We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kookaburra Restaurant

Grampians Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
(03) 5356 4222
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #5 of 13 restaurants in Halls Gap
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Cuisines: Australian
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    47
    40
    18
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Definitely our go to place! They are busily renovating at the moment and we can't wait to see and try the new look!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nice, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This was advised to us by our hotel and it was the right option, as I do not think that there are many nice restaurants in Halls Gap. Nice waitress and good food. My husband had a steak I think and me the veal. The portions were of a good size and the sauces very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We usually book a table here when we stay in Halls Gap, and the service - and the quality of the food and the value for money never disappoints.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Dined here in January 2014 with my wife. Reasonably priced and good quality food. The French waitress even obliged with a brief French lesson which was genuinely appreciated. One of the better quality restaurants in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Visited in 2014 & we sadly won't be back! Very poor service on arrival & being waited on and on paying for the bill. No manners was used by the 2 staff members, nor friendliness what so ever. After our main meal, cob of loaf and wine/beer each and just under $100 later... We couldn't wait to get out!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rickhHallsGap, Owner at Kookaburra Restaurant, responded to this review

On the night you dined with us we had 17 people booked and just before service one of the staff called in ill. Normally not a problem however we then had a further 71 people arrive without a booking (I assume you were amongst them) when we have only 2 people to service 88 guests it is impossible to offer... More

Melbourne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Kookaburra has been going for a while now with the same management team and similar menu, but it is still of a very high standard, and recent renovations show it is not slipping. A good wine list and excellent kids meals improve the experience for the adult diners in a family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne / London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

On the main street in halls gap just up from the main shopping strip. Nice bright interior, varied menu if a little overpriced for what is actually served up. Even though it was not busy when we went the service was a tad slower than we expected. Good extensive wine list, we even took a couple of bottles to take... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malaysia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

From the outside it doesn't look like much, but the food at the Kookaburra speaks for itself. Everything we ordered was a very good, but I was particularly fond of the duck (book in advance if you can since it takes a while to prepare). Price wise, it's not cheap but the quality of food is worth it. I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great restaurant - very homely feeling. The food was well cooked and the portions good. The decor is a little bit dated and could do with a bit of a makeover but overall a nice place to eat especially when there are not many alternatives in the area

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

If you plan to visit Hall's Gap - and you would like to have a reliable meal - make sure you book the Kookaburra restaurant! With a cosy atmosphere (yes , there's a wood fire!), it has a country pub atmosphere with lovely backdrop of the Grampians. Initially, it's a surprise to see the $35 main meal prices (in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Kookaburra Restaurant also viewed

 
Halls Gap, Grampians
Halls Gap, Grampians
 

Been to Kookaburra Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kookaburra Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing