We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm

7 Crosstown Road, PO Box 367, Dover, VT 05356
+1 802-464-8131
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #15 of 28 restaurants in Dover
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A quintessential Country Inn located on 20 beautiful acres in Southern Vermont. Minutes from Mount Snow, Stratton and Bromley for world class skiing and snowboarding. Snowshoe and cross country ski the Inn's trails. Summer brings golfing, mountain biking, hiking and horseback riding. Fish or canoe our ponds, explore our walking trail, or just relax by our outdoor pool. Savor wonderful Italian cuisine at NONNA'S, our in-house restaurant, then relax in the comfort of one of our 21 unique guest rooms- all with private baths. Full country breakfast included with your stay. Come visit the Inn, and you will understand why our guests have been coming back to us for more than 40 years!
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A quintessential Country Inn located on 20 beautiful acres in Southern Vermont. Minutes from Mount Snow, Stratton and Bromley for world class skiing and snowboarding. Snowshoe and cross country ski the Inn's trails. Summer brings golfing, mountain biking, hiking and horseback riding. Fish or canoe our ponds, explore our walking trail, or just relax by our outdoor pool. Savor wonderful Italian cuisine at NONNA'S, our in-house restaurant, then relax in the comfort of one of our 21 unique guest rooms- all with private baths. Full country breakfast included with your stay. Come visit the Inn, and you will understand why our guests have been coming back to us for more than 40 years!
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    24
    11
    9
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I was visiting Vermont and went to Nonna's for dinner with my parents. Marco, the GM greeted us and was very friendly and inviting. We began with the Lobster Ravioli appetizer which was amazing! The ravioli was stuffed with lobster and also topped with lobster which was prepared perfectly. All of our entrees were great! We had the duck, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SawmillVT, General Manager at Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear of your enjoyable experience. Your friends at The Sawmill More

Auburn, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Quaint, but run down looking. So so fare for top dollar. I expected more. The wait staff seemed more interested in just getting through the not so busy night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Herzlia, Israel
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

My wife and I ate here while staying at the Sawmill Inn. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was great . Live music made it very enjoyable. Service was excellent too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sawmill_Nonnas, General Manager at Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal and the live music at Nonna's. Marco and your friends at The Sawmill More

Babylon, New York
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I am extremely disappointed with Nonna’s. We came here last winter, had a wonderful experience and decided to come back this year, specifically for the baked brie with berries. This visit however was vastly different. Our waitress, Charlotte, initially came to take our dinner order, unable to list the specials, and without first asking if we wanted drinks. I needed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sawmill_Nonnas, General Manager at Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm, responded to this review

We are so sorry for your experience. Charlotte is an excellent server and is very professional and always gets outstanding comments and gratuities from our customers. This is not like her. While we appreciate your feedback, it is always more helpful for any restaurant to be notified immediately in order to take corrective action and to ensure you leave happy.... More

Ridgewood, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Had dinner here. It was just OK, not great. Overpriced for what it was. The food definitely did not match the price. Atmosphere is good, quaint. We are gluten free and while they said they could cook anything, to them that meant chicken with rise and vegetables or grilling a fish. The server was a bit cranky/impatient and really not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SawmillVT, General Manager at Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm, responded to this review

Sir, You came to see me (the general manager) personally and I assured you we could accommodate your request for gluten free including the gluten free pasta we carry. In fact many dishes on the menu are already gluten free. For example the duck, steak, and the fish specials we had. You chose the gluten free pasta and I asked... More

Rhode Island
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Though the rooms decor are a rustic look with charm the food is Italian. The sitting area has a large working fireplace which is a wonderful place to have a pre dinner drink. It is casual and lends itself to talking to those sitting nearby. Soon people are sharing their favoirte ski sloops and why they like them. Food is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VTfoodie7, General Manager at Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We ask our guests if they have reservations as a courtesy to those that call to make them even if we are not busy. Hope to see you again soon. Your friends at The Sawmill More

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have family that own ski condo in the area and decide to give it a try since we drove by it many times. When we got there, the dinning room was empty and we were asked if we have reservation. Since we don't she asked us to wait while she check, that took about 15 minutes and the place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VTfoodie7, General Manager at Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm, responded to this review

We are disappointed to hear of your experience. We are also quite certain that we never kept anybody waiting on the evening you dined with us. As far as your comments on the food, we have had nothing but positive reviews on the same entrees directly from our customers while they were in our dining room. If possible we would... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The food was fine at this restaurant. But that was it. Just fine. The reviews were great and we were all disappointed. It is also expensive to buy the kids pasta for $15 plus dollars. They offered half sizes for $9 but the portions were so small that we had to order more. Our food was average and not memorable.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VTfoodie7, Manager at Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm, responded to this review

As a finer dining establishment we do not have a children's menu. We do the best we can to accommodate children with smaller portions but if you are looking for a "cheap" restaurant then there are other establishments we can recommend. More

East Hampton, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This was my first time dining at Nonna's and I had a pleasant experience. The service was great and the food was delicious. It was a very slow evening so the staff was attentive. I ordered the ceasar salad and penne with vodka sauce. Warm bread with olive oil and balsamic vinegar was served before the entrees. The pasta was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Sorry guys I love vermont and i try to support the local businesses as best i can but This is the worst Italian food I have ever had. We went opening night of the season. Service was slow and unattentive. But that's not the story...its the red sauce they serve. Literally plain tomato sauce with a hint of oregano. Nothing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VTfoodie7, Manager at Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm, responded to this review

We are so sorry for how you felt about your meal. Our chef invites you and any guest to his kitchen to show you that he makes his sauce with nothing but the finest and freshest ingredients. This includes locally sourced fresh herbs (not dried ones in a jar). It has a fresh, bright flavor intended to complement different types... More

Travelers who viewed Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm also viewed

 

Been to Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing