We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

J D Wetherspoon The William Owen

$$
Bar
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
6 Quay Street, Haverfordwest SA61 1BG, Wales
+44 1437 771900
Website
Today
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 8:00 am - 11:00 pm

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 130 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 36
    Excellent
  • 51
    Very good
  • 22
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Lively pub dinner.

Several connected rooms, some quieter than others, good range of food and drinks, local artwork on walls, friendly service. A bit of a letdown - was looking forward to fresh fish & chips but by 8pm they had ran out of it, on a Sat night. Very lively, a lot of young people.

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 17, 2015
4adventurers
,
London
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015 NEW

At this establishment the staff were not friendly. My stepdaughter was married to the chef ten months. They decided to separate and then divorce. Six months after this my step daughter went to this resteraunt and was told she was barred. No resonance we given to her for being barred even tho emails were sent to management no reply was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDWTWO, Manager at J D Wetherspoon The William Owen, responded to this review

Thanks for taking to time to write a review. I’m sorry to hear that you have not found the staff friendly at the pub. Over the last 2 years there have been many staff and management changes including myself as the new pub manager in September. I am unsure why anyone would have said that your step daughter is barred... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015 NEW via mobile

Bought food from here earlier on this afternoon and was shocked at the amount of food they give you for the money that's spent. My boyfriend spent £1.20 for a bowl of chips which I wanted to go with my food When the chips came there was literally 10 chips in a tiny dish. Very disappointing. Would not advertise this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDWTWO, Manager at J D Wetherspoon The William Owen, responded to this review

Thanks for taking to time to write a review. I’m sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience on this occasion. We always try our best to get it right for everyone but on occasion we do miss the mark. I hope in future you will give us another try to get it right for you and... More 

Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

This Wetherspoons is a fantastic place to visit. As a regular for many years, it simply gets better all the time. The staff are extremely friendly and the service can't be beaten. This is an excellent place to eat or drink. Meals are quickly served to your own requirements. If anything is not to your satisfaction, then this is simply... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Several connected rooms, some quieter than others, good range of food and drinks, local artwork on walls, friendly service. A bit of a letdown - was looking forward to fresh fish & chips but by 8pm they had ran out of it, on a Sat night. Very lively, a lot of young people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Davids, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

lovely after work meal, pasta and salmon with a free drink, also had the caramel cheesecake which is too die for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Visited this week ,17th Feb, and had the 'two for one' offer. This was as good as usual and, in particular the eggs were excellent. Where they get their eggs I don't know but they're always fresh and very well cooked. The staff are always friendly but even by JD standards they were exceptional this day when sorting out a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Went there with my partner for a meal was quite happy had a coke while waiting for meal. When it came was happy with the look of it untill i started on the fish the batter was brittle the fish was mush inside not impressed. Wont go back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Washington DC Metro
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

My Welsh relatives and I met for lunch here. A very cold day indeed. The restaurant was warm; lively conversations among the patrons; and a lot of positive energy. Since there were six of us, we had made a reservation, but it wasn't totally necessary. You don't need to wait to be seated. We had a wide selection of meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fishguard
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

You know it's a Wetherspoons pub when you walk through the door. You get what you pay for. Good reasonable priced food and drink with quick efficient service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberporth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

We had ,had a very bad experience at our B&B but the staff here were lovely and very helpful. Food was good too. We are both vegetarians and my sister has coeliac . The staff went out of their way to help us and to find something for her.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed J D Wetherspoon The William Owen also viewed

Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
 
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to J D Wetherspoon The William Owen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 6 Quay Street, Haverfordwest SA61 1BG, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Pembrokeshire  >  Haverfordwest
  • Phone Number: +44 1437 771900

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 19
  • Cuisine: Bar
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from J D Wetherspoon The William Owen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?