We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 63 Manchester Restaurants

Bistro Henry

1942 Depot Street, Manchester, VT 05255
+1 802-362-4982
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ranked #23 of 63 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $18 - $50
Hours:
Sun 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tue - Thu 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Fri - Sat 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: East Manchester Road
Description: BISTRO HENRY has been delighting local and visitor alike for over 20 years with a unique blend of French & Italian and for our next 20 years bring you Steakhouse! I guarantee you will be delighted as well. The lovely restaurant on top of the hill is also the home of Henry's Summer BBQ & Dina's VT Baking Company. There is a large deck with beautiful views for a relaxing cocktail or outdoor dining. The spacious restaurant can accommodate private dining and we will cater nearly any type of party with our talented chefs, don't forget our Authentic BBQ. Year round we offer our $25 Three Course from 5-6 PM nightly and all night on Tuesdays (3 courses $25). I hope to see you soon. - Henry Bronson, Bistro Henry
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    38
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I stopped by on a Saturday afternoon to view the menu. The chef/owner stepped outside while i was viewing it and we chatted. I learned that in addition to the regular menu, there was an early bird menu, as well as a special restaurant week menu. Choices, choices. Both my wife and I enjoyed our meals and found the service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bistrohenry, Owner at Bistro Henry, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and took the time to share your positive experience. We look forward to your next visit. Henry More 

Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We read rave reviews about Bistro Henry so we decided to try it during our most recent trip to Dorset. Boy were we disappointed! We were sat in a side room with only 5 tables that made it feel like we were in a diner setting. The menu had a lot to choose from and my husband and I both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bistrohenry, Owner at Bistro Henry, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry that you were neglected. We have no excuse to offer, nor would we try. We do hope you'd give us another chance. More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

We selected Bistro Henry because of generally good reviews and we weren't looking for a fancy place. My husband had the filet appetizer -- pieces of filet on small rolls and he said that it was very good. I had the veal piccata. It is a tough dish to do well because the veal can be overcooked, the sauce too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bistrohenry, Owner at Bistro Henry, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. It appears that our veal piccata hit it out of the park. We are delighted you enjoyed it. More 

Londonderry, Vermont
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

I had the barbeque platter last visit and am never disappointed, my problem is choosing which items to include; pulled pork, brisket, ribs or chicken, so I usually get the "Fat Henry's Feast" which has all four. I can never finish it so I eat well at least once more that week. If your around during the " Smoking Season"(... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bistrohenry, Owner at Bistro Henry, responded to this review

It's nice to hear from a local who has dined here often. I am happy that we have made it hard to stay away. Thanks again. More 

Manchester, Vermont
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

We had a very nice meal here recently. Our server was friendly and attentive. Our drinks were delicious. Apps and entrees were very good too! Stuffed clams, seared foie grad, ribeye steak, tuna "pad thai". All great though "pad thai" was a stretch as a descriptor. Will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
bistrohenry, Owner at Bistro Henry, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to post them here on TA. More 

Dacula, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014 via mobile

I ordered from the special offering and had Pumpkin, Squash Ravioli. It was okay, but I expected a little more flavor. My husband had the tuna, which was excellent. Too bad his portion was rather small. We shared a seasonal Maple Pecan Poe with cranberry ice cream. The dessert was excellent, however, I'm not sure I would have paired the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bistrohenry, Owner at Bistro Henry, responded to this review

Thank you your kind words. I am sorry if you feel we missed the mark on some things. We do strive for excellence every day. We look forward to your return. More 

Brattleboro, Vermont
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We don't get to steal away as a "four-family" for a dinner out and a quick vacation often, so when we do, it is special. After a fine dinner at our hotel, we wanted to try a local spot and BH was recommended. Hostess was very friendly and the atmosphere was warm. My daughter's onion soup...well, she enjoyed the broth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bistrohenry, Owner at Bistro Henry, responded to this review

I am very sorry we missed the mark with your son's calamari. We would have been happy to correct it while you were here. I can assume that our service may not have been up to par. No excuses. Please try us again the next time you are here and Let me know you are coming. Henry More 

New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014 via mobile

Most of the food was ok... Nothing to rave about. Seared foie was excellent, onion soup was a little odd(rye), bisque was good, filet sliders undressed and unseasoned, lamb shank good. Meal took 1:45 for a twotop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bistrohenry, Owner at Bistro Henry, responded to this review

We should have done better, even though you visited on the busiest weekend of the year. We do not ever intend to be merely "so so". I hope you give us another chance the next time you are in Manchester. Henry More 

New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

It was a Sunday night and most of the restaurants we had chosen were either closed or booked. We walked in hoping we could find a table and the hostess was pleasant and able to sit us without any problem. The wait staff was outgoing, fast and efficient. The food was good but not fantastic. I had the Sicilian spiced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bistrohenry, Owner at Bistro Henry, responded to this review

I am very glad to hear about the things we did right. The other stuff, not so. Portehouses can be a bit tricky and i am sorry you had one that was less than stellar. Salmon? Wild sockeye, lightly grilled and seasoned. I usually try to let the fish shine through ( I am the chef too). I hope we... More 

Newport-on-Tay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Loved the menu. Service was excellent. Lobster bisque and fish dishes were my favourite. My husband had the steak and said it was reall great. Very handy as we stayed at the Inn across the road.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bistrohenry, Owner at Bistro Henry, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you vote of confidence. We are delighted that you were happy with your visit and that you made it across the street safely. At least you can usually hear the milk trucks before you see them... More 

Travelers who viewed Bistro Henry also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Bistro Henry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bistro Henry

Address: 1942 Depot Street, Manchester, VT 05255
Phone Number: +1 802-362-4982
Location: United States  >  Vermont (VT)  >  Green Mountains  >  Manchester
Open Hours:
Sunday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Average Prices: USD 18 - 50
Cuisine: Steakhouse, Eclectic, International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bistro Henry staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?