We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Dolgellau Restaurants

Y Sospan Cafe

Queen's Square, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1AR, Wales (Formerly Y Sospan)
01341 422269
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 23 Restaurants in Dolgellau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Café
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    80
    38
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We went expecting good food, good service and good value, they failed on every aspect. The Pate we ordered came with the bread already buttered which we did not want. I had the soup which was nice. Our main meals came, I had Sospan's house special which came in a metal dish. My partner got the Salmon in sauce. we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your review. I'm very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time at Y Sospan. I believe the pate you order was off our special menu which said it came with butted bread, if you had mentioned this to our waitress she would swapped it straight away. Our Sospan gratin which I believe is... More 

Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

great place with reasonable pricesб food is simple but very tasty, you have to reserve table better, sometimes its full.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your meal with us and we hope to welcome you back soon. Helen and Y Sospan team More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had a long wait for our meal despite only 3 tables in the restaurant being used. Disappointed with the size of portions, lamb casserole with not much lamb in it, and a small flat tray of vegetables for 2 people. At these prices we expected more than 1 piece of broccoli each and a few carrots, and diced potatoes.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your review. Im very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time in Y Sospan. I have made the chef and waitring on staff aware of your issuses and this will not happen again. We hope you will give us another try to show you what we have to offer. Helen and Y Sospan Team More 

Tywyn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Living in Tywyn we go into Dolgellau at least once a week for a drive and day out. Tried a number of places to eat but recommend the Y Sospan. good a tasty food and plenty of it. The service of the staff really make you welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and we hope to welcome you back soon. Helen and Y Sospan team More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We booked and we saw people being turned away. I had the lamb casserole and hubby had the ratatouille. The food was really good home cooked grub. The service was unbelievably slow the waitress was lovely but run off her feet. They need more waiting staff and they need to train them up, we were there for over 2 hours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review. We are a very busy restaurant and we do advise people to book. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and we hope to welcome you back. Helen and Y Sospan team More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We ate here last week when they were flat out with a huge group upstairs. They still maintained their smiles and the food, although it took a while to arrive, was very definitely worth it. My chicken dish was absolutely delicious, as was the sticky toffee pudding. The wine list wasn't bad for such a small place, and it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are a very busy restaurant and we are sorry for any delays we are alway trying to work that all our customers get the best service possible. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal. We hope to welcome you back again. Helen and Y Sospan team More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Just back in our B n B after a couple of hours here. We arrived at 7.30, having booked a table, though the girl on duty didn't seem to have our name written down. It was 8.20 before our meal arrived.. There seemed to be only two people on duty this evening. My chicken supreme was delicious, as was my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review. I am very sorry if there was a mix up with your booking all staff have been made aware so it never happens again. I am glad you enjoyed your main meal and dessert. I have taken on board what you have said about portions sizes and the chefs have also been made aware... More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We dropped in on spec, without a booking and got the last available table. This was on a weekday evening when they had expected to be quiet, so there was only one person doing front of house and, as I found when I asked while settling up, one person in the kitchen. So service was a understandably slow and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Im glad you enjoyed your meal and all our hard working staff are alway happy to hear customer have left happy. We hope to welcome you back soon. Helen and Y Sospan team More 

Rhoose, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I ate at 'Y Sospan' which is adjacent to the Royal Ship Hotel' in Dolgellau on the night of 19th May 2013. They stopped serving at the Royal Ship Hotel at eight in the evening and we were advised to eat at Y Sospan. And good advice it turned out to be. The positives: Wonderful old-world atmosphere. Very friendly staff.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a lovely review. We are open 7night a week till 9.30pm. We are glad we could accomidate you and are very happen you enjoyed your evening with us. We look forward to welcoming you back. Helen and Y Sospan team More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I can't fault this restaurant. We went two nights in a row when we stayed nearby, and were sad to find it closed on the Monday. We had two lovely meals there. The atmosphere was great both upstairs and downstairs and the food was excellent. There is a great historical background to the building and the staff were lovely. Highly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a great review. We are glad you enjoyed both evening in Y Sospan. Y Sospan has a lot of history dateing back to 1606. We hope that next time your in the area we see you again. Helen And Y Sospan team More 

Travelers who viewed Y Sospan Cafe also viewed

Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Y Sospan Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Sospan Cafe

Address: Queen's Square, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1AR, Wales (Formerly Y Sospan)
Phone Number: 01341 422269
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Snowdonia National Park  >  Dolgellau
Cuisine: Café

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Y Sospan Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?