We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The New Inn

$$
British, Pub, Welsh
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Ystradfellte, Ystradfellte CF44 9JE, Wales
+44 1639 720211
Improve this listing
Sunday
Closed
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:30 am - 7:30 pm
Tue - Thu 11:30 am - 8:00 pm
Fri 11:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Sat 11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Under New Management. Situated on the edge of Brecon Beacons National Park...
Under New Management. Situated on the edge of Brecon Beacons National Park & right in the heart of Waterfall Country is The New Inn Ystradfellte. We are a 16th Centuary traditional Welsh Pub with many original features & beer garden. We serve delicious locally sourced food including meat from Brecon & sea food from a local Fish Monger. We also cater well for vegetarians & vegans If you are walking the local waterfalls or the Dinas Rock or visiting local caves, visiting Penderyn Distillery, nearby Pen Y Fan or any of our surrounding areas such as Brecon, Hay on Wye, Abergavenny, Merthyr Tydfil, Neath, Swansea, Cardiff & many others please visit us, you can be assured of a hearty meal, a friendly welcome & a pint of local ale. We are dog friendly & have camping facilities (please enquire over the phone of in the pub). Please note we are small country pub but we can get very busy particularly on weekends so if you can make a reservation we strongly advise it to avoid disappointment. Please note we cook only a Sunday Roast on Sunday's as we do not have the facilities to run a menu as well. We stop cooking Sunday Roast around 4.00pm we then serve from 4.30pm - 7.30pm a limited menu consisting of locally sourced pies, peas & mash (vegan & veggie options) OR homemade curry & chips.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 254 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 109
    Excellent
  • 69
    Very good
  • 7
    Average
  • 18
    Poor
  • 51
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Perfect tea

Nice place to eat, very friendly. Good place to rest in between walks. Not expensive. Good ales and beers lagers

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 19, 2015
Michele G
,
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Special occasions
  • Large groups
  • Local cuisine
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015 NEW

This pub is my favourite pub in wales ♡ Every time we visit the staff make us feel so welcome and can not do enough for us...any advise you need on the local area they will happily give you guidence. And the Sunday lunch is amazing. It's like a peaceful retreat....long walk then food at a warm cosy pub, cwtched... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015

Did the waterfall walk; arrived wet, muddy and tired.... had the best burger I have ever had! Lovely little pub, friendly staff, lovely food at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlotte s, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Aw thank you glad you enjoyed your time with us was lovely to meet you Charlotte More 

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

Nice place to eat, very friendly. Good place to rest in between walks. Not expensive. Good ales and beers lagers

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

Service was friendly but food was very average and overpriced. If you're going to charge £14 for a burger at least make sure it is homemade and has some selection of toppings/sauces (ketchup doesn't count!) and maybe a good sized side salad. Putting the burgers in what was quite literally a small loaf of bread didn't really do it for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlotte s, Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, I'm sorry to hear you feel you had experience in the New Inn I would like to enquire what time you ate with us ? As we have a lunch time menu & an evening menu. The 8oz Celtic Pride burger on our lunch time menu is a reasonable £10.50 unless you would like to add cheese or... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

Stopped here as myself , husband and two sons had walked the four waterfalls nearby and we're looking forward to a Sunday Roast. We all chose Welsh lamb. That was the best part of the plate of food that arrived. Plates were hot but food luke warm. Vegetable portions were minuscule, over cooked and very wet and sloppy. The bowl... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charlotte s, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

It has come to my attention after enquiring with my kitchen & waiting staff that you are linked with table who left us the previous bad review. I know this as out of the 109 Sunday roasts we served that Sunday we only had one table complain who also specifically asked for one meal to be further heated in the... More 

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

Called at The New Inn looking for a Sunday roast, which was a good job as the (friendly and chatty) bar staff explained that this was the only food available. At over £10 the roast beef wasn't cheap, but arrived poorly presented on stained plates. The beef was the driest I've ever tasted, and came with a single roast potato... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlotte s, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi there. I am sorry you feel you had bad experience in the New Inn yesterday, however, there are some points you raise that I feel must be addressed. As we are a small country pub we can only offer a Sunday roast until we run out & then we cook from a light bites menu this why you were... More 

Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

After a walk around the falls we visited this pub for a meal, and what a delight. Great staff and great food, and they have something for everyone with their vegetarian, vegan and gluten free meals. I had a jalapeno burger, as the picture show. Shame it a long way from anywhere and where we're staying as we would come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

Food was quite nice, atmosphere was great with lovely new owners and staff, dogs and kids welcome so was a lovely place to go after 5 hour walk in the Beacons. Cheap to camp too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Midlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

We visited after passing through the village and had a lovely welcome from the landlady and her team! Everyone was friendly and chatty and the drinks and food were excellent! Inside was cosy and welcoming whilst still retaining the country pub charm! The three of us had the 20oz Steak and enjoyed every bite! Thoroughly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

Called in here today. 28th July. We were all 3 of us really muddy after walking the 4 falls.which was brilliant by the way.we were welcomed with open arms. I ordered the chiabatta steak sandwich. I am still full and that was 5 hrs ago. I expected, thin strips of steak. It was a full size steak. It wouldn't all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

Glynneath, Neath Port Talbot
Pontneddfechan, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taf
Ystradfellte, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Ystradfellte, Ystradfellte CF44 9JE, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Carmarthenshire  >  Ystradfellte
  • Phone Number: +44 1639 720211

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 9 - 31
  • Cuisine: British, Pub, Welsh

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children

Description

Under New Management. Situated on the edge of Brecon Beacons National Park & right in the heart of Waterfall Country is The New Inn Ystradfellte. We are a 16th Centuary traditional Welsh Pub with many original features & beer garden. We serve delicious locally sourced food including meat from Brecon & sea food from a local Fish Monger. We also cater well for vegetarians & vegans If you are walking the local waterfalls or the Dinas Rock or visiting local caves, visiting Penderyn Distillery, nearby Pen Y Fan or any of our surrounding areas such as Brecon, Hay on Wye, Abergavenny, Merthyr Tydfil, Neath, Swansea, Cardiff & many others please visit us, you can be assured of a hearty meal, a friendly welcome & a pint of local ale. We are dog friendly & have camping facilities (please enquire over the phone of in the pub). Please note we are small country pub but we can get very busy particularly on weekends so if you can make a reservation we strongly advise it to avoid disappointment. Please note we cook only a Sunday Roast on Sunday's as we do not have the facilities to run a menu as well. We stop cooking Sunday Roast around 4.00pm we then serve from 4.30pm - 7.30pm a limited menu consisting of locally sourced pies, peas & mash (vegan & veggie options) OR homemade curry & chips.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 7:30 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 8:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 8:00 pm
Friday
11:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The New Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The New Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?