We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5183 Main Street, Route 7a, Manchester, VT 05255
+1 802-362-0611
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 63 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $31
Hours:
Sun - Sat 4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Open daily for dinner from 5pm with last seating at 9pm.Reservations are suggested. Our Tavern is handicapped accessible and attire is casual neat.Ye Olde Tavern has facilities for meetings and special events, such as Brunch, Lunch, Dinner and Cocktails. We can serve up to 90 people.The State of Vermont has recognized our circa 1790 Colonial Inn as a 'Green Restaurants'. Wine Specatator & Wine Enthusiast Magazine have recognized our Wine List as one of the best in the country. Minna & Michael Brandt- Proprietors Jeannette Garneau- General Manager Cliff Cooper- Executive Chef
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    110
    40
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raymertown, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We have dined at Ye Olde Tavern many, many times over the years. The early bird special is one of our favorites - the fritters, the salad, the entrée, the vegetables to share however we prefer, the rice or potatoes, and, the topping, the dessert, all for a mere $17.00. We have dined in just about every room in that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review

1st, thank you for dining at our tavern multiple times. 2nd, As hard as it is to read negative guest comments, we can only get better with guest feedback. We do appreciate you communicating with us. I just wish you had mentioned your issues when you were here, so we could made sure you left satisfied and wanting to come... More 

kingston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

This is a restaurant that presents a typical New England meal in an atmosphere that is reminiscent of Colonial times. The fritters are delicious as well as the meal which follows. On weekdays, an early meal is offered at a lower price. Great place to eat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review

Karen, Thank you so much for your glowing review of our circa 1790 Colonial Inn and of course dining with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your 'Tavern Experience' and that you are spreading the word about our Early Bird Menu. We look forward to seeing you ,on your next visit to Manchester. Cheers! Michael More 

South East
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

As it gets dark in January by 4:30, going for their early bird (till 5:59 PM) seemed logical. What a great value...bread, fritters, salad, many choices for a main hearty entrée, small dessert and coffee or hot tea. All on a day with the temperature in the single digits for $17.00. The environment is cozy, fires going in the colonial... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and spreading the word about our historic tavern. We’re so glad that you enjoyed your experience, from the food, to the cozy atmosphere and felt it was all for a great value. We look forward to your next visit. Best regards, Michael More 

Clifton Park, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

We arrived on a snowy, November night without a reservation, and they were able to squeeze us in (thank you!). The cranberry fritters were delicious and a perfect start to our meal. We followed them up with the Almond and Brown Sugar Encrusted Brie, and though we knew we were filling up before our dinners had even arrived, we couldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such kind comments and allowing us to share in your Vermont experience. I think our tavern is the most beautiful during a snowy evening. Our entire team strives to provide each guest with a flawless dining experience through our attention to detail, professional / fun staff., drink and comfort food. It certainly... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Went with my 3 college buddies and had a blast. We ate and drank like kings. I had the lobster bisque and prime rib. The lobster bisque was elegant and rich. The prime rib was to die for. It is a must go when we are in Vermont skiing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review

Jonathan, Thank you for dining with us and even better knowing that you had a blast. We look forward to welcoming you back on you next ski trip to Vermont. Take care, Michael More 

Monroe, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

The ambiance of this tavern and our waiter, Jeremy were both excellent but the food was a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review

First, thank you for dining with us,. Our entire team sincerely strive to offer each guest a wonderful historic atmosphere, great service and tasty food. Unfortunately we only checked 2 of 3 boxes. I wish you had said something while you were dining with us, so we could have corrected our error. Each guests comments are a learning experience and... More 

Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

We love Ye Olde Tavern and have eaten there many times. It is an old tavern very well kept up. Food and service are excellent. We've had their rack of lamb and steaks which were all very good. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review

Mary Lou, We are so flattered by your review. Our entire team works diligently to provide every guest with a high quality and consistent experience. That becomes even harder for those who frequent our restaurant like you. Thank you for everything and we hope to see again very soon! Michael More 

New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

My wife and I enjoyed a cozy dinner on a freezing cold night at Ye Old Tavern. It was our first time in VT and we are very happy we decided to eat at the tavern. The waitress was very attentive and knowledgable and we felt very welcomed and we did not feel rushed through our meal. We sat right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review

Thank you allowing us to be part of your 1st experience in Vermont. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience from the food to the service. I also appreciate the kind words and hope to have you dine with us again very soon. Cheers! Michael P.S. Customer feedback is a very important to us, I will pass... More 

Wayne, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

My family had a lovely dining experience at Ye Olde Tavern on 12/30/14. We were spending a few nights at Stratton and decided to leave the resort for dinner as we knew that Manchester had far better dining options. I did a bit of research on the restaurants in Manchester and was looking for a place that served good duck... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review

Thank you for driving down from Stratton to dine with us and for recommending us so highly, I don't even know where to begin with this wonderful review. It sounds like you loved every aspect of your evening, from the ambiance, to the service and the dishes themselves. That is exactly what we want to read. We are so glad... More 

Manchester, Vermont
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Whenever family comes to town The Ye Olde Tavern is always the one place we can all agree on…so it is where we always end up! Great ambiance, friendly and professional service; and the perfect variety of New England fare, vegetarian/GF options, and inspired specials to fulfill all the family's dietary needs. Cranberry fritters with homemade maple butter, choice of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review

Lynn, Thank you for making Ye Olde Tavern your 'go to place' in Manchester. Our Tavern is all about dining, from the food you love, to the food you would love to try, to the people you dine with, to the drink in your hand, to the historic ambiance that surrounds you. We try to adapt and grow with items... More 

Travelers who viewed YE OLDE TAVERN also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to YE OLDE TAVERN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YE OLDE TAVERN

Address: 5183 Main Street, Route 7a, Manchester, VT 05255
Phone Number: +1 802-362-0611
Location: United States  >  Vermont (VT)  >  Green Mountains  >  Manchester
Open Hours:
Sunday 4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday 4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday 4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday 4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday 4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday 4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday 4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 16 - 31
Cuisine: Seafood, Steakhouse, Vegetarian, Continental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from YE OLDE TAVERN staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?