We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Tremadog Restaurants

Y Sgwar

12-16 Market Square, Tremadog LL49 9RB, Wales
01766 515451
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Tremadog
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    36
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brynarth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014 NEW

We had a meal here on our second night in Tremadog and it was exceptional, both the food and service. Because there was so many things on the menu we wanted to try we had hoped to eat here again during our stay but didn't get the chance… good excuse to return though! Thanks for a lovely evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barwell, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

This was a Sat. night our third visit and the food was up to our expectations. Unfortunately there were 2 parties of 12+ people in the restaurant and the noise created by these parties was loud enough to render conversation on our table of 3 very difficult and we didn't receive the attention to our table as previous visits, this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this review

Thank you so much for visiting us again. I am glad that over all you have rated us with four stars and enjoyed your meal with us on Saturday. I am however, disappointed that you felt my service wasn't up to scratch :( I personally served your table and I did try on several occasions to engage you in conversation,... More

Wales
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Called in for lunch last Wednesday, had excellent mussels and cod and chips. Mussels were cooked in yummy stock. Bread and butter pudd beat me but was excellent. Had a bottle of excellent white wine, cuvée Tremadoc! Sorry to miss Iolo, 😂but lorraine stopped for a chat, discovered we had houses and friends in common. Looking forward to coming for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you very much for the lovely lunch time review! It was lovely to meet you and discover the coincidences! Were very happy that you enjoyed everything, especially the Cuvee Tremadoc, the grape variety was Grenache by the way. Lets all hope that the bridge is back open soon! With best regards from Iolo and I. Lorraine More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We had the most gorgeous meal here on our weekend break away. Beautiful starters of goats cheese and a lovely prawn starter, main meals of lamb, duck, steak and chicken were of excellent quality and beautiful desserts too! Washed down with a lovely bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon! We were treated very well, the atmosphere was great, staff excellent and couldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this review

Oh wow, what a lovely review! Thank you so much for this great feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit. Lorraine More

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

We were recommended this restaurant by our hotel, and having read the other highly recommended reviews, we were expecting something out of the ordinary. We booked beforehand for Friday night but it was only about half full so didn't needed to have done so. We opted for the early-bird menu which is £16 for two courses and £19 for three... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Most restaurants try to encourage guests to book so that we can prepare accordingly and aim to get the staff levels right. It may not have looked like you needed to book, if there were other empty tables, but it would have help us. The three course set menu is designed to allow the diner... More

Llanbedr, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We had a two course Sunday lunch - very reasonable price for the quality of the food. Good to see bilingual staff and menu. The main course had excellent, tender roast beef and a huge Yorkshire pudding with side vegetables. I had bread and butter pudding after which was ample and delicious. The service was prompt, staff were friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our Sunday lunch! We have built quite a reputation with locals for our Sunday lunches and so we are glad you have enjoyed it as much as them! Many thanks Lorraine More

Pwllheli
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We were greeted with enthusiasm as we entered, and soon established a rapport with the waiter. The drinks order was taken efficiently and the food ordered shortly after. When the starters arrived they were more like main courses, my wife had the Tempura prawns and I had the garlic mushroom pancakes with cheese. Both were really tasty, much better than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this feedback, you did choose some of our popular dishes, so really glad that you both enjoyed them! We have enjoyed reading your comments and we look forward to seeing you both again soon, With best regards Lorraine More

Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Lovely restaurant, staff excellent, very busy which speaks for itself. Good menu and delicious food, well prepared and served to a high standard. Friendly relaxed atmosphere and made to feel very welcome on our arrival. Would definitely recommend to friends

Was this review helpful? Yes
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing us, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us and our delicious food! with best regards Lorraine More

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Our group of three were well taken care of and fed. We had a selection of lamb, pork and fish and all were well prepared. The service was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are all pleased that you all enjoyed dining with us! with best regards, Lorraine More

wales
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

First time at this place in a large party, the service was good, the staff pleasant, and the food lovely. the chips were excellent, the nicest a few of us had , in a long time. It was a little expensive, but certainly worth it, and the meat was lovely and cooked well done just as I asked for. If... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such a great review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your evening and that your partner liked our take on a veggie meal!! I am glad that you understand that we do source local, quality ingredients, our meat is from a top North Wales butcher and we make every effort to keep our prices... More

Travelers who viewed Y Sgwar also viewed

 
Garndolbenmaen, Gwynedd
 

Been to Y Sgwar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing