We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monsoon

2150 Allainby Way, Hampton, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 244 restaurants in Hampton
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Downey Green
Reserve with OpenTable
Monsoon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    25
    8
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is my second review of Monsoon. I wanted to do a second review for a couple of reasons. 1. We haven't been back to Monsoon until just a couple of weeks ago due to my husband's surgery. Once he recovered, Monsoon was the one and only place he wanted to go, so we got take out. I fell in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darshak P, Owner at Monsoon, responded to this review

Thank You for reviewing us again and giving us 5 star. It means a lot to us and we are glad that you are our regular and loyal customer. Your comments are always welcomed and thank you for noticing the replies to them. We will pass on the compliments to the team of Monsoon and would love to keep improving... More

Seaford, Delaware
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Food and service were excellent. Very upscale and contemporary décor for an Indian restaurant. Kudos to the ownership and management.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darshak P, Owner at Monsoon, responded to this review

Thank You for reviewing us and giving us 5 star. It means a lot to us. We will pass on the compliments to the team of Monsoon and would love to keep improving and serving you in better ways. We strive to make each and every customer happy and make their day. I am glad that we did it again.... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My son took me to Monsoon for lunch ... my first visit. I decided to try the lunch chicken curry. It was delicious ... very rich and just the right spice blend. The curry, basmati rice, and naan were the right amount for a satisfying lunch and were presented beautifully. I enjoyed the meal and can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darshak P, Owner at Monsoon, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time out of your busy schedule and reviewing us 5 star. It means a lot to us. We offer you the more value for your money. Our Executive Lunch portions are loved by our regular customers and they do appreciate what's included in it. We offer Executive Lunch which includes Two Course meal - Appetizers and... More

Newport News, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

There are parking meters in front of the restaurant, but free parking is available on the edges of the mall. When entering Monsoon, the aroma of Indian spices greet you at the door. The atmosphere is classy and modern. The restaurant is dimly lit, with neon lighting overhead. The first thing to catch my eye while walking in is the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darshak P, Owner at Monsoon, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time out of your busy schedule and giving us 5 star. It means a lot to us and we are glad that you are our regular and loyal customer. It's an honor to have such a loyal guest like you who poured heart out and noticed most of the details and appreciated us. We will pass... More

Hampton, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My wife and I first visited Monsoon's when visiting Langley prior to our move here. It was, in fact, the first meal we ate in Hampton stopping in by chance. It was excellent, and we've been back several times since being stationed here. Whenever friends or family are in town to visit, we always take them to Monsoon's. The food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Darshak P, Owner at Monsoon, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time out of your busy schedule and giving us 5 star. It means a lot to us and we are glad that you are our regular and loyal customer. We will pass on the compliments to the team of Monsoon and would love to keep improving and serving you in more better ways. We strive to... More

Newport News, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This place was really over priced, especially for lunch, and the food was very average. It also smelled like cleaner, which was terrible.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darshak P, Owner at Monsoon, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time out of your busy schedule and review us. We offer Express Lunch which includes Two Course meal - Appetizers and Main Course. Main course is served with Aged white Basmati Rice and freshly baked homemade Naan bread. We offer you the more value for your money. Our Express Lunch portions are loved by our regular... More

HAMPTON
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband took me here for a special occasion as we'd been before and enjoyed the atmosphere and food. I had a lamb tandoori with grilled vegetable and basmati rice. My husband had the chicken tandoori. We also shared some plain naan bread. Though I like spicy food, I've learned to order my dinner "mild" which is just right and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darshak P, Owner at Monsoon, responded to this review

Thank You for reviewing us again. It means a lot to us and we are glad that you are our regular and loyal customer. If you would like to enjoy your food mild, it's not a problem. Even though we say mild, it still has the blend of spices & herbs in it. So it’s mild not bland. Also about... More

Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We really like the lunch dishes like vindaloo and korma. They get them hot enough for my taste. Black pepper tikka is excellent. The service is sometimes a little too attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darshak P, Owner at Monsoon, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time out of your busy schedule and giving us 5 star. It means a lot to us and we are glad that you loved us.We count on loyal customers like you, and it always motivates the team to do better by getting appreciation like yours. Yes, our cuisine is always been loved for nice flavors and... More

Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

we loved the food...great flavors and huge menu options. reasonable prices too. an older gentleman server was a little too overbearing though often standing right by our table and watching us eat...got to be honest...it was a little weird. still give this place a 5 for the delicious food!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darshak P, Owner at Monsoon, responded to this review

Thank You for reviewing us and giving us 5 star. It means a lot to us. We count on loyal customers like you, and it always motivates the team to do better by getting appreciation like yours. Thank you for loving our cuisine. We will make sure about the service part you mentioned to make sure it does not happen... More

Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The food was great, Loved The Naan as it was fresh. Portions are enough for 2 meals, so plan on sharing or having some leftovers. I also had the Mango chutney, just yummy. I would have prefered a quieter place, softer music. When I used the restroom, the lighting actually bothered my eyes, I think it was the LEDs in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Monsoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monsoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing