We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cwtch*

22 High Street, St. Davids SA62 6SD, Wales
+44 1437 720491
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 23 restaurants in St. Davids
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $34 - $51
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: St Davids' award-winning restaurant, our food is described as British classics with a contemporary twist focusing on quality sustainable locally sourced seasonal produce. Served in a relaxed, informal setting with an emphasis on warm friendly service. Big flavours cleanly presented.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    87
    46
    18
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 NEW

Got a table upstairs which was ok but not the best location. It was clear that they were busy but it wasn't a great meal and expensive for what it was. Not much option for decent food in st Davids. Could do with a decent restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kronberg im Taunus, Germany
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 NEW

Prpbably one of the best eating places in St. Davids. We were lucky to get a table without reservation (well, word cup was on).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shropshire, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 NEW via mobile

Booked for a Saturday night in June as a table of four (21st June). Restaurant was busy with a lovely friendly & buzzy atmosphere. Food was excellent, service smiley & attentive without being over the top. All in all a brilliant evening. Not cheap but we felt it was good value for money. We chatted to the couple at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 NEW

Food served looking beautiful, taste wonderful. Problem was, being in a restaurant, licking the plate would not really have been acceptable! For me the best past of a meal is the pudding, but i'm often disappointing when i eat out, but not at Cwtch. They accommodated a large family group well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JackieandJohnHB, Owner at Cwtch*, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and so glad we didn’t disappoint with the meal and the pud! Thank you for taking the time to review us. Hope to see you again soon! Best regards from all at cwtch* More

Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Good food well prepared. Able to accommodate special diets. Not the cheapest place to eat but you do get the quality! Need to book because it is deservedly popular

Was this review helpful? Yes
JackieandJohnHB, Owner at Cwtch*, responded to this review

Lovely to read your comments and so glad we could accommodate the special diets. Thank you for taking the time to review us, your feedback is much appreciated. Best regards from all at cwtch* More

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Excellent meal and service, very friendly, great atmosphere. Food was great, had to reserve a table but wel worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JackieandJohnHB, Owner at Cwtch*, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such super feedback on our menu and service. Great to hear that you chose to have your celebration meal at cwtch* Hope to see you again soon! Best regards from all at cwtch* More

Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We tried to get in earlier in the week but it was no surprise that it was fully booked. We booked for Thursday evening, our last night in St Davids. We both had three courses. All were superb. Wished we'd been able to eat here more than one night. The cheeseboard was lovely, especially the horseradish cheese. Also, the elderport... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The food was really good, but the staff did not seem to like their job very much, apart from onee nice girlt and the Italian owner they were just putting the plates on the table

Was this review helpful? Yes
JackieandJohnHB, Owner at Cwtch*, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on our food. Extremely disappointed to hear that you got that impression from the service you comment on. Be reassured, our staff do enjoy working at cwtch and often tell us so. Just for correctness, it was the Restaurant Manager (not the owner) who was in charge on the evening of your visit as it... More

York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

By making a late afternoon phone call we were able to squeeze in to this charming restaurant as 'early-birds' on the clear understanding that we would complete our meal before the next round of diners arrived for 'our' table. As we enjoyed an imaginative menu of superbly cooked and served food, washed down with a fine yet reasonably priced wine,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JackieandJohnHB, Owner at Cwtch*, responded to this review

Great to have your feedback and very glad we could accommodate you! We always encourage booking in advance and are dismayed when we have to turn guests away. Thank you for your wonderful comments on our food and wine, it is greatly appreciated. Best regards from all at cwtch* More

Nailsworth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Last Saturday, my husband and I went to Cwtch for a special occasion meal as we are staying near St David's and had read good reviews of Cwtch on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed! We were made to feel very welcome and the standard of the service was really high. We both had three courses and the quality of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JackieandJohnHB, Owner at Cwtch*, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and for having your special occasion with us. Wonderful to hear that the food and the service was of such a high standard. Hope to see you on your return visit. Best regards from all at cwtch* More

Travelers who viewed Cwtch* also viewed

St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 
St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 

Been to Cwtch*? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cwtch*, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing