We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shin La

57 Main St, Brattleboro, VT 05301
802-257-5226
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 88 restaurants in Brattleboro
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian
6 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    12
    9
    0
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brattleboro, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great food that is worth the price. Their sushi is the best in the area, and their Korean food is as good as any major city. However, it can take a long time to get your food, so be aware if you go when it's busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darien, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Visited this Korean restaurant twice in one week with consistently good food but irregular service. They must have wait staff issues. Our suggestion is to look in the door and if most every table is full then be prepared to wait to be served. Not the end of the world as the food, when served, is delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have been to Shin La close to 10 times now and plan to keep going back. I live in NH and this place is definitely worth the drive over the border. The food is authentic Korean food. They make Japanese too. It is all made at the restaurant, unlike a number of other places I've been to. Good portions... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brattleboro, Vermont
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I decided to ignore the negative reviews and see for myself. I am filled with regret and a bad taste in my mouth. The food was sub-par, and not exactly what we ordered. The restaurant was sparsely occupied yet my food took more than a reasonable length of time to arrive - at least 60 minutes - and was certainly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Esther K, Guest Relations Manager at Shin La, responded to this review

Dear Jon, I am curious when you came to visit us. None of our tables during a "sparsely occupied" time have ever waited one hour for their meals. With just a few tables, meals will never take longer than 15 minutes to complete. Unless our waitstaff and chefs stepped out for hour-long, full-body massages, that simply would not happen :)... More

Hamden, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Went on a Saturday night, got seated right away, waitress took our order quickly. She dropped off one salad and water shortly afterwards, then we waited 90 minutes for the rest of our food, which was simply an appetizer and sushi. They got our sushi order wrong, but we ate it anyway. There was no apology or explanation. The food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Esther K, Guest Relations Manager at Shin La, responded to this review

Dear Cathy, It seems you dined with us on a very busy Saturday night. Please accept my sincerest apologies for your experience. I am happy to hear that your server was attentive and timely. Unfortunately, on unexpectedly busy nights we are unable to serve food in a normal time frame. Each table's order takes about 15-20 minutes to prepare and... More

Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Shin La is and has been awesome for over 25 years. It's addictive and delicious. It's healthy and plentiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Esther K, Guest Relations Manager at Shin La, responded to this review

Could not have put it any better! Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind words and we hope to see you again sometime soon! P.S. -- My apologies for the incredibly late response, but better late than never, right? More

Brattleboro, Vermont
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you feel like Korean food, and at some time you will, you know you will, go here. The place is family run and the service is very friendly to match the cuisine.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Esther K, Guest Relations Manager at Shin La, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! We appreciate your taking the time to leave feedback and hope to see you again sometime soon! P.S. -- My apologies for the incredibly late response, but better late than never, right? More

Englewood Cliffs
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

One of the worst Korean dishes I have ever had in U.S.A. was at this place. The name of the restaurant is derived from Korean history. But the food is not Korean at all. Do not think the food served there is of Korean origin. No side dishes are served. In Korean restaurants, a several side dishes comes whatever main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Esther K, Guest Relations Manager at Shin La, responded to this review

We are so sorry to hear that you believe our Korean food is not of Korean "origin". It is a Korean family-run business. Many Korean restaurants serve side dishes and it is indeed a great thing! However and unfortunately, because of our location and commitment to authentic and quality Korean ingredients, we are unable to provide that service. For example,... More

Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have read some of the poor reviews and while I agree that the Shin La lacks ambiance and the service can be spotty, I have always had an excellent meal there. I generally order bi bim bap, kim chee, vegetarian dumplings, among other things. I have eaten here for about 20 years and it has never disappointed me, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Esther K, Guest Relations Manager at Shin La, responded to this review

Dear Jill, So happy to hear you love our Bibimbap, Kimchi, and Vegetarian Yakimandoo! Great taste! Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for our restaurant. We really do appreciate it and hope to see you again soon! P.S. -- My apologies for the incredibly late response, but better late than never, right? :) More

Putney, Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We used to go once in a while but stopped after a very, very bad experience. The food we ordered to over an hour to appear at our table. It was not anything like the picture on the menu, but having no time left before the movie we ate some of it anyway, the waitress said it would take forever... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Esther K, Guest Relations Manager at Shin La, responded to this review

Dear Ruby, I am so sorry to hear your experience at Shin La that evening. It seems that you dined with us on a very busy night, most likely with many others in a rush to make their movies. Admittedly, sometimes we are unexpectedly busy. Our owner, Mrs. Kim has run the business for over 30 years. She has always... More

Travelers who viewed Shin La also viewed

 

Been to Shin La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shin La, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing