We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Three Pigeons Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Contemporary, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Graigfechan, Ruthin LL15 2EU, Wales
01824 703178
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Three Pigeons Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 162 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 99
    Excellent
  • 36
    Very good
  • 14
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Usual Table

A most pleasant repast was enjoyed in the company of long-standing old friends. A regular get together with these friends enable us to sample the menus of various establishments throughout what was Denbighshire & Flintshire. For what is genuinely accepted as being off the beaten track, the... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 27, 2015
Groveparkite
,
Wrexham, Wales U.K.
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, Wales U.K.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015 NEW

A most pleasant repast was enjoyed in the company of long-standing old friends. A regular get together with these friends enable us to sample the menus of various establishments throughout what was Denbighshire & Flintshire. For what is genuinely accepted as being off the beaten track, the standard of food, service & general all-round ambience coupled with some of North... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015 NEW

There were NO dislikes. We had a very enjoyable evening out with excellent food, very good service, in a very comfortable atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

I have eaten here lots of times and always found the food to be excellent. Dogs are welcome in the bar where it is possible to eat. The restaurant is first class with a good menu and very well prepared and presented food. Strongly recommend visiting this pub if you are in the Ruthin area

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

We know this pub well and have visited many times over the years. Four of us arrived on a Friday night without booking and the pub was extremely busy, but the staff were extremely accommodating in fitting us in. We sat outside for drinks with our friends' dog (who is actually allowed in the bar area, a great bonus), the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
flintshire
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

Although most of the meals were average, the prawn starter was a complete rip-off. For £7.95 you receive a piece of ciabatta bread and a little salad garnish surrounded by FOUR normal sized prawns.What a mark up!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
DE W, Owner at Three Pigeons Inn, responded to this review

Don't know how it's happened but it would appear that you have received a small portion of this dish. Our normal portion size is 5/6 king prawns depending on size at a price of £7.25 which is giving us a standard industry mark up. The prawns that we always use from our fish supplier are shell off king prawns. Our... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

A gorgeous little country pub, with beautiful scenery (sat outside on the veranda in the sun!) and friendly owners. I had a list of foods I can't eat (no cream, no garlic, no onions, no meat, no gluten, no wheat etc) but this wasnt a problem for the Head Chef, who made me one of the tastiest meals Ive ever... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

We booked a party of eight. The staff were very accomadating. The food was excellent, plentiful and piping hot. They had 4 guest ales which is fantastic. My wife said the wine selction was pretty good too. We'll be returning there soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

We hadn't booed, we just turned up. However we were able to get a table I guess because were were lucky. So I recommend booking ahead. Food excellent, great views and firendly staff and locals. Desert was amazing (chocolate torte).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Having read all the reviews was really looking forward to dinning here . Nicely decorated traditional country pub , friendly attentive young staff but we were sadly disappointed by the food and the general hygiene . The wooden salt & pepper cellars were greasy , the cutlery was not polished and my husbands starter plate had a large visible chip... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DE W, Owner at Three Pigeons Inn, responded to this review

Paul and I are sorry that you were disappointed on your recent visit. It is a pity that you did not discuss the food issues when you were meal checked.There was a senior member of staff on duty that day who would have happily resolved any issues which you had. Paul and I were not in the restaurant that particular... More 

Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

I went here for a meal with a friend a few fays aho. The pub atmosphere was great and there is good facilities. We ate in the restaurant which has a different vibe to the rest of the place and as homely feeling. The food was ok but strange combinations of food. It felt like we were on masterchef where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Three Pigeons Inn also viewed

 
Ruthin, Denbighshire
Ruthin, Denbighshire
 

Been to Three Pigeons Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Graigfechan, Ruthin LL15 2EU, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Denbighshire  >  Ruthin
  • Phone Number: 01824 703178

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Contemporary, Pub

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Three Pigeons Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?