We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort

3616 Gulf Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597
956-761-2703
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: American
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    66
    21
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014 NEW

Food was great and service too. Ocean view is absolutely wonderful. Unfortunately, when I checked my credit card bill a few days later, we were charged over $200 for a meal of $80 (including tip). Just occurred so still resolving.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tmetty, Owner at Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort, responded to this review

We were sorry to see this posting because we have already discussed the situation with this guest and have completely resolved the issue. It was an honest mistake made by one of our employees when she closed out multiple guest checks and put a bottle of Caymus on the wrong guest check. The moment this was brought to our attention,... More

South Padre Island, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

We usually love The Palms for breakfast, lunch or dinner; however, this time all of us (and we are locals) were disappointed with our food. I ordered a wedge with blue cheese - the wedge was small and not ice cold, the blue cheese was poured on heavily and was obviously store bought; however the blue cheese was good. My... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tmetty, Owner at Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort, responded to this review

Oh dear! Our locals know how much we appreciate their business, so when we disappoint one of them we feel doubly bad! We have discussed each of these concerns with our kitchen staff. The heads of lettuce this time of the year are pitifully small, but that is no excuse. If the head of lettuce is small, we need to... More

Claremore, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

The view is what you imagine a beach restaurant to be. The seafood basket was delicious, the oysters were particularly good. The fries were the best, crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. The chicken dinner was good but the baked potato was under cooked as were the steamed veg. I do not think there was any rum... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tmetty, Owner at Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm so happy that you enjoyed your service and most of your food. I love our seafood baskets too ... and I agree that our fries are soooo good! I am sorry your baked potato was undercooked - we've discussed that with our kitchen staff. The steamed vegetables are tricky. Many people like them very... More

League City
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

This is our second visit & we think they have 5 star chef for breakfast & dinner plus super service. Bobby waited on us last visit & Jonathan this trip both were really really good. The palms resort is a wonderful place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tmetty, Owner at Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much! I'm delighted that you enjoyed your second visit with us. The greatest compliment we can hope for is the return of a satisfied customer! Thank you once again! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor! More

Urbana, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We asked for places to eat on SPI that were beach view and someone recommended Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort. Well, driving by The Palms, it doesn't stand out as a place that has room for a restaurant and doesn't have that grand entrance feeling. But walking to the back of the hotel area to where the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tmetty, Owner at Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. I'm delighted that you enjoyed our restaurant, and we look forward to your return in the very near future! More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

We decided to try Cafe on the beach after reading all the great reviews.... We were quite disappointed however.... Maybe we chose a bad time- 8pm on a Friday evening.... We were seated and then waited 10 minutes for someone to bring us a menu or take our drink order.... When our order was finally taken and our food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tmetty, Owner at Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort, responded to this review

I am so sorry your first experience with us was disappointing. There is no question that 8pm on a Friday in August is busy, but that's no excuse for not giving you better service. We have shown your posting to the waitress that waited on you. She, and the rest of us, agree that your expectations are more than reasonable.... More

frisco, tx
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

I are here on a a weekday afternoon. The place sits at the back of the hotel, right next to the pool. There is beach access right in front of the restaurant. It looks like parking could be tight if the hotel was full. The location is awesome with a nice ocean breeze. Staff was nice and attentive. I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I LOVE the atmosphere of this restautant! We go everytime we come to the island! It's very good food- must try the seafood chowder- it's excellent! The rest is good and worth it! One of my favs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katy, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I only tried one thing....the Monte Cristo sandwich....it was pretty good. Wanted to go back for breakfast, but didn't make it back. The views are very nice! Will be going back when I visit Padre Island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We wouldn't come to SPI without a stop at The Palms for breakfast! It's actually great any time of the day, but the breakfast is always a favorite for this family! Great Bloody Mary's! We had Eggs Benedict, Beachcombers, Breakfast Tacos, and Eggs with Bacon. All were fabulous! A must visit while at the Island!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing