We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1515 Kuehler Ave, New Braunfels, TX
8306262200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 224 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $30
Hours:
Sun 8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Fri 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Sat 8:00 am - 9:30 pm
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Dessert
Description: Schobel’s Restaurant on the River serves home-cooked Southern food with a German flair. Whether it’s a quick trip through the buffet or a custom order from our menu, we’re certain you’re going to leave full and happy.We specialize in home cooked food! We have an in-house butcher, home-made sausages, farm fresh vegetables, and pride ourselves on friendly service. We are known for our buffet which is definitely not your typical buffet. Nothing is pre-breaded or out of a can – it’s grandmothers cooking on a larger scale. If buffets aren't your thing we also offer a full menu filled with Southern favorites and a few German dishes. Don’t forget to leave room for our delicious desserts! We have an assortment of homemade pies, with buttermilk being our specialty.Come check out our full bar! With some of the coldest beer in town along with a fabulous atmosphere, Schobel’s is a great place to meet friends and unwind after a long day. We have happy hour specials Monday-Thursday from 4-6 pm.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    41
    19
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

I would have easily given this family restaurant filled with stick-to-your bones favorites a full 5 rating, if it weren't for one problem. Twice I have driven out of town to eat there (yes, its worth the drive) only to find the place closed during its normal business hours. Talk about a let-down. This place offers a chicken fried steak... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canyon Lake, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Great buffet. Near "home cooked" items with a German flavor. All items are fresh and well presented. Always clean and staff are friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

It's just the buffet..and it wasn't good at all. They didn't even have any potatoes! We live in New Braunfels and this is a poor representation of the great places we have to eat here. I don't think it's under the same management and if it is they better change the food..

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mineral Wells, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We wanted to try German food and sit by the river so we chose this place. There were cars in the parking lot, but no one inside. We had a great table outside and ordered drinks. The waitress told us they didn't have menus, only a buffet for a set price and we were invited to check it out before... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Ryan S, Owner at Schobels, responded to this review

Yes, we have changed to an all buffet format and we’re very sorry to hear that you left without trying the buffet. All the best, The Schobel Family More 

Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

No refills on tea and water, staff was too busy. The available meat on the buffet was greasy and tough. There was plenty of gristle on the meat portions. I endured two days of IBS after eating here. I will never go back. Never. The manager shrugged about our complaints with service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ryan S, Owner at Schobels, responded to this review

Mary, we appreciate the feedback and we’re very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the buffet. We always strive to provide the best customer experience and we will definitely address your experiences with our manager and staff and take corrrective actions. All the best, The Schobel Family More 

Seguin
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I go back every 6 months or so... But its worse... They need to take a step back and look at the food... Just because its food we would cook at home.. Doesn't mean its home made!! They have a menu on the wall. But I find some things not on the buffet... Just disappointing... And I live here...

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ryan S, Owner at Schobels, responded to this review

Patrick, we appreciate your patronage and your feedback! We’re very sorry to hear that you feel the food quality wasn’t what you had come to expect. We value your feedback and we are working closely with our staff to ensure consistently high quality. All the best, The Schobel Family More 

Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Ate there on a Sunday and the food was bad, period. Cannot find anything good to say about the food. The cleanliness was average at best as was the service. The deck area overlooking the river was nice but this is a restaurant that fell well below expectations on the food. I have eaten at the Schobels in Columbus and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Ryan S, Owner at Schobels, responded to this review

Thank you Jim for the feedback! We’re very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience and that the food did not meet what you’ve come to expect from our restaurants. We are addressing the issues you identified, as we take them very seriously. All the best, The Schobel Family More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Knew it was a buffet. And you can order off the menu. Had both the breakfast and supper here. And hated it. Breakfast wasn't great and had to wait forever for the buffet to get refilled.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Ryan S, Owner at Schobels, responded to this review

We’re very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the buffet. Thank you for the feedback. Ensuring highest quality in food and service are our top priorities. All the best, The Schobel Family More 

San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Don't expect some humongous buffet offering here, but do expect to have super fresh buffet entrees! We've dined here during weekend breakfast and lunch and Thanksgiving dinner; mostly we have been repeated lunch diners. Adult lunch $10.95; children $5.95. Very nice salad bar with chilled plates and THE best 1000 Island dressing I've ever eaten. The "centerpiece" of the buffet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ryan S, Owner at Schobels, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback! It means a lot, especially coming from a Trip AdvisorTop Contributor! We really appreciate you pointing out the variety on our buffet, the atmosphere, and the high praise for incomparable value! Thank You Again! All the best, The Schobel Family More 

San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Fabulous fresh food buffet. I love to come on German day, but any day is delish! The food is fresh, plentiful, and fairly priced. Love the huge cheese chunk that you get to carve. The chef even came out to see if everything was okay. Don't miss this buffet.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ryan S, Owner at Schobels, responded to this review

Thank you Mary for the wonderful review! We’re so pleased that you enjoyed the “home cooking” on our buffet. Hope you can come back soon! All the best, The Schobel Family More 

Travelers who viewed Schobels also viewed

 

Been to Schobels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schobels

Address: 1515 Kuehler Ave, New Braunfels, TX
Phone Number: 8306262200
Location: United States  >  Texas (TX)  >  New Braunfels
Open Hours:
Sunday 8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Saturday 8:00 am - 9:30 pm
Average Prices: USD 11 - 30
Cuisine: American

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Schobels staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?