We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Magnolia

1 Lawson Ln, Ste 10, Burlington, VT 05401-8447
+1 802-862-7446
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #11 of 199 restaurants in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Conveniently located in the heart of downtown, Magnolia Bistro is Burlington’s best kept secret. We are the first certified-green restaurant in Vermont, with a menu of breakfast and lunch favorites made with the highest quality ingredients available. We feature a great selection of local, organic, vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free and meat-loving items to suit any palate.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    92
    50
    12
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Nice restaurant with average food. Went for breakfast, eggs benedict and the waitress spilled the coffee while trying to pour it from two feet high and missed. I'm picky but why don't they train the staff to bring the silverware before they bring the meal so we are not waiting for the silverware and the food gets cold.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I am not sure I would have eaten here if it was not by my morning destination, but glad I did. Its a little upscale frilly frufru in its attempts to be hip but the menu and the food are excellent. Not cheap...breakfast was hotel prices expensive. But the oatmeal blueberries pancakes were spot on, the sausage good, and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anghiari, Italy
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The potatoes that come with the breakfast were killer. World class. I had a mexican omelet that was very good. I ordered tea and it came in the awesome, heavy, steel pot that was beautiful for an individual pot. The venue is cool to look at, with it;s orignal exposed brick walls. Unfortunately, it was also cool in temperature, as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My girlfriend's favorite place for breakfast, Magnolia's has healthy, locally-grown food. Great oatmeal, a good selection of omelettes and other breakfast items. Service is friendly and efficient. Coffee is very good as is the selection of teas. We will return again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunbarton, NH
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Never disappointed here, and wasn't again on this trip. Took my husband here for the first time, he's a huge breakfast fanatic and he loved it. I am more of a lunch person, and certainly lots of options for both of us. Good strong coffee and a relaxed atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shannon R, Owner at Magnolia, responded to this review

Thanks so much! I'm happy to read that you've enjoyed your visits in the past, and that your husband was impressed with his experience! I appreciate the feedback on the coffee and the atmosphere we provide here as well. Next time you and your husband are in the area, stop by and say hello! Best, Shannon R., Owner More

Connecticut
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Had a quick midweek lunch here. Down a flight of stairs into a cavernous basement you will find a very interesting progressive restaurant that exudes history of Burlington, and serves up top notch vegetarian, vegan and other great food. I can only recommend what I had, which was the tofu tuna sandwich - no tuna here, but you would never... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shannon R, Owner at Magnolia, responded to this review

Thanks a lot, CH! It's great to read that you had the chance to stop by for lunch, and try one of our sandwiches — I'm glad it was a pleasant surprise for your taste buds! Hopefully you enjoyed learning a bit more about the restaurant and our food sources while you were browsing the menu. We're always experimenting in... More

West Simsbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This beasement breakfast and lunch place has a great Vermont vibe, very attentive staff and extremely interesting food choices. The oat pancakes were excellent and a special of Baked Chedder and Chevre Hash Browns was out of this world. My only gripe is that they did not offer Diet Coke, only a "health natural alternative". Luckily I went to my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shannon R, Owner at Magnolia, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, RiceWP. It's great to read that you've enjoyed a few items from our menu including the oat pancakes and the hash browns! I appreciate the feedback on the issue with your drink order. We try to provide healthy options, and introduce tasty alternatives to our guests but I apologize if this was an inconvenience to you... More

Middlebury, Vermont
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I ate brunch here with my daughter on a recent Saturday morning at 9:45 am. Good things: tasty food, ample parking available on the street, and no wait. Fixable things: small portions, pressure from wait staff to leave. My daughter ordered the lemon ricotta pancakes with a side of vegie sausage. She enjoyed the pancakes but noted that they are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Shannon R, Owner at Magnolia, responded to this review

Thanks for bringing sharing your experience with me. While I'm glad you and your daughter could join us for brunch, I really wish we could've left you with a better impression. I'm passionate about providing delicious and unique menu options to my customers, and I'm always grateful for any feedback. That said, it sounds like we really dropped the ball... More

Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stopped in with friends on a busy Sunday morning. I had the eggs benedict and raspberry oatmeal pancakes. Everything was delicious. My only (small) complaint was they charged us a extra $1.50 for whipped cream when the pancakes were listed as "Raspberry & Cream Oatmeal pancakes" Service was fine (busy,busy morning) and the food was definitely worth coming back for!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shannon R, Owner at Magnolia, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share with me. I'm really glad you had the chance to stop by, and try our eggs and pancakes! I apologize for the confusion about the whipped cream -- I can understand how that could be a bit misleading. That said, if you're ever not satisfied with anything, just let one of our staff... More

boston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Really charming inside, feels like you've discovered Wonderland! But, I just didn't 'get' the food. I went in for breakfast and had high hopes it would be special based on the reviews here. To start, they don't serve lattes or cappuccinos, which is disappointing to me, perhaps not to others. But the problem came when I got my meal, at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Shannon R, Owner at Magnolia, responded to this review

While I'm glad you enjoyed the ambiance of our restaurant, I'm disappointed our food couldn't complete the good experience for you. We don't currently offer lattes or cappuccinos, but all of our coffee is fair trade and organic, and we usually get great feedback from customers. I can tell you that we always freshly prepare our food, and we'd never... More

Travelers who viewed Magnolia also viewed

 

Been to Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing