robert Pocock - J D Wetherspoon and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Robert Pocock - J D Wetherspoon staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?